Skip to main content

Full text of "Abbot academy sketches 1892-1912"

See other formats



Locked Stack 




Kelsey, Katherine R 
Abbot Academy sketches, 

Locked Stack 




Kelsey, Katherine R 
Abbot Academy sketches, 

Memorial Hall Library 

Andover, Mass. 01810 

3 1330 00134 1316 

t\ J l(^' 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 
in 2013 


1892— 1912 




QL\)t fibers toe ftresfi Catnlm&ae 




tKhe SUbertfibe $re«* 










Q A 



I. Introductory 3 

II. Miss McKeen 6 

III. Miss Watson 19 

IV. Miss Means 26 
V. Miss Merrill 37 

VI. Fraulein Schiefferdecker 46 

VII. Abbot Girls as Abbot Teachers 50 

VIII. Workers in Science 58 

IX. Other Teachers in the Twenty Years 67 

X. Miss Durfee 76 

XI. Miss Patterson 78 

XII. Professor Downs 80 

XIII. Later Teachers of Music 89 

XIV. Secretaries and Librarians 91 
XV. Miss Kimball and Other Matrons 94 

XVI. Professor Park 98 

XVII. The Drapers 102 

XVIII. Colonel Ripley 115 

XIX. Professor Churchill 118 

XX. Professor Taylor 124 

XXI. Dr. Daniel Merriman 129 

XXII. The First Women Trustees 132 

XXIII. Other Trustees 134 


XXIV. Alumnae Activities 142 

XXV. The Story of McKeen Memorial and 

Davis Hall 147 

XXVI. The John-Esther Art Gallery 160 

XXVII. The Reconstruction of Abbot Hall 163 

XXVIII. Abbot Academy at the World's Fair in 

Chicago 166 

XXIX. Sports and Games 169 

XXX. Religious and Philanthropic Inter- 
ests 183 

XXXI. The Abbot " Courant" and The Class 

Book 189 

XXXII. Clubs and Societies 193 

XXXIII. Lighting the Fire in the Recreation 
Room 206 

XXXIV. Three Faithful Helpers 209 

XXXV. A Few Abbot Girls 212 

XXXVI. Abbot at the End of Its First Cen- 
tury 220 

Index 227 





Some time after the death of Miss Emily Means, the 
Trustees of Abbot Academy asked me to take up a 
piece of work which they had hoped would be done 
by her; — the writing of the history of Abbot 
Academy during the period 1892 to 191 2. There 
could be found only a few paragraphs which Miss 
Means had written and these have been incorpo- 
rated into the sketch of Miss Watson. 

As the chapters of this book have grown, it has 
become more and more evident that they are, and 
must remain, sketches, and not a formal history 
of the period between Miss McKeen's leaving the 
school and Miss Bailey's coming to it. The most 
difficult part of the work has been the writing of the 
life and work of students after leaving school. We 
are too near the period of Miss Watson and Miss 
Means to write freely of the people of their time. 
Of the notable people of Miss McKeen's day who 
were doing their best work between 1892 and 191 2, 
only a few have been chosen. These are all persons 
who have visited their old school from time to time 


and have kept in touch with her, and of whom, 
therefore, there is personal knowledge. 

Memory has been the source of much material 
and the guide in the use of other helps. Many 
people have helped — often quite unconsciously to 
themselves — by some word which has quickened a 
latent memory, and others have helped by their 
interest. I wish to acknowledge my indebtedness 
especially to Miss Bailey for her unfailing confidence 
in the value of the work; to Mr. Flagg for his con- 
stant interest; to Mr. Stackpole, who has carefully 
read these sketches and has aided with valuable 
suggestions; to Miss Chickering and Miss Bancroft 
for most helpful criticism ; and lastly to Miss Mason, 
whose constant companionship during the entire 
period makes these pages her memories as well as 
my own, and whose unfailing good judgment and 
fine feeling have been a firm reliance. 

As the work has progressed, I have found myself 
thinking more and more of the strong characters, 
the gracious and beautiful lives that have made the 
school, rather than of definite works which have 
been accomplished by them. It has seemed to me 
that the simple, homely story of daily life as it has 
been lived in and for the school may give to the 
reader a better conception of the integrity of ideas, 
the simplicity of habits, the gracious and self-sacri- 
ficing atmosphere of love, the refinement of taste, 
and above all the staunch love of real truth which 
have been the characteristics of the people who 
have been powerful in forming and keeping alive the 
Abbot atmosphere and environment. 

I have also realized more than ever before that 


Abbot Academy has had an unusual group of men 
to guide its affairs and that it has had a more inti- 
mate association with its Board of Trustees than is 
the common experience of schools. 

It is hardly necessary to say that these chapters 
are written primarily for "old girls" and for the 
Abbot student and teacher of to-day. It is hoped 
that those who have lived in the school during the 
twenty years will find pleasure and refreshment in 
renewing acquaintance with people and events of 
school days; but especially that the Abbot Girls of 
1929 and those who will be Abbot Girls in the future 
may become intelligent about and interested in the 
past and may feel more vividly its relation to the 
present and the future. 



The first volume of the "History of Abbot Acad- 
emy/' written by Miss McKeen and her sister 
Miss Phebe, covers the story of the first fifty years. 
This was followed in 1897 by the second volume, 
written by Miss McKeen alone and published only 
a few weeks before the beginning of her last illness. 
These two volumes contain the facts of the thirty- 
three years of her life and work in the school, but 
these are given by Miss McKeen as the story of the 
progress of the school and not as an appreciation of 
her own life. 

The "Memorial" published by the Trustees in 
1898 contains, not only a complete account of the 
very beautiful last service for Miss McKeen in 
Draper Hall, conducted by Professor Churchill, but 
also the three tributes to her memory; one written 
by Miss Maria Stockbridge Merrill and published 
in the "Andover Townsman" of May 20, 1898; a 
second, written by Mrs. Annie Sawyer Downs for 
the June issue of the "Abbot Courant" of that 
same year; and the third, the tribute given by Miss 
Emily Adams Means, the principal-elect, at the 
annual meeting of the Alumnae Association in June, 
1898. In the introduction to the first volume of the 
History, Professor Park has given an account of the 
death of Miss Phebe which occurred in 1880, and 
also a tribute to the work of the two sisters during 


the twenty-one years of their association at Abbot 
Academy. The introduction to the second volume, 
from the pen of Professor Churchill, pays a special 
tribute to the work of Miss McKeen during the last 
twelve years of her principalship — the period 
marking the beginning of the physical expansion of 
the school. 

To repeat what has been so ably given by these 
two distinguished Trustees is quite unnecessary, but 
this volume of sketches would seem to be incomplete 
without its own special word concerning Miss 
McKeen. Neither Trustees nor Miss McKeen her- 
self could give the picture of the intimate daily life 
of the principal and its effect upon the school. This 
must be left to those who have lived the life with 
her. It is now, in 1929, thirty- seven years since 
Miss McKeen gave up her work at Abbot Academy, 
and so swiftly do the years pass that her name to 
many of the girls of these thirty-seven years is 
hardly a tradition. It is especially for these girls 
that these few pages are written. 

Philena McKeen was born at Bradford, Vermont, 
on June 13, 1822, the daughter of a New England 
minister. Educated largely by her father in the 
home, she taught successfully for a goodly number 
of years until in September, 1859, she came to be 
principal of Abbot Academy. She was then in the 
prime of a vigorous life, and for thirty-three years 
she gave the best of that life whole-heartedly to the 
school. In 1888, worn by the labor of trying to raise 
the money sorely needed for new buildings, and 
discouraged at the failure to complete the full 
amount needed, she resigned from the principalship, 


but the Trustees wisely refused to accept this resig- 
nation, and Miss McKeen continued in her office 
four more years, thus having the joy of seeing the 
results of her labor of pain and of love in the erec- 
tion of Draper Hall. In this house she lived for two 
years, and then she was permitted to give up the 
work — her "graduation day" being on her seven- 
tieth birthday in June, 1892. For six years she lived 
on the grounds of the school in the house which she 
named Sunset Lodge, and there, after a month's 
illness, she died on May 13, 1898. 

On the wall above the principal's desk in Abbot 
Hall the portrait of Miss McKeen has hung for more 
than forty years. It was painted in 1886 and pre- 
sented to the school by the Alumnae Association as 
a tribute of love. Although Miss McKeen lived to 
be seventy-six years old, this portrait of her at 
sixty-four presents her as her friends remember her. 
It shows a strong face with large features and a very 
kindly expression. She had keen, clear, bright blue 
eyes that looked at you very steadily whenever you 
talked with her, and she was a wonderful listener. 
At either side of her face her soft, silvery-white hair 
hung in two or three curls held back by tiny combs. 
She had a rather large frame and was not very 
graceful in carriage, but she was always dignified. 
Her dress was always very nice and dainty. In the 
fall and spring she usually wore a rather handsome 
silk gown, sometimes black and sometimes brighter 
in color. She liked to wear a bit of "real lace" at 
the throat and to have something in pale blue some- 
where about her dress. She wore very little jewelry, 
but whatever she had was always of the finest 


quality and design. Although she was very simple 
in personal appearance and manners, she would be 
noticed in any company as a woman of distinction 
in appearance and bearing. 

Miss McKeen's work for Abbot Academy is much 
more impressive than that of any of the excellent 
principals who preceded her, largely because she 
made it her life work. Only one of the other ten 
principals had spent more than three years here, 
and hence her thirty-three years have entirely 
overshadowed all the preceding thirty years. 

When the two sisters came here in 1859, the school 
was housed in two buildings and owned one acre of 
land — and that acre, to quote Miss McKeen, "was 
in a state of nature, a barren field enclosed by a rude 
fence, through which entrance and exit were made 
by a great gate which usually stood open. There 
was no driveway; every one was allowed to choose 
his own, and there was need of choice to avoid large 
rocks and damp basins here and there as in a poor 

The two buildings were Abbot Hall, the recitation 
building, which has been in use since the day school 
opened in May, 1829, and which is still our pride 
and pleasure, and Smith Hall, a wooden dormitory 
which had been in use five years and was still fresh 
and attractive when the two sisters came to the 
school. At that time only two of the three stories of 
the building were occupied by students, and the 
family could be seated in the dining-room at one 
long table. In the daytime the house was cheery, 
but in the evening it must have been very dismal, 
since the only source of light was the one glass lamp 


with which each person was provided and in which 
whale oil was burned through two small wicks. As 
for Abbot Hall, Miss McKeen frankly says that 
when she came in 1859 it was a dreary place with a 
bare rough floor, coarse plaster on the walls and 
ceiling, on which were great patches of smoke from 
the candles in tin reflectors by which the hall was 
lighted. The platform was merely a broad shelf and 
in front of it sat the pupils behind huge wooden 
desks. On the wall hung the portrait of Madame 
Abbot, one of the three pictures owned by the school 
at that time. 

The first great fact which the Trustees impressed 
on the new principal was the poverty of the school, 
and their first counsel was: "Be content with such 
things as ye have." But it was never Miss McKeen's 
nature to be content with anything which she could 
possibly make better, and she was always most fer- 
tile in resources. She never lacked wits for thinking 
of means to make things better. She began at once 
to find ways to earn money for things she wanted 
for the school. Lectures and concerts and other 
entertainments were planned and carried out, and 
soon she was able to buy a carpet for the bare floor 
of Abbot Hall. The Trustees then continued the 
good work of improvement by widening the narrow 
platform and papering the untidy walls, but the 
huge wooden desks were kept some years longer 
until the settees which are still in use were bought to 
replace them. 

An instance of Miss McKeen's ability to suggest 
without words the needs of the school to its friends 
is illustrated by the tale of the silver spoons. Per- 


haps this tale is best told by quoting the " Courant " 
of June, 1892, although this version of it differs 
slightly from the oral tradition which the writer of 
this volume inherited directly from Miss Merrill. 
The " Courant" in a brief paragraph concerning 
Mr. George L. Davis tells the story as follows: 

"In these early days the school was in need of 
almost all things. Notwithstanding the heroic 
generosity of the friends who had provided the 
essentials for housekeeping at the opening of Smith 
Hall in 1854, it was necessarily scantily furnished; 
for example, there were no teaspoons for the table 
and no silver spoons of any description, except per- 
haps a half-dozen odd teaspoons which had been 
left from time to time through the carelessness of 
their owners; consequently dessert spoons of some 
cheap metal were used for tea and coffee at the 
constant risk of overturning the cup. As a strategic 
movement, Miss McKeen invited the trustees to 
tea, and instead of favoring them with the waif 
teaspoons, she served their cups with the same 
clumsy, cheap spoons which they had provided for 
the family. A few days later Mr. Davis sent a pack- 
age containing five dozen teaspoons, a dozen dessert 
spoons, and another dozen tablespoons, all of solid 
silver, and marked Abbot Academy." As a matter 
of fact, the dessert and tablespoons and part of the 
teaspoons were marked "A. F. Academy," and the 
rest of the teaspoons, those perfectly plain in 
design, were marked "Davis Hall." These spoons 
are all still the "best spoons" of the school. 

The story of Miss McKeen's long-cherished 
desire for new school buildings, its consummation 


through her own laborious and exhausting work in 
raising money sufficient to begin the erection of 
these buildings, the careful study of and the choosing 
of plans for Draper Hall, its erection, its furnishing, 
and her two years of life in it, is all most interesting 
and it is all told by Miss McKeen herself in volume 
two of the History. 

It is evident that a woman who could so develop 
a school on its material side as she had done, must 
be a woman of unusual qualities, of strong character, 
and preeminently of great strength of will power. 
Whenever one came into her presence it was quickly 
felt to be the presence of a woman of wide and 
accurate scholarship, of keen and inquiring mind, 
never satisfied until she had found the truth. She 
constantly strove to develop in her pupils a love for 
the best in all things and to provide them with the 
means of satisfying this taste. She taught the 
Senior Class in Church History, History of the Fine 
Arts, and Butler's " Analogy," but every course in 
school bore the impress of her keen thought. 

At times she seemed to have an almost masculine 
strength of mind to conceive and of will to carry out 
her plans, yet she acknowledged herself to be singu- 
larly lacking in physical courage. In spite of this 
lack, nothing could deter her from carrying out what 
she considered to be her duty. She had no faith in 
horses and was very timid about driving, but with 
the inconsistency of such fears, she was in the habit 
of going to ride regularly with Mrs. Park as her 
companion, driven by a one-armed old soldier in 
a somewhat dilapidated-looking carriage. Several 
times a week, promptly at half -past ten, the carriage 


drew up at the door of Smith Hall, and these two 
most interesting-looking women could be seen 
starting out for their hour's drive. Surely if the 
conversation of that hour had been recorded a most 
interesting and delightful volume might have been 
added to the annals of the school. 

She had a delicious sense of humor and her merry 
blue eye often betrayed her when she seemed most 
grave. Brought up by a father having the sternest 
New England principles of that day, she always 
clung to the early teachings of her home. She en- 
couraged teachers and girls to present English, 
French, and German plays upon the school stage, 
and took great pride and interest in this work, and 
yet she never once attended the professional theater 
until after she left Abbot Academy, and then she 
went once to Boston to see a performance of "Ben 
Hur." Yet, though she was not a frequenter of the 
theater, she certainly had a dramatic nature which 
often showed itself in unexpected ways. She con- 
ducted morning chapel at Abbot Hall sitting in a 
special chair made unusually high for her comfort. 
Once a week, usually on Tuesday morning, she 
addressed the school on some moral or religious 
topic. Sometimes she would expound a passage of 
the Bible with great clearness and impressiveness. 
Again, she would give with force some much-needed 
moral or practical teaching. Then a day would come 
when a severe reproof was needed, and it would be 
given, always resting very substantially upon Bible 
teachings. Then again, with great patience and 
exactness she would teach the entire school, verse 
by verse, long passages of the Bible, which they 
would recite together. 


One day she had discussed very seriously with 
some of the teachers the fault of borrowing — a 
fault often prevalent in a boarding-school. The next 
morning at chapel after the usual devotional exer- 
cises, Miss McKeen again opened the big Bible and 
with great solemnity and dramatic effect read the 
passage from 2 Kings, 6th chapter, verses 1-5. 
The last two verses are as follows: "So he went with 
them. And when they came to Jordan they cut 
down wood. But as one was felling a beam the ax 
head fell into the water; and he cried and said Alas, 
Master! for it was borrowed." She closed the Bible 
and every one before her knew at once the lesson to 
be learned, so great was the dramatic effect of her 

At another morning chapel service, she read these 
words from Proverbs v, 15: "Drink waters out of 
thine own cistern, and running waters out of thine 
own well," and then she went on to give a very force- 
ful talk on the need of self-reliance. A student who 
heard this last talk gave a very clear and vivid 
account of it more than forty years after the day 
when it was given by Miss McKeen in Abbot Hall, 
so strong was the impression which it made upon 

That no girl should leave Abbot Academy without 
becoming an active Christian was a matter very 
much on Miss McKeen's heart. She often prayed 
with and for individual girls and labored hard to 
develop and to strengthen the religious nature of 
every girl who came into her school. 

There was a stern, uncompromising, severe side to 
Miss McKeen's nature, and there have been always 


some people who could see only that side, and who 
have felt that she could not be progressive. The 
one thing that those who really knew her in all her 
varied phases realize, is that she was truly great in 
her ability to change, to see that a question might 
present itself to another person from an entirely 
different point of view, and that there might really 
be another way of looking at it. Positive and un- 
compromising Miss McKeen could be in her state- 
ment of a matter, but if one had the courage to de- 
clare a different opinion, she would give most 
courteous and sympathetic attention to her daring 
opponent, and treat her fairly. 

Attendance at the weekly prayer meeting held on 
Saturday evening was required of all the family. 
It is not strange that there should have been some- 
times, girls who had not been accustomed to attend 
such a service, and who frankly said they did not 
enjoy it. One Saturday evening Miss McKeen 
stated very emphatically that any one who did not 
enjoy going to the prayer meeting could not be con- 
sidered as really a Christian. Sitting directly in 
front of her was a young girl brought up in the 
Episcopal Church, who found it irksome to attend 
the "prayer meeting" of Congregational form, and 
who had frankly made known her dislike of it. This 
statement by Miss McKeen roused her thoroughly, 
and she dwelt upon it until she felt she could not let 
it go by without speaking to Miss McKeen. The 
next day the opportunity came, and summoning 
courage to speak with her, she said : " Miss McKeen, 
did you really mean what you said last night about 
going to prayer meeting?" Miss McKeen stopped 


and looked at her in surprise, but after a moment 
there began a conversation the substance of which 
is not remembered, but only the effect, which was 
that of great friendliness and the attempt at sym- 
pathetic understanding on the part of Miss McKeen. 
As the conversation came to an end, one of Miss 
McKeen's last words was: "I have just been read- 
ing the life of Faber, and you make me think of 
him." Why there should have been this reminder 
was not evident to the young girl, but that was not 
necessary, since the result of the encounter was a 
better understanding and greater sympathy be- 
tween the stern and positive teacher and the young 
and rebellious girl. In later years Miss McKeen 
often went to the Episcopal Church with this same 
friend then grown to womanhood. Foreign travel 
and the beauty and solemnity of European cathe- 
drals had developed in her the power to enter into 
and appreciate the forms of the Episcopal Church, 
which earlier in her life she had considered almost 
papal, and not to be enjoyed by a Congregationalist. 
Her real greatness of nature was shown in her 
retirement from Abbot Academy fully as much as 
in her active life here. She gave up her office on her 
seventieth birthday in 1892, and after spending the 
summer in doing everything possible to smooth the 
way for her successor, Miss Watson, she went in 
September to live in the house on the Academy 
grounds which she named Sunset Lodge. The 
Trustees had put this house in order and invited her 
to live in it — a very trying and dangerous experi- 
ment for a person of her strong and active nature to 
venture to make. But she did it perfectly. 


Her little house was a most attractive, dainty 
home, perfectly kept in every way. She was a won- 
derful hostess and most generous in hospitality. 
One of the beautiful things about these six years of 
life in Sunset Lodge is that, from the first, she was 
very much interested in, and able to do much for, 
the life of the town, and as a consequence the towns- 
people came to know her much more intimately 
and to love her warmly. She had always had many 
strong, intimate and interesting friendships in An- 
dover, but now the circle was greatly widened and 
many who had not known her well before found life 
greatly enriched by her friendship. 

She had carried on for many years with great 
enthusiasm the teaching of History of Art, not only 
to the Senior Class of Abbot Academy, but also in 
the November Club, the woman's club of Andover, 
and she continued to lead this Art Department in 
its study. It was a very lovely sight to see the group 
of dignified women who made up that department 
literally sitting at her feet to be taught. She made 
them work, just as she had made her classes of young 
girls work in school, and they obeyed her directions 
with the same faith in her wisdom. Her last piece of 
work was done for this Art Department, and only a 
fortnight before her death the last meeting of the 
season was held at her home, although she was un- 
able to be downstairs with the members. 

In the town she was greatly interested in the Vil- 
lage Improvement Society, and became an efficient 
worker in it. As a Director of this Society she was 
active in making neat, orderly and beautiful the 
triangle opposite the South Church, and she worked 


indefatigably to have it graded and turfed and 
made ready for a few shrubs. The sum needed to do 
this work was large relative to the resources of the 
Society, and many of her fellow directors thought 
that the plan would better be given up. But not so 
Miss McKeen. She determined to try to get the 
money for the work, and succeeded as she always 
had done in similar attempts. The last time she went 
out to drive, which was on the Tuesday of Easter 
Week, April 12, 1898, she asked to be taken to see 
this piece of ground, and was greatly pleased with its 
appearance, and with the appreciation of her efforts 
shown not only by the Village Improvement Society 
but also by the citizens generally. 

She died on May 13, 1898. A very beautiful 
service was held at Draper Hall on May 16, con- 
ducted by Professor Churchill, and attended by 
Abbot girls and friends from near and far. On the 
next day a few of the Andover friends went with the 
beloved form to Bradford, Vermont, the home of her 
birth and of her childhood days, and there she lies 
beside her much-loved sister Phebe. 

This very inadequate appreciation of her is lov- 
ingly closed with the words which she herself uses as 
the closing words of her history of the school, 
published only a few weeks before her death: "Be- 
cause the bright sun floods it all day, and sets in 
wondrous glory before the western windows, and 
also because these are my sunset years, I have 
named my house 'Sunset Lodge.' The last name 
reminds me that this is only a lodge — a waiting 
place till through grace, the Father shall summon 
me home." 



"The last chapters of the second volume of the 
'History of Abbot Academy' relate the events at 
the end of the administration of Miss Philena Mc- 
Keen and the entrance of Miss Laura S. Watson 
upon her difficult task as Miss McKeen's successor. 
The school had been formed for so many years under 
the leadership of two able women that a heavy load 
was laid upon any stranger who should take up the 
burden of the opening years of needed adjustment to 
the altered conditions arising from the college de- 
mands upon the preparatory schools, and also to 
modern ways of life. 

"Miss Watson, with calm courage, grasped the 
needs of the school, and struggled to clear away the 
first obstructions to the establishment of a develop- 
ing ideal of scholarship and discipline. Miss Watson 
was a graduate of Mount Holyoke College with 
which Abbot Academy had always had close fellow- 
ship, and she had been Preceptress at the excellent 
High School of St. Johnsbury, Vermont, from which 
she came to Andover. It is not an easy matter to 
select and cut out the obstructive in any well- 
defined system, and to substitute the new and 
strange to fill the old and well-known places, but 
with great earnestness and sincerity Miss Watson 
studied to comprehend the past historical and tradi- 
tional meaning of the school, and to continue all 


that was best and appropriate in it, adapting it to 
the new requirements. It is not strange that old 
scholars and friends of the school should have felt 
anxiety at passing out from the comfortable security 
of Miss McKeen's long care into the hands of an 
untried government, but confidence in the judgment 
of the Trustees and their carefully considered choice 
reassured them when the great step was taken. 

"To be rightfully conservative and at the same 
time judiciously progressive called for a wide outlook 
over the future growth of the school and of the spe- 
cial direction of that growth. Caution as well as bold- 
ness was required. The curriculum had to be altered 
so as to give a proper place for the college prepara- 
tory work, and at the same time to retain and de- 
velop the Academic courses which the school had 
always held as primarily its business in education. 
This would make new teachers necessary and en- 
larged expenses which, in a school always con- 
ducted on the principle of strict economy, must be 
soon justified by increased return in number of 
students and in reputation. The first years were 
bound to be years of puzzling questions and many 
discouragements, and much gratitude should be 
given to those who undertook to manage the transi- 

The preceding paragraphs concerning Miss Wat- 
son were written by Miss Means as the beginning of 
what was to be her continuation of Miss McKeen's 
history of Abbot Academy. It seems fitting that 
these few pages written by Miss Means should be 
incorporated into the body of this sketch without 
alteration. This brief statement explains without 


apology whatever may seem unusual or inharmo- 
nious in the construction of this chapter. 

Laura Sophia Watson was born in Sedgwick, 
Maine, April 28, 1849, and died in St. Johnsbury, 
Vermont, May 21, 1924. She was graduated from 
Mt. Holyoke Seminary in the class of 1871, and 
later in life she received the degrees of Ph.B. and of 
M.A. from Wesleyan University in Bloomington, 
Illinois. She taught at Lawrence Academy in Gro- 
ton, Massachusetts, was principal of Albert Lea 
College in Minnesota, and was preceptress at St. 
Johnsbury Academy in Vermont for the few years 
preceding her coming to Abbot Academy. Here she 
was principal from September, 1892, to June, 1898. 

The first work undertaken by Miss Watson at 
Abbot Academy was that of rearranging the state- 
ments in the Circular of Information. A comparison 
of the Circular of 1892 with that of 1893 will show 
very little real change in the matter, but chiefly in 
the form of presentation of the requirements for the 
five years of regular work. It was made clear that 
the Academic course may emphasize the classics 
or the sciences as well as modern languages and 
literatures. For the first time the college preparatory 
work was laid out as a regular course, emphasizing 
the fact that the school which, before this time, had 
sent an occasional student to college was now ready 
to offer regular college preparation as a recognized 
part of its work. The 1893 Circular contains a 
formal statement concerning the work of each de- 
partment of the school, thus adding to the bulk and 
to the dignified appearance of the pamphlet; there 
also appeared as a frontispiece an excellent picture 


of the school buildings and grounds, thus giving to 
strangers a good idea of the appearance of the school 

The list of faculty in the 1895-96 Circular con- 
tains the name of the first recognized librarian, and 
this indicates the growth of the library in number of 
volumes, and in greater use by the students. This 
growth in use was greatly aided by the making of the 
first card catalogue of the library in 1894. ^ n tne 
winter of 1892 there had been a visiting teacher of 
gymnastics, and her name is to be found on the 
faculty list, but in 1893 the work of gymnastics and 
elocution was given into the care of one teacher, and 
the next year, 1893-94, each department was well 
organized under Miss Durfee, who managed both 
branches of work for the seventeen years she was on 
the faculty. In the science department, the change 
made by giving a half-year to Physics, and a half- 
year to Chemistry in place of the single term for each 
subject, was the modest beginning of the later en- 
largement of these courses; also the fitting up of a 
common laboratory for the two sciences made it 
possible that some laboratory work should be at- 
tempted by the individual pupils. Emphasis upon 
the college preparatory work did not seem to lessen 
attention to music and art. In the year 1892-93, out 
of a total enrollment of 144 pupils, 18 are listed as 
taking special lessons in drawing and painting, 11 
studied vocal music, 4 had violin lessons, and 49 
studied piano. The next catalogue lists 8 pupils in 
Harmony, and about the same number in the other 
departments of music as in the preceding year. The 
ample provision for the study of art already existing 


in the school was greatly increased by the addition 
of at least six hundred works in the form of casts, 
etchings, paintings and photographs. True, many 
of these works were gifts from loyal Alumnae, but it 
was Miss Watson's great interest in art which made 
an atmosphere most encouraging to generous- 
minded and cultured Alumnae and friends. 

The history of the building of McKeen Hall 
shows clearly that the quiet influence of Miss Wat- 
son kept ever before the school the need of a new 
building, and although her name never appeared 
before the world in this work, her pupils know that 
her influence was exerted in ways that resulted in 
their action. Miss Watson's influence upon students 
and faculty was strong and lasting, and those who 
knew her well have never lost the consciousness of 
this influence. She was a woman of strong character, 
of most refined tastes, of wide reading and of gen- 
uinely broad scholarship, but so modest and retiring 
in disposition that she was not likely to be well- 
known to a wide circle. Neither the town of An- 
dover nor the Alumnae of Abbot Academy had the 
opportunity of knowing her in the short six years of 
her service as principal of the school. And yet 
underneath an exterior that often seemed shy and 
forbidding, there was a warm interest in the life of 
the school, and a genuinely social nature. Occasion- 
ally this was felt in a very charming way, and the 
girls who experienced this side of her nature became 
much attached to her. 

After a few years of life in the school it became 
evident to Miss Watson that the physical burden of 
the work was more than she could wisely continue to 


carry, and in June, 1898, she gave it up. The " Cour- 
ant" of June, 1898, contains an excellent summary 
of the six years of Miss Watson's career at Abbot 
Academy. Some of the points emphasized are: — 
the enlargement of the curriculum, the development 
of the college preparatory course, the sharper defini- 
tion of departments especially those of History and 
Science, and the growth of the library. Constant 
improvement in school buildings is also to be noted 
during this period. Abbot Hall was improved and 
redecorated; comforts were increased in Draper 
Hall ; a suite of rooms was made and furnished for 
use as a hospital ; a large room on the first floor was 
appropriated for use as a family sitting room. 

During these six years bequests were made to 
the school amounting to at least sixty-five thousand 
dollars, and these were all voluntary. Of this sum, 
ten thousand dollars was the gift of Mrs. Hilton, 
five thousand dollars was a legacy from Mrs. Phcebe 
Abbot Ballard Chandler towards a new Academy 
building; and the Draper gifts of real estate in this 
period amounted to forty thousand dollars in value. 
Also the Cornell scholarship of three thousand dol- 
lars was given for the use of Andover girls, and 
lastly, Miss McKeen left a legacy of four thousand 
and five hundred dollars. 

y A thoughtful study of these six years shows that 
under Miss Watson's guidance the school quietly 
but steadily held its own amidst many discourage- 
ments, not the least of which was the excessive 
financial depression of the country in 1893, which 
delayed the energetic pushing of the plans for a new 
Academy building. 


Upon leaving the school Miss Watson went 
directly to Europe, where she studied and traveled 
at will for several years. She studied at the Univer- 
sity of Oxford and at the American School of Clas- 
sical Studies at Athens, and she had the distinction 
of being among the very first women to receive in- 
struction at the Leipsic University, where her work 
was in the subject of Philosophy. In Italy, at 
Anacapri, she spent some time indulging her artistic 
taste and her natural facility in the use of the brush 
by a study of painting. In Paris she lived in the 
family of Pere Hyacinthe. After several years of 
well-merited enjoyment of life and study in Europe, 
she returned to live with her brother, a physician in 
Brooklyn, New York. There she became greatly 
interested in club work and wrote many papers on 
art and literature for the distinguished circles to 
which she belonged. 

The death of Miss Watson's brother left her very 
lonely, and she chose to return to St. Johnsbury for 
the last three or four years of her life, in order to 
enjoy the companionship of warm friends. There 
she bought a house which she took great pleasure in 
remodeling, and in which she arranged her beautiful 
pictures and rugs and fine antiques brought home 
from Europe. But most of all she enjoyed the gar- 
dens and lawns surrounding the house, and to them 
she gave much care. 

Since her death in 1924 words of loving apprecia- 
tion have come from her neighbors and from many 
of her Abbot girls. Abbot Academy counts itself 
honored and blessed in the memory of her principal- 



When Miss Watson resigned the principalship in 
January, 1898, the Trustees, for the second time 
within the decade, were under the necessity of select- 
ing a principal for the school. This time they made 
a choice from within the school ranks, and in April 
they announced that Miss Emily Adams Means had 
accepted the office and would assume the duties at 
the close of the school year in June. 

Miss Means came to the school with the advan- 
tage of having had a long and intimate acquaint- 
ance with it. Since early childhood she had lived 
in Andover and she was graduated from the school 
in the class of 1869. After several years of travel 
and study with various well-known European and 
American artists she came back to live in Andover 
and she had charge of the department of Art in 
the school from 1877 to 1892. The last one of these 
years she spent in residence at Draper Hall and 
taught not only Art, but several of the studies of the 
Academic Seniors. From 1892 to 1898 she lived 
either in Summit, New Jersey, or in New York City 
with her brother and spent much time in writing and 
also in teaching Art at The Kent Place School in 

For several years, 1 890-1 898, Miss Means was 
the very active President of the Abbot Academy 
Alumnae Association and this office was resigned 


only when she became principal of the school. One 
condition which influenced Miss Means to accept 
the principalship was the fact that Miss McKeen 
was such a near neighbor to the school. The death of 
Miss McKeen in May, 1898, was a great sorrow to 
Miss Means and she began her work in June with a 
keen sense of having lost her most valued adviser, 
and the one of all her friends who could most intel- 
ligently understand her difficulties. 

In accepting the office and work of principal Miss 
Means had already urged upon the Trustees the 
need of carrying on with greater vigor the work of 
obtaining a new school building. It was now an 
opportune moment to emphasize the idea of collect- 
ing funds from alumnae to erect a recitation hall as 
a memorial to the two McKeen sisters. The story of 
this work is given in detail in another chapter of this 
book and here we simply record the fact that Miss 
Means took advantage of the moment to carry on to 
success the work which had been so well started 
under Miss Watson. However, five long years were 
needed to complete the work of securing the funds 
and preparing the plans for the McKeen Memorial 
Hall. The corner stone was laid in June, 1903. The 
hall was dedicated in June, 1904, and first used in 
September of that year. 

In the history of institutions it frequently is true 
that after a long period of little change in the out- 
ward appearance there comes a time when much 
building and physical expansion are crowded into 
a few years. During Miss McKeen's thirty- three 
years of service there was no building until the very 
end of her connection with the school and then came 


the erection of Draper Hall. But Miss Means in her 
short thirteen years as principal carried on with 
great vigor and rapidity the work of building begun 
by Miss McKeen. Not only was she influential in 
the erection of McKeen Memorial and Davis Hall, 
but old Abbot Hall was made over into an excellent 
science building, the John-Esther Art Gallery was 
built, many improvements were made in the interior 
and in the furnishings of Draper Hall and, before 
she left, the plans were well advanced for the new 
laundry building, which was also to be the center for 
the distribution of heat and light. This brief state- 
ment makes it clear that the Abbot Academy which 
Miss Means left in 191 1 was very different in out- 
ward appearance from the school which she took in 
charge in 1898. Throughout all these changes it is 
easy to trace Miss Means's strong characteristics of 
thrift and economy and her love of dignified fitness 
and simplicity joined with an excellent artistic 

But we cannot lose sight of the fact that this 
work made a radical change in her habits of life and 
that it meant great self-sacrifice and real devotion 
to Abbot Academy. Her life always had been a very 
orderly one, but it is one thing to decide upon and 
regulate that order according to the tastes of the 
person herself, and a very different matter to have 
the daily regulation imposed upon one by the needs 
of a family of a hundred or more young people whose 
lives must be cared for and planned for in many de- 
tails for weeks and months of the year. The pleas- 
ures of painting and the teaching of Art had to be 
given up ; the time to enjoy the reading of many new 


books was no longer at command ; even the time to 
go out to seek and enjoy old friends was seldom to be 
found. But having accepted the work Miss Means 
gave herself without reserve to the direction of the 
affairs of the school. 

Before taking up the leadership of the school Miss 
Means's work had been that of an artist and a 
writer — work which had been carried on with 
great independence of life in the seclusion of home. 
She seems not to have had the formal training or 
experience which we think of as necessary for the 
conduct of such a school as Abbot Academy but it 
soon became evident that the creative power, the 
discriminating taste, and the disciplinary training 
of the artist are qualities which are to be relied upon 
to produce desired results in other kinds of work ; in 
short, that the training in correct seeing, honest 
thinking, and logical reasoning will serve in all kinds 
of creative work. This seems to be the explanation 
of the fact that one who apparently had lived her 
life with great freedom of action and of pursuit 
should be able at once to adapt herself to the daily 
routine and even drudgery of the principal's work 
and not only to carry it on successfully as to rou- 
tine, but also to infuse into it real life and often 
novelty of action. 

It is true, as we have said, that she had no techni- 
cal preparation for the work ; but she brought to it a 
finely trained mind, a rather wide experience of the 
world through travel and study, a splendid back- 
ground of family traditions and training, a quick 
sympathy and interest in the individual, a strong 
sense of justice, and an absolute fearlessness for the 


right as she saw it. She had keen insight, quick 
humor, and a sensitive feeling for all that is beauti- 
ful in life. She had a wonderful capacity for friend- 
ship ; and over and over again girls, years after leav- 
ing school, came back to her for counsel in their 
gravest perplexities, for comfort in their deepest 
sorrows and to share with her their highest joys. 

She came back to the school for this last period of 
her work in it in the prime of womanhood. We who 
knew her then need no visible portrait to keep her 
fresh and vivid in memory, but we greatly regret 
that there is nothing to give the girls of 1929 a 
picture of her as she was in 1898. She was never 
beautiful, but there was a regal quality that made 
every one admire and also stand in awe of her; 
there was also a very human quality of sympathy 
and interest that made many of us love her ar- 
dently. When she was at work she always dressed 
in a simple, even austere fashion, but in the evening 
she often appeared in a costume of soft, pale colors 
and graceful, flowing lines. She loved bright colors, 
too, and sometimes wore them, but always she gave 
us the feeling that a queen was in our midst. 

She loved good literature and owned a rather 
large and quite choice library, every book in which 
seemed to be a familiar and well-read friend. She 
had a fine knowledge not only of English but also of 
French, German, and Italian literatures, reading 
with ease all these languages. 

Her knowledge of music was extraordinary for 
one who had never played any instrument outside 
the seclusion of home. Evidently a naturally fine 
ear and excellent musical memory had been well 


trained in youth, and she was one who seemed never 
to forget what once had been learned. 

The seniors who came under her instruction knew 
that she was a teacher who exacted the very best 
work they were capable of doing although some of 
them may have felt at times that she was pushing 
them on towards a standard impossible to reach. 
But doubtless all of those girls would be ready now 
to testify that power to accomplish was thus de- 
veloped in them. Her standards were the highest 
and no one can work for such a person without often 
feeling the pressure intensely, but it was that 
pressure which brought many girls out into finer 
womanhood and fitted them for a larger life. 

She was a powerful and inspiring leader and she 
expected from others faithful attendance to duties. 
She had the keenness of sight which enabled her to 
detect latent ability, and her exactions from her 
Faculty, together with her confidence in them, 
many times developed power in them. It may be 
true that the process was sometimes accompanied 
by pain, but is not pain often the accompaniment of 

She had a strong sense of the accountability of a 
steward. She felt the responsibility for the physi- 
cal, mental and moral well-being of the girls under 
her care. She also believed that she was responsible 
for the right use and the care of every possession of 
the institution. The bricks and mortar, the wood 
and stones, and the furnishings of the buildings, the 
grass and the shrubs, the trees and the woods were all 
and every one, properties that she must care for and 
teach every one else to care for, and scathing was the 


rebuke given for any carelessness or abuse in the use 
of school property. 

Her year was made up of two very distinct parts 
and in these parts she lived two very different lives. 
From the last of August until early in the following 
July she lived at Abbot Academy, seldom going 
away from the school grounds, living a life most de- 
voted to the school. Soon after taking the principal- 
ship she bought a very beautiful island off the 
Maine coast near Christmas Cove, and there, with a 
devoted friend, she spent her very short summer. 
Those of her pupils who have had the good fortune 
to go to see her there on that lovely island know that 
the freedom and beauty of the spot revealed her as 
did no other place. The freedom, the beauty and the 
isolation of those few weeks in the summer seemed 
to give her the vigor of body and the inspiration of 
soul which she needed for the arduous work of the 
rest of the year. 

Leave of absence was granted her for the year 
1909-10 and from November, 1909, until the next 
summer Miss Means traveled in leisurely fashion in 
Europe, spending many weeks in Italy, Sicily, and 
Egypt. In September, 1910, she came back to the 
school apparently much refreshed, but by mid- 
winter she had decided to give up the work. It was 
April before she succeeded in making Dr. Merriman 
and the other Trustees believe that her decision was 
irrevocable. The Trustees found the ten weeks of 
the spring term too short a period in which to secure 
her successor, so that there followed an interregnum 
of a year between the going of Miss Means and the 
coming of Miss Bailey. 


After a long summer at her island home, the year 
1911-12 was again spent in travel. When she re- 
turned to New England, she settled down for the 
winter months on Bay State Road, Boston, with her 
cousin Mrs. Merriman, and from there she made oc- 
casional brief visits to the school, always bringing 
back to it a fresh and genuine interest in all its af- 
fairs. When the trustees were raising the money to 
complete the fund necessary for building and furnish- 
ing the Infirmary, Miss Means gave much time and 
effort to the work. 

Probably the greatest and most absorbing pleas- 
ure of her life for several years, beginning before she 
left Abbot, was the planning and building of her 
permanent home on the island. When first she 
bought Ladybirch Island she had built on its inner 
side a tiny bungalow, most comfortable and most 
attractive as a temporary home, but from the first 
she looked forward to the building of a real house, a 
permanent home on the ocean side of the island. 
The greatest care was given to the preparation of 
the site ; a sea wall was built to make certain that the 
foundations would be secure and that the house, 
which was to be placed on the very edge of the cliffs, 
would be able to withstand the pounding of the 
waves of the winter storms. Although she had the 
help of an architect, yet literally every plan was 
made and every stone was placed under the careful 
supervision of Miss Means. The fireplace and the 
woodwork of the mantel in the dining-room were 
from the old home in Andover — the Old Manse of 
the South Church. The strong front door was made 
of solid, broad oak planks sawed from the trunk of 


one of the sturdy oak trees on the island ; the terrace 
running the length of the south side of the house was 
made of tapestry brick, and one of her Andover 
friends has a vivid picture in his memory of finding 
Miss Means seated on this unfinished terrace in the 
midst of a pile of bricks from which she was selecting 
each brick, with careful consideration of its color 
and texture, for the place into which it was to be 
fitted by the workman to whom she gave it. She in- 
creased the natural beauty of the island by the 
planting of wild flowers in appropriate nooks and by 
making comfortable resting places at just the spot 
where one could enjoy the finest view of ocean or 
cliff or rocky island or mainland. And always the 
beautiful trees were individuals to her, for every one 
of which she had an individual care. 

Two of her strongest qualities which are in marked 
contrast to each other, are brought out in this build- 
ing of her home ; her artistic sense which was always 
calling for indulgence, and her New England thrift. 
She intended to have her home satisfy her artistic 
nature, but she also planned to build it from her in- 
come and not to allow herself to draw from her 
principal. Both traits tended to prolong the process 
for several years but her near friends realize that her 
pleasure was also prolonged, for the act of creation 
always gives pleasure to the artist. The house was 
finally completed and her household treasures were 
fitted into it and a few years were left to her to 
enjoy it. 

She had never found it an easy thing to play the 
part of hostess in the big family at school with every 
hour so full of work and care, but seldom does one 


see a more charming, delightful hostess than she 
was in her beautiful island home. No service which 
might be performed for a guest was too much for her 
to do herself, but it gave one a strange sensation to 
have Miss Means take the oars of her boat and row 
her guests across the tidal river which separated the 
island from the mainland. Walking up the wooded 
slope by a winding path, one came to the beautiful, 
dignified villa set among noble trees upon a high 
cliff upon the ocean side of the island. Here was her 
real home, her castle, and in it more truly than 
anywhere else she seemed the well-rounded and more 
nearly perfect woman. 

But only a short decade of life was left to her after 
leaving the school. In June, 1922, she died, in Cam- 
bridge, after an illness from which she seemed for a 
time to be recovering. She was buried in the family 
lot in the South Church Cemetery in Andover. In 
November of 1922, a service was held in Davis Hall 
in loving memory of her life and work. 

Miss Means is one of the pilots to whom the 
school owes a great debt of gratitude for the years of 
unselfish and inspiring life which she lived in it. 
But more even than for what she accomplished we 
are grateful for what she was. She believed that 
grace and charm in woman should be accompanied 
by dignity of bearing; that justice should be the rule 
of judgment but that it should be tempered with 
mercy; that severity of dealing should often be fol- 
lowed by infinite patience and gentleness. Her ex- 
quisitely refined taste in art, music, and literature 
extended to manners and morals. Her love of beauty 
developed in others a greater power to see it, to 
value it, to enjoy it, and to strive for it. 


Devout both by nature and by training, she was 
a strong leader in the religious life of the school. 
Beneath a natural reserve of manner which often 
concealed her genuine interest in the individual, 
there was a deep and abiding interest in all who came 
under her care and a real affection which lasted 
throughout her life. 



Maria Stockbridge Merrill had charge of the 
French department of Abbot Academy for twenty- 
nine years. She came to this work in September, 
1878, when only twenty-one years old, having spent 
most of her short life in a small country town in 
Maine. After being graduated from the high school 
at Brunswick, Maine, she went directly to study in 
Paris and Germany for two years without the syste- 
matic training and broadening influence that comes, 
supposedly, from college life. After a year's work at 
Abbot, Miss McKeen asked her to be not only head 
of the French department, but also of Davis Hall, 
the house in which at that time the students of 
French lived, saying that her one disqualification for 
the work, namely her extreme youth, would gradu- 
ally but surely disappear! There are many of Miss 
Merrill's pupils scattered over this wide country 
who would gladly testify to the fineness of quality of 
her teaching of the French language and literature. 
There was a sparkle and a sense of life in her classes 
that made her pupils willing to undergo the drudgery 
of the drill inevitable in laying the foundations of a 
foreign language. Even while this enduring founda- 
tion was being laid there was developed in many a 
sense of the beauty and the perfection of the lan- 
guage as a medium of expression, and a love for 
French literature was aroused, together with the 


ability to appreciate its simplicity, its beauty, and 
its satisfying quality. 

Her influence as a teacher of French classics was 
but a small part of the effect of her life upon those 
who were her daily companions here. The keenness 
and vigor of her intellectual life, the quality of her 
literary and artistic taste, the strength and depth of 
her religious life, elevated the circle of which she 
was a part; the quickness and brightness of her 
humor often helped to straighten out the difficul- 
ties that inevitably come in the daily life of a large 
family. She had the so-called "New England con- 
science," but she could be guided by it without 
making all around her uncomfortable. The quality 
that has most often been spoken of as making a 
strong impression upon the girls under her care was 
her faith and interest in them. 

At the time of the dedication of the Memorial 
Gates an alumna of many years ago said: "Be sure 
to tell the girls how dearly we all loved her. I have 
never seen any one who inspired so much love as did 
Miss Merrill." She had the remarkable gift of mak- 
ing the daily life of the school family conform to the 
necessary school regulations and yet giving a sense 
of liberty and of unity. No one knew better than 
she the absolute necessity for law and order in all the 
small details of daily life, but she was never afraid 
to give or take any freedom which would not inter- 
fere with the well-being of the school life. 

The variety of her interests, her love of language 
and of poetry and her ability to read it aloud most 
delightfully, her keen love of sports which made her 
always read the sporting page of the daily paper, 


years before girls were supposed to take any active 
part in the more strenuous out-of-door games — 
that love which later made her go out daily on the 
athletic field to watch and encourage the girls in 
school games — in short, the fact that she never 
lived in a rut made her a refreshing»»and invigorating 
member of the faculty. 

In 1907, the death of Dr. John M. Harlow of 
Woburn, husband of Frances Kimball Harlow, led 
Miss Merrill to resign her position at Abbot 
Academy, and she spent the remaining six years of 
Mrs. Harlow's life as her close companion. After 
Mrs. Harlow's death in 1913, Miss Merrill had two 
happy years with her father and sister in the family 
home at Portland, Maine, a home which she dearly 
loved, but in which she had spent very little time in 
the more than thirty years of her connection with 
Andover and Woburn. Portland people very quickly 
discovered her rare qualities, and she had a busy 
two years of church and club and social work. A 
sudden, sharp attack of pneumonia ended this 
happy, vigorous, and rare life in March, 19 16. 

The library of Abbot Academy has been enriched 
by two gifts in her memory. The first to be received 
was a fine set of the complete works of Honor6 de 
Balzac. It is the "Edition De"finitif " of twenty-five 
volumes published by Michel Levy Freres, in 1875, 
very beautifully bound in mottled leather with 
brown leather backs. 

In place of the usual library card on the inner 
page of the cover, two friends were permitted to 
substitute the inscription on page 40. 





Annie Louise Cary Raymond 


her niece 

Maria Stockbridge Merrill 


This set of books thus commemorates not only the 
memory of Miss Merrill, but also of her devoted 
aunt. The second gift is the complete French and 
German library owned by Miss Merrill, the working 
library of a teacher who loved books and also good 
bindings. In each one of these books the same two 
friends were allowed to insert the inscription on 
the opposite page. 

The erection of the Merrill Memorial Gates and 
their dedication in June, 192 1, is fully told in the 
little booklet published by the Trustees and on file 
in the Library. It is not necessary to repeat the 
story here, but I wish to quote the inscription tab- 
lets on the gateposts as a fitting end to this brief 
account of the life of Miss Merrill at Abbot Academy. 





Maria Stockbridge Merrill 

Teacher of French 

in Abbot Academy 



Sarah Joy Merrill 

In Fulfillment of 

Her Sister's Wishes 

October, 1917 

On the left-hand post as one approaches the 
school grounds the following inscription occurs, 
while on the right-hand post is the message to all 
the girls of Abbot Academy : 










The final words of this sketch shall be from the girls 
themselves, as they were written for the "Courant" 
of June, 192 1 : 

"Miss Merrill was typical of the best in New 
England. Compact of virtue as of body, her intel- 
lect was keen, her spirit unfailing and her will for 
righteousness unyielding. Severity in her was 
tempered by a generous sympathy, life was light- 
ened by humour, and difficulties never met with a 
more undaunted resolution. Her religious nature 
was full and deep, and fed by constant study and 
prayer. Nothing which she read or heard was lost. 
She was quick to bring to daily conversation every- 
thing which she came across and to add by anec- 
dote and fun to its variety and cheerfulness. Her 
love for poetry was unusual and her reading of it 
wide. The school has met with a great loss, but let 
us hope that those whom she trained will come for- 
ward with the same devotion and confidence in its 
future and mission which she showed, and so shall 
her works follow her." 

Emily A. Means 

"Miss Merrill was to me an 'ideal friend.' My 
acquaintance with her began in the fall of 1882 
when I became a member of her family in old French 
Hall. There began then one of those rare friend- 
ships between teacher and scholar that means so 
much to a young girl. 

"As I look back over the years, I realize how 
much I owe to her wise guidance at that time, and 
how her love and interest influenced my religious life 
and character to a marked degree. Through all 


these thirty-four years since, our mutual love and 
friendship has deepened and broadened, and though 
our paths were often widely separated, whenever they 
did cross, we met as if there had been no break. 

"She had a wonderful hold on the lives of her 
'girls' and, with her death, they and Abbot and the 
world, have lost a rare friend." 

Pauline Whittlesey Patton, '82 

11 If I had to choose one of the crowding memories 
of Miss Merrill, it would perhaps be that of the little 
French literature class of 1892. Old Number Six 
was a somewhat gloomy room, but the moment she 
entered, it seemed full of energy and light. How her 
eyes shone with enthusiasm over fine passages, or 
with mischief as she proposed some new and star- 
tling idea, and waited to hear what we would say! 
How courteous she was to the crude opinions of 
eighteen, always disagreeing as with equals! Her 
classes were full of surprises, for she could never be 
confined to textbooks or schedules. She wanted to 
linger over appealing subjects, and make countless 
cross-lights of interest play about them — lights 
which have shone on many things in after-life. 

"Under all this freedom was a solid substructure 
of hard work, for Miss Merrill frankly appealed to 
our utmost, and had little patience with indiffer- 
ence. Following her was often like a hunt over open 
country to an inexperienced rider, but she somehow 
inspired us with zest for the adventure. She not 
only loved, but believed in us, and the passing years 
have shown more and more clearly what a constant 
and understanding friend she was." 

Mary A. Thompson, '93 


"One element in the thoroughly wholesome touch 
of Miss Merrill's life upon those associated with her, 
either as pupils or as fellow- workers, lay in her keen 
and kindly sense of humour. I have a vivid recollec- 
tion of one conference in which many positive and 
differing views had been expressed and the tension 
had increased till open rupture or lasting ill-will 
seemed close at hand, when just the right spark of 
drollery came from Miss Merrill and the atmosphere 
cleared as if by magic. That was but one of many 
instances. Often possible soreness and resentment, 
which spring up so readily, especially in young 
hearts meeting sharp opposition, melted because of 
the warm, sunny heart back of the keen word. 

"Miss Merrill's sense of duty never impelled her 
to habitual concealment of her own individuality, 
neither did it permit her to remain neutral or indif- 
ferent to any life which touched hers. Perhaps it was 
in part her spontaneous and genuine enjoyment of 
human nature, in its merry aspect as well as its seri- 
ous ones, that made her so vital a force in the lives 
of her pupils during their school days and, later, in 
their wide-world days of memory and of striving. To 
have become a part of the ideals and the daily life of 
the hundreds who today are carrying something of 
her spirit with them is to have accomplished a great 
work. Her monument is in their deep and loving 

Jane L. Greeley, '84 

"No 'old girl* who was a member of Miss Mer- 
rill's happy family at Smith Hall in the early nine- 
ties could have heard news of her sudden death 


without the sense of a great personal loss, and the 
feeling that the world is a poorer and sadder place 
because her radiant spirit has passed on its way. A 
chain of vivid memories carries me back to the small 
school world where Miss Merrill played so important 
a part that her smile or frown made or marred the 
day for each one of us, and where we unconsciously 
learned from her, day by day, by precept and ex- 
ample, the principles and ideals which have since 
stood us in such good stead in the larger world. 

M< House Mother* was an unknown term in my 
school days, but we needed a name that would ex- 
press the tender relation between Miss Merrill and 
her almost too devoted family of girls, and I, for one, 
shall always think of her as 'Mutterchen,' just as 
when we gathered around her on Sunday evening to 
hear her sing or read aloud, when we visited in her 
friendly sitting-room, or walked with her to and 
from recitations, or struggled for pride of place next 
to her at the cheerful dining-table. It was Abbot 
Academy French, as I had the satisfaction of writing 
Miss Merrill at the time, that took a party of four 
young women — two of them college graduates, 
but speechless in a foreign tongue — comfortably 
through the adventures of a first trip to Europe, 
years ago, and it has been dear Miss Merrill's influ- 
ence — so infinitely more important than all her 
faithful French lessons — that has helped, and is 
still helping to take all her 'old girls' through the 
ups and downs of the Great Adventure, Life, which 
she herself faced so triumphantly." 

Anna Tucker Nettleton, '93 



Miss McKeen remarks in her first volume that, in 
modern language, French has always been the con- 
stant quantity, and the same thing can be said at 
the present day. During the early years of the school 
the effort was made from time to time to give op- 
portunity for the study of German and even of 
Italian and Spanish, but not until the last quarter 
of the nineteenth century did German seem to gain 
a firm foundation in number of pupils. In 1871-72, 
the catalogue lists the names of ten pupils in Ger- 
man, and from that date the number, though vary- 
ing, gradually increased, until for several decades 
the French and German departments were of nearly 
the same size. The work was evidently managed for 
several years in much the same way as was the 
French. A well-trained American teacher was in 
residence and a native German aided one or more 
days in the week. In 1886, Miss McKeen secured a 
young German woman to live in the school and take 
entire charge of the work. For two years, Frl. 
Adelheid Bodemeyer was an able and delightful 
member of the Abbot faculty. When she left to 
marry James Howard, the son of Gen. O. O. Howard, 
her place was taken by Frl. Victoria Heitmuller, who 
came over from Germany expressly to teach in 
Abbot Academy. But she remained here only one 
year, and then she, too, married a young American, 


Winthrop E. Stone, who later became president of a 
western university. In the fall of 1889, for the third 
time, Miss McKeen imported a German teacher, 
Frl. Natalie Schiefferdecker from Konigsberg. From 
that time until 1910 Miss Schiefferdecker was not 
only a strong teacher of German, but she was a 
power in the daily life of Abbot Academy. In 19 10, 
she responded to the urge from within which she had 
long felt, the desire to go back to her native coun- 
try, and there she is still living (1929) at Schloss 
Pretzsch, Pretzsch an-der-Elbe, Provinz Sachsen. 
Miss Schiefferdecker came to the school after a wide 
experience in teaching and travel, having taught for 
several years in Cairo, Egypt, and in England, as 
well as in Germany. During her twenty-one years of 
teaching at Abbot Academy, the first-floor wing of 
Draper Hall was a real "German Hall," although 
the department was too large to be wholly housed on 
that corridor. Under Miss Schiefferdecker's teach- 
ing, German was a very popular subject, and she 
developed not only a classroom knowledge, but ease 
and freedom in the social use of the language. Ger- 
man plays, German picnics, frequent corridor par- 
ties, attendance at a German church in Lawrence, 
and frequent visits to a German theater in Boston 
gave many opportunities to hear and speak the 

During the last year or two of Miss Schieffer- 
decker's life here, there were young German pro- 
fessors living and working at Phillips Academy and 
they entered into a very friendly companionship 
with the German department of Abbot Academy. 
Girls of 1909 and 1910 will remember the pleasant 


social times which they had the chance to enjoy and 
which were a distinct advantage to their German 
speaking. Herr Hellmuth and Herr Doctor Steitz 
were often guests at dinner with Miss Schieffer- 
decker, and it was always the great pride of the girls 
at her table that German should be the only lan- 
guage spoken. After dinner they would enjoy Ger- 
man games and songs together, and, since the rest of 
us were allowed to listen and laugh with them, the 
whole family felt itself to be experiencing a real 
German home atmosphere. 

Miss Schiefferdecker was thoroughly German in 
work and in play, but she was greatly interested in 
everything that was characteristic of America. She 
attended football and baseball games at Phillips 
Academy because she wanted to see them, but even 
these exhibitions of American athletics did not sat- 
isfy her, and nothing would do but she must go to 
the biggest thing of its kind to be seen, a Harvard- 
Yale or a Harvard-Dartmouth game. In some way 
she secured tickets for herself and a companion and 
Miss Merrill went with her. She returned from the 
game full of enthusiasm and satisfaction that she 
had seen the big event and the big Stadium. Her 
vacations were usually spent in "seeing America" 
and every sight was thoroughly and profitably 

Her social nature helped much in making her well 
known in Andover, and she formed many strong 
friendships here. The girls of 1903 will remember 
a delightful entertainment given by the German 
department of Phillips Academy, under Mr. Walter 
Newton, and that of Abbot Academy, under Miss 


Schiefferdecker, at which a glimpse of German peas- 
ant life was presented, together with the songs 
they have loved and sung for many years. The 
history of these folk songs was given by Mr. Newton, 
and then many of them were sung by some twenty 
of the boys and girls in German peasant costume. 
In April of that same year, 1903, the Abbot seniors 
gave a translation from the German, made by Miss 
Schiefferdecker, "A Wedding Trip," as their Senior 
Play. Many are the memories of her students of 
wonderful good times under her guidance, and great 
was the regret when she announced her decision to 
return permanently to her native country in 19 10. 
Long and interesting letters came from her regularly 
to many friends, even after the beginning of the 
World War, but after a time they ceased and for 
quite a while we did not know even whether she was 
living. In the last few years, however, intercourse 
with her has been resumed to a certain extent. 



Latin: Miss Greeley 

From the very beginning of its history Abbot Acad- 
emy has had great reverence for the study of Latin 
and has insisted that every student should have at 
least an introduction to Latin literature. As far 
back as 1836 there were students reading not only 
Caesar's Commentaries, Cicero's Orations and Ver- 
gil's iEneid, but also Pliny's Letters and Sallust. 
Later, for many years there were classes studying 
Cicero's Essays, Livy, and the Odes, Epistles, and 
Satires of Horace. The changes dating from 1892 
which can be traced in all the foreign language 
courses show very significantly the effect of the 
emphasis necessarily laid upon the college pre- 
paratory work; an emphasis caused by the rapid 
growth of women's colleges. Up to the last decade 
of the nineteenth century there were always girls 
choosing to prolong their work in Latin from the love 
of the pursuit. The traditions of Miss Phebe as a 
Latin teacher have come down through the years 
and we know that her keen mind, her quick wit and 
charming humor, her fine literary taste and her 
genuine love for the old Roman, his language and 
his literature, made a lasting impression upon the 
girls whom she taught. But we also know that many 
of the teachers following Miss Phebe had a power of 
their own in the teaching of Latin. 


Miss McKeen had the gift of seeing the strong 
qualities of her students and of seizing upon them a 
few years after graduation and bringing them back 
to serve the school. Exercising this gift in 1886 she 
invited to return as teacher of Latin one who had 
shown as a student great versatility and teaching 
ability, Jane Lincoln Greeley, president of the 
class of 1884. As a member of the Faculty Miss 
Greeley not only had full charge of the work in 
Latin but she continued to give the gymnastic drill 
which she had carried on as a pupil-teacher in her 
Senior year, and she also gave some assistance to 
Mr. Downs in music. But Latin was her foremost 
interest and she made the study of this subject a 
pursuit long remembered by her pupils as something 
greatly enjoyed. At that time there were girls read- 
ing Livy and Horace as well as Ovid and Vergil be- 
cause they wished to do it, and not because the 
reading was prescribed by any college for admission 
to its doors. The atmosphere of a class reading 
Cicero's Letters or the Odes of Horace from their 
own choice was very delightful and those advanced 
classes with Miss Greeley responded with enthusi- 
asm to her scholarly teaching. 

But Jane Greeley is remembered by Abbot Girls 
not simply as a delightful teacher, but also as a 
member of the household with whom everybody 
enjoyed living and as one who relieved the routine 
life from monotony. The qualities which made her 
so successful in school life have been important 
factors in the success of the professional life which 
she entered upon after a few years of teaching. 

In June, 1893, Miss Greeley gave up teaching to 


enter the Woman's Medical College of the New York 
Infirmary for Women and Children, and from this 
college she was graduated in May, 1897, having 
earned the highest honors throughout her course. 
After serving as an Interne at a hospital she entered 
upon the general practice of medicine in Jamestown, 
New York, in the autumn of 1898. There she 
quickly built up a successful practice and there she 
is still at work. 

English: Miss Ingalls; Miss Mary E. Bancroft 

In English Literature as well as in Latin the tradi- 
tion of Miss Phebe's work — the tradition of the 
inspiration and the accuracy, the taste and the 
brilliancy of her teaching — has lasted for many 
years. The work of the English teachers who fol- 
lowed Miss Phebe between 1880 and 1890 has been 
treated by Miss McKeen. 

Edith Eliza Ingalls, a brilliant member of the 
class of 1882, was asked by Miss McKeen in 1890 to 
join the Faculty and during the next eight years she 
taught Literature and the History of Art in Abbot 
Academy. Under Miss Ingalls the literature courses 
were enlarged to include work in Anglo-Saxon, 
Middle English and Chaucer accompanied by lec- 
tures in the History of the English Language, the 
Study of Epic Poetry with lectures on the Greek 
Drama and the literature of the Italian Renaissance, 
and the work of the Senior year ended with the 
study of Poetry of the Nineteenth Century. 

Miss Ingalls's courses were followed with great 
enthusiasm by her students, and by reason of her 
own painstaking research and her untiring energy, 


she not only aroused in her pupils the desire to know, 
but she also instilled into them a real love of work as 
work. Without doubt it is true that she was an 
exacting teacher, that she demanded the utmost 
possible for a girl to give to her work, but with the 
exactions went a contagious enthusiasm and an 
abiding interest which many of her students carried 
on into mature life and have never lost. To many 
was given the power of knowing within themselves a 
permanent source of happiness. 

It was Miss Ingalls's vivid imagination and in- 
spiring guidance which helped the Seniors of 1894 
to present those memorable " Scenes from Kenil- 
worth" in their "Abbot Benefit" given to raise 
money for the McKeen Building Fund, and many 
another time did Miss Ingalls play an important 
part in the work which the girls presented in public. 

In 1898 there came to her the invitation to a very 
desirable position in Miss Emerson's School in Bos- 
ton, and, lured by the advantages of the Library 
and the Art Museum she accepted it. After some 
years in Boston Miss Ingalls went to the Ogontz 
School in Pennsylvania, where she is now teaching 

From 1898 to 1908 the English department be- 
came even more sharply defined, especially with re- 
ference to the first three years of work. In 1908 this 
part of the work was taken up by Mary Ethel 
Bancroft, a graduate from Abbot in the College 
Preparatory class of 1900 and from Smith College 
in 1904. She had spent four years (1904-08) teach- 
ing English in the High School at New Haven, Con- 
necticut, and came back to her home town well 


equipped in experience to teach in her home school. 
She is now in charge of the first three years of Eng- 
lish work and is the only Abbot Alumna upon the 
Faculty. Since the death of Miss Agnes Park in 
1922, Miss Bancroft has been serving as Secretary 
of the Alumnae Association. 

Greek — Science: Miss Hamlin; Miss Hall 

Greek was studied in the very early years of the 
school but the number of students at any one time 
has always been small. The early catalogues give 
but meager information in the matter, even as to 
the member of the Faculty teaching the subject. 
The teaching evidently fell to that member of the 
Faculty best qualified to do it and there seems al- 
ways to have been a teacher whenever there was a 
student to be taught. 

Alice Julia Hamlin, president of the class of 
1887, was invited in 1889 to return to her Alma 
Mater to teach both Greek and Science. In her 
student days the brilliant mind and fine scholarship 
of Miss Hamlin had made a strong impression upon 
all who knew her and the same characteristics were 
recognized in her teaching of Greek, Chemistry, 
Physics, and Biology, a list of subjects that would 
tax heavily the powers of a person of much experi- 
ence. But this young girl carried on the work with 
scholarly skill and youthful enthusiasm. In 1892, 
she returned to Wellesley College to complete the 
course and she received a degree in June, 1893. 
Again she came back to the work at Abbot Academy 
for the year 1893-94 and then, having won a fellow- 
ship at Cornell University, she went there to do 


advanced work in Psychology. In 1896-97 she was 
on the Faculty of Mount Holyoke College in the 
department of Psychology. 

In 1897 she married Dr. Edgar L. Hinman, a pro- 
fessor in the University of Nebraska, and she went 
to Lincoln where is still her home. Her life in Lincoln 
has been characterized by great activity in scholarly 
and educational lines. She has taught Psychology 
at the University for a few years and has been in- 
fluential in educational work connected with the 
public schools as well as with the University. The 
same stimulating effect of contact with her mind has 
been felt in the life of the city as was felt here at 
school during her student and her teaching days. 

The last name scheduled in the catalogue as 
teacher of Greek is that of an Abbot graduate, 
Delight Walkly Hall, who has the distinction 
of having received at graduation from Abbot Acad- 
emy in 1 90 1, both the Academic diploma and the 
Certificate for completing the college preparatory 
course. Miss Hall continued her studies at Mount 
Holyoke College and later took the degree of B.A. 
at Radcliffe College. From 1906 to 19 13 her name 
was on the Faculty list as teacher of Greek and in 
1909-10 she also had charge of most of the work in 
Mathematics. Since 19 13 much of her time has 
been spent teaching in a private school in Boston. 

History: Miss Chadbourne; Miss Frances 

From the beginning of the school, History has 
been an important subject of the curriculum, even 
though for many years there was no well-defined 


department of History under the care of one person, 
the history of different periods or nations being 
taught by different individuals. 

Elizabeth M. Chadbourne (1878) has twice 
served upon the Faculty, once for a year not long 
after her graduation and then again from 1892 to 
1895. During this latter period she taught History 
chiefly and was the devoted helper of Miss Watson 
through the first three years of her difficult task in 
getting adjusted to her new work. Miss Chad- 
bourne's love for her teaching, her interest in writ- 
ing and her deeply religious nature all made for the 
good of the school, but the strain of life in such a 
large family was greater than she thought it wise 
for her to endure and in 1895 she gave up the work. 
Since that time she has divided her year between 
long seasons at her summer home in North Berwick, 
Maine, and winters either in New York or New 
Jersey and she has been very successful in the con- 
duct of Bible Classes and in church work. 

Frances Marsh Bancroft (A. A. 1889, Smith, 
1894) was invited in 1895 to take up the work in 
History — Miss Watson having followed to some 
extent the custom of Miss McKeen in seeking out 
Abbot graduates to strengthen the Abbot Faculty. 
Miss Bancroft took charge not only of various 
branches of historical work, but also of classes in 
Rhetoric. A special piece of work done by her was 
the introduction of a daily theme course which made 
quite a stir in the Senior Middle Class, but Miss 
Bancroft's own enthusiasm for writing and her skill 
as a teacher, to which were added charming social 
gifts, brought marked success to the course. But 


these very gifts soon took her from Abbot Academy, 
and in 1900 she gave up the work to marry the 
Reverend William J. Long and went to Stamford, 
Connecticut, where is still her home on Noroton Hill. 



If the equipment in Science and the kind of work 
required of the student at the present time are con- 
trasted with the conditions and requirements of 
forty years ago the advancement that has been 
made is seen to be amazing. A rapid survey of the 
changing conditions makes an interesting study. 
What has been accomplished has been done largely 
by one teacher, Miss Mason, who has been hard at 
work on this development since 1894. 

As early as August, 1829, the records of the 
Trustees contain a vote to finish the basement of 
Abbot Hall for chemistry purposes. The only evi- 
dence that this room was ever used for chemistry is 
the fact that, in September, 1887, there was in it 
a long old chest containing a medley of test tubes 
and chemicals and this chest was then the only 
storage place for chemistry supplies! 

For many years among the advantages offered in 
the catalogue of the school there is stated the fact; 
that nearness to Phillips Academy gives to students 
the privilege of listening to lectures and seeing 
experiments performed in the laboratories; but in 
1879, Miss McKeen writes with her usual courtesy 
and also with her characteristic frankness, "It is a 
good thing to have good neighbors; it is still better 
not to be dependent upon them. Abbot Academy 
needs a laboratory and a philosophical room ; — an 
increase of apparatus and an endowment which 


would secure as competent a lady teacher of the 
natural sciences as the land will afford." In Sep- 
tember, 1883, the "lady teacher of the natural 
sciences" had been secured, but the conditions 
under which she had to perform her work can hardly 
be imagined by any science teacher of the present 

Isabella Graham French, a Wellesley College 
graduate, was the pioneer in helping to estab- 
lish the work in science on a firm basis in Abbot 
Academy. From 1884 to 1887 she taught Physics, 
Chemistry, Astronomy, Geology, and Botany, and 
perhaps other odds and ends of science as well as 
Algebra and Geometry, having no laboratory in 
which to work and teach and no storeroom in which 
to keep the few pieces of apparatus and the stray 
bottles of chemicals. But having the excellent pre- 
paration in science given at Wellesley College and 
also a full measure of woman's ingenuity and pa- 
tience, she did fine work even under such conditions. 

In 1887, Miss French went to Kalamazoo, 
Michigan, to become principal of Michigan Semi- 
nary and Katherine R. Kelsey came to Abbot 
Academy to take up the work in Mathematics and 
Science. She came fresh from a year's work as a 
substitute teacher in the department of Chemistry 
at Wellesley College, and the change from well- 
arranged laboratories to the chaotic condition of the 
science equipment here taxed her enthusiasm, her 
ingenuity, and her faith. Good neighbors were still 
to be found at Phillips Academy, and the practi- 
cal assistance and the counsel of Professor Graves 
helped over many hard places. As the work in- 


creased it became too much for one teacher, and in 
September, 1889, the Mathematics, Astronomy, and 
Geology were given over to Miss Kelsey, while the 
Chemistry, Physics, and Biology were undertaken 
by Alice Julia Hamlin, who since her graduation 
from Abbot Academy in 1887 had been studying at 
Wellesley College. 

During the summer of 1888, Abbot Hall was 
moved to its present position and this involved the 
addition of a basement floor in which there was 
fitted up in very meager fashion a small room which 
was dignified by the name of Laboratory for Physics 
and Chemistry. The "Courant" records that it 
was first used by the Physics class in November, 
1889, and speaks with satisfaction of the advantages 
in having the apparatus all kept in one room and of 
the greater facilities for experiments. The records 
made by the girls themselves show a steadily grow- 
ing interest in science. Visits to the Agassiz Mu- 
seum in Cambridge to study the collection in Zo- 
ology and the wonderful glass flowers are described 
enthusiastically; an inspection of the working 
laboratory of an industrial chemist, Mr. Alden, 
chemist at the Pacific Mills in Lawrence, and an 
examination of the weaving, dyeing, and printing 
departments of these mills made a very profitable 
" recreation day" — as did also another visit to the 
experiment station at Lawrence to study the method 
of purification of water. The Botany class of 1892 
had a rare treat — rarer perhaps than they knew — 
when during a visit to the Harvard Botanical Gar- 
dens they had the privilege of meeting Professor 
Asa Gray and of entering his library. 


One of the many things done by Miss McKeen 
in 1892 in preparation for the coming of Miss 
Watson was the choosing of Nellie M. Mason to 
teach Science during the absence of Miss Hamlin 
who went back to Wellesley College for a year to 
complete her course. Later, in 1894, Miss Hamlin 
permanently gave up the work and Miss Watson 
placed the Science department in charge of Miss 
Mason who had given special attention to Science 
at Wellesley and Radcliffe Colleges and was ably 
prepared for the laborious piece of work which lay 
before ; that of developing the department and keep- 
ing it abreast of the times. 

While due credit is given to the beginning of the 
work under Miss French and Miss Hamlin it is right 
to say that the great part of the work in developing 
Science has been done by Miss Mason. With the 
habits of the student and the passion of the lover of 
science for truth, and also with a genuine love for 
teaching, Miss Mason has carried on the work, 
broadening its scope, keeping it abreast of modern 
theory, and yet being constantly mindful of the 
limitations of youth. Her wide reading and quick 
sense for the permanently valuable in books have 
built up a science library well supplied with the best 
of modern scientific works. Last of all, but by no 
means least important, has been the constant feeling 
of dissatisfaction with present attainment and the 
striving for finer conditions. 

The annual reports made by Miss Watson to the 
Trustees trace in interesting fashion the steady 
growth of the work during her six years. In June, 
1893, she sent this message to the Trustees: "In 


those departments which are provided with only 
meager facilities there has been a marked disposition 
to utilize to the utmost such provision as exists. 
This has been most conspicuous in the sciences of 
Chemistry and Zoology. ... In Zoology an elective 
class for a second term's work was formed in answer 
to the appeal of twelve students who desired to 
continue the interesting work which they had be- 

During the summer of 1893 the long-felt need of 
more equipment for Physics and Chemistry was met 
by refitting the little laboratory so that it might 
serve better the demands of both subjects, and in 
1894 Miss Watson comments thus to the Trustees: 
" It would be difficult to exaggerate the advantage 
gained for the department of Chemistry in the new 
laboratory. . . . Not only has the work been done 
under more advantageous conditions but far more 
and better work has been accomplished than ever 
before and there has been a training in true scientific 
methods such as was impossible when the student 
was hampered by the inconvenience of the old 
arrangement." Then with the instinct of the true 
leader who, while recognizing the improvement 
accomplished, must not be content so long as there 
is a need to be met, she goes on to say: "The one 
department now conspicuously deficient in equip- 
ment is that of Physics. A supply of new apparatus 
to the cost of about ninety dollars is absolutely 
necessary for the work which the department should 
be doing, and could do under its able and enthusi- 
astic instructor." 

Turning again to the "Courant," we find the 


girls themselves rejoicing in the improved condi- 
tions. After describing with appreciation the im- 
proved laboratory and recounting quite vividly 
some of the experiences of the class, they end up 
with this remark: "We do not wonder that students 
from the classes before us are envious of our oppor- 
tunities. For after careful observation the authori- 
ties have reached the conclusion that we really 
know more of chemical science than the old girls 
who had no laboratory." 

In 1896, Miss Watson writes as follows: "It is 
interesting to send a communication to the Trus- 
tees which contains no request for expenditure upon 
any particular department of study, but your 
generosity combined with that of the Alumnae has 
now provided every department with a good work- 
ing equipment so that with slight occasional ex- 
penditures our needs can be kept supplied.' ' 

In 1895, the "Courant" published a scientific 
article entitled "A Laboratory Study" written by 
Grace Pearson and illustrated by drawings made 
by Nellie Campbell, two girls from the class of 1896. 
Of course articles on historical and literary subjects 
in connection with the work of different classes were 
always appearing in the "Courant," but this ac- 
count of the laboratory study of the lobster was the 
first of its kind to have the distinction of publication 
in the school magazine. 

In 1898, Miss Means, feeling that the course of 
study again needed revision in order better to meet 
the requirements for college preparation, requested 
two of the Faculty, Miss Merrill and Miss Mason, 
to work out the necessary changes. From that time 


Physics and Chemistry each ceased to be a half- 
year course and a full year of work in either one or 
the other subject was required for graduation from 
the Academic course. 

The increase in the laboratory facilities in science 
made in the few years of Miss Watson's administra- 
tion seemed at first a great advance over nothing at 
all, but soon it began to be clear that much more 
should be done. In a very short time even the small 
amount of physical apparatus outgrew the little 
laboratory and had to be kept in closets on the 
second floor and carried twice over the stairs every 
time it was used. Also the dust from the old fur- 
naces in Abbot Hall interfered with the neatness 
and good order of the apparatus as well as of the 
laboratory. When the plans for McKeen Hall were 
being studied the subject of new laboratories was 
earnestly discussed and finally the best settlement 
of the matter was made possible by the generosity 
of three loyal old girls whose names are now to be 
seen upon the tablet in Abbot Hall at the foot of the 
stairs by which every girl goes up to chapel at least 
a hundred and fifty times a year. These three gener- 
ous Alumnae made it possible to make over Abbot 
Hall into a science building in the summer of 1906. 
Two large laboratories, one for Physics and one for 
Chemistry, together with a store-room for supplies, 
were made on the second floor. On the ground floor 
there was made a large laboratory for Biology and 
another large room was fitted up for Domestic 
Science. All the rooms are well lighted and venti- 
lated and large enough to serve also as lecture and 
recitation rooms. The connection of the building 


with the central heating plant removed the great- 
est difficulty in the use and the storing of apparatus. 
Each laboratory is well equipped for its special 
purpose with modern laboratory furnishings, pro- 
viding not only for lecture room demonstration, but 
also for individual work by the student. 

In making this readjustment of the interior of 
Abbot Hall to such a very new purpose, it was a 
great advantage that Miss Mason could submit 
her plans and her wishes not simply to an architect, 
but directly to a Trustee of wide scientific know- 
ledge and great practical experience, Mr. John 
Alden, one of the leading chemists in the country. 
The great interest of Mr. Alden in this matter was 
of incalculable benefit to the school, and the com- 
bined work of Mr. Alden and Miss Mason has given 
to the Science department such a setting as has 
made possible the working out of courses of which 
the school has reason to be proud. 

As Astronomy was the first of the Sciences in 
development among the ancients so here at Abbot 
Academy it was the first to be provided with ex- 
pensive apparatus. But while Astronomy was a 
popular subject there seemed to be little interest in 
Geology, a condition which Miss Kelsey felt was 
due to the fact that proper use was not being made 
of the geological environment of the school. In the 
summer of 1898, she therefore put herself under the 
instruction of Professor Nathaniel Shaler and Mr. 
J. Edmund Woodman of Harvard University in 
order to gain a practical knowledge of the geologic 
features of the region about Boston. The next class 
in Geology responded at once to the changed 


methods of study. The glacial phenomena of An- 
dover, the ridges and the mounds and the hills took 
on a new meaning to the girls ; the glacial sand-plain 
at Ballardvale, the glacial lake basins such as 
Pomps Pond, the river plain, the outcropping of 
ancient rocks near the railroad station, were all 
interesting features to them. The study of the 
wonderful cliffs at Nahant, the broad, black Lincoln 
dike at Clifton with its convincing evidence of the 
fracture and the movement of the earth's crust, and 
the study of the sea beaches along the Lynn shore 
— all this was within the attainment of any class, 
and so a foundation was laid for the understanding 
and the enjoyment of whatever part of the earth 
one might travel over. 


Latin: Miss Fletcher; Miss Munson; Miss 
Bacon; Miss Lawrence; Miss Runner 

Each one of the five teachers of Latin between 1893 
and 191 2 was a person who made her mark upon the 
school and was a teacher of distinction in her sub- 

Caroline R. Fletcher carried on the work for two 
years with vigor and with scholarly enthusiasm, but 
in 1895 she was called to Wellesley College to teach 
Freshman Latin, and there she is still at work having 
been made recently a full professor in the Latin 

For the next three years, 1895 to 1898 the de- 
partment was ably conducted by Maud A. Munson 
who later became connected with a school in Se- 
wickley, Pennsylvania. 

Following Miss Munson there came in 1898, a 
young Smith College graduate, Mabel G. Bacon, 
whose scholarly feeling and youthful enthusiasm 
gave her great power over her pupils. For five years 
she taught Latin with delight in the work, and she 
guided and trained a young Glee Club besides 
assisting in the life of the school in various other 
ways. In 1903 she resigned from the Faculty to 
marry Philip F. Ripley of Andover, and now she is 
not only a near neighbor of the school, but for sev- 
eral years she has been more closely connected with 


it by the enrollment of her older daughter in the 
class of 1928 and the younger in 1930. 

Fanny Louise Lawrence, a graduate of Rad- 
cliffe, taught Latin and also some Greek for the 
next four years, 1903-07, with the same exactness, 
youthful enthusiasm, and scholarly attainments as 
had been shown by Miss Bacon, and she reached the 
same satisfactory results. Her career as a teacher of 
Latin and Greek was given up in 1907 when she 
married Robert D. Reynolds of Boston. 

In 1907, Olive G. Runner, from the University 
of Wisconsin, succeeded to the care of the Latin 
work, and she became a highly-valued and much- 
enjoyed member of the Faculty. Her scholarly de- 
mands upon her pupils and her inspiring personality 
in the daily life of the school have made many girls 
greatly indebted to her. During the year 1911-12, 
Miss Runner was absent from the school, trav- 
eling in Europe and also studying for a time 
at the Classical School in Rome, and during this 
period her work was carried on by Rachel A. 
Dowd, a Mount Holyoke graduate. Miss Runner 
returned to the school in September, 1912, with in- 
creased inspiration for her work, but in 191 5 she 
was forced to give up the position because of ill 
health. Her old pupils will be interested to know 
that at present she is living in Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, and that she has recently acquired a charming 
summer home in Pleasant Valley, Connecticut, in 
the lower hills of the continuation of the lovely 
Berkshire region. 


Greek: Miss Hutchison; Miss Franklin; 
Miss Terrill 

In 1892, the Trustees wished to emphasize the 
College Preparatory Department by emphasizing 
Greek and they elected to the Faculty, Katharine 
Hutchison, a graduate of Monmouth College in 
Illinois and a former professor of Greek in Albert 
Lea College, Minnesota. Miss Hutchison was an 
able teacher of both Greek and Latin, but ill health 
obliged her to resign from the work in 1894. Later, 
she was able to continue her studies in the graduate 
department of Chicago University, some of her work 
being in Philosophy, under Professor Dewey. 

Although Ruth B. Franklin carried the work in 
Greek for one year only, 1895-96, she belongs on the 
honor roll for teachers by reason of the quality of her 
work and life in Abbot Academy. At the end of her 
year here it was necessary for her to return to her 
home and former position in Newport, Rhode Island. 

For the four years, 1 896-1 900, Greek was taught 
by Bertha M. Terrill, a Mount Holyoke gradu- 
ate, but Miss Terrill's interests soon led her in other 
directions of work, and in 1900 she left Abbot to 
carry on studies in Domestic Science and Home 
Economics in the School of Pedagogy at Hartford, 
Connecticut. She also spent one year in Chicago 
University where she held a fellowship and from 
which she received an M.A. degree. The results of 
original investigations carried on by Miss Terrill 
have been published by the United States Govern- 
ment, and she is also the author of a volume in "The 
Library of Home Economics. 1 ' Since 1909 she has 
been Professor of Home Economics at the Univer- 


sity of Vermont and is still doing very able work in 
that position. 

English: Miss Chickering; Miss Howey 

The resignation of Miss Ingalls from the Faculty 
in 1898 was followed by the choice of Rebekah 
Munroe Chickering (Bryn Mawr), who from 
1898 to 1904 conducted the work of the Senior 
Middle and Senior Classes in Literature and History 
and ably continued the traditions of the school in 
these departments. From 1904 to 1906, Miss Chick- 
ering was absent from the school but upon her return 
she took up the direction of the English work of the 
College Preparatory department and also the Aca- 
demic Senior History. As the College Preparatory 
department has increased in numbers the impor- 
tance of the English work and its demands upon the 
time and energy of the head of the department have 
greatly increased, but Miss Chickering's interests 
are varied and her influence is felt in many lines of 
school work and play, not forgetting debating and 
athletics ! 

During the absence of Miss Chickering from 1904 
to 1906, the work which had been in her care was 
given into the hands of Martha M. Howey, a 
Smith College graduate. From 1904 to 19 12 and for 
many years beyond that date, Miss Howey had full 
charge of the work in Academic Senior "Middle and 
Senior Literature and English, and from September, 
1905, she taught the Senior History of Fine Arts. In 
this subject she developed her own plan and pub- 
lished it in the form of two pamphlets. The first 
one was called "An Outline of the Development of 


Architecture in Europe, " and the second was "An 
Outline of the Development of Painting in Europe." 
In 1908, the opening of the John-Esther Art Gallery 
— a modern fireproof building — made it possible, 
aided by the income of the "McKeen Art Fund," 
to have occasional exhibitions of the work of mod- 
ern artists which Miss Howey was efficient in ar- 

The requirement that every member of the Senior 
English class should plan and write a play may have 
been considered by some members of the class as a 
stern and exacting requirement, yet every girl did 
the work each year and many times the most suc- 
cessful plays caused great surprise to their authors. 
The two or three best plays each year were produced 
upon the Davis Hall stage under the supervision of 
their authors. Miss Howey's enthusiasm for liter- 
ature and art and her love for work inspired her 
pupils and developed the same traits in them. 
Scores of Abbot Alumnae are grateful to her for 
having roused in them a love for good books and 
an interest in the best art. 

From September, 1910, to January, 1912, Miss 
Howey was absent from the school, part of the time 
in Europe studying and traveling, and her work 
here was carried on by Edith E. Metcalf, a 
Wellesley graduate. In 1922-23, Miss Howey had 
the interesting and enriching experience of teaching 
in Kobe College in Japan, after which she returned 
to the school for two more years of work. In 1925, 
she decided to try life in California and went to 
teach in the Katharine Branson school at Ross 
where she greatly enjoys having her own home. 


The names which follow in connection with the 
work in English, History, and Greek show very 
clearly that time is a variable factor in estimating 
the value of work done in the school. Only two of 
these teachers served here more than two years, yet 
each one made her own individual, valuable contri- 
bution to the life and work of the school. 

From 1899 to 190I1 Florence Webster Gay, a 
graduate of Smith College and a resident of An- 
dover, assisted in English and History and did 
most painstaking and valuable work in these sub- 

When Frances Bancroft left the school in 1900, her 
work in History and Rhetoric was undertaken by 
Melita Knowles, of Radcliffe College, and was 
carried on by her with great success for five years. 
In 1905, Miss Knowles went to Miss Head's School 
in Berkeley, California. After a few years of life on 
the Pacific Coast, she returned to the East, teaching 
for a time at the Brearley School in New York and 
later at The Bancroft School in Worcester. 

Immediately following Miss Knowles came Mary 
Rutter Towle for one year. In June, 1906, she 
left to take up the study of Law, and this profes- 
sion she has been following for some years. 

From 1901 to 1903, the College English work as 
well as some Greek was in charge of Ellen Isabel 
Tryon, a Radcliffe College graduate. Miss Tryon 
is well remembered by her pupils of those two years, 
not only for her thorough and enthusiastic teaching, 
but also for her delightful companionship. In 1903, 
lured by the possibility of daily life at home in 
Cambridge with her parents, Miss Tryon left Abbot 


to join the staff of the English High School for Girls 
in Boston. 

Ethel Dean Converse, also a Radcliffe gradu- 
ate, took up the work of Miss Tryon and carried it 
on for three years (1903-06), with great satisfaction 
and pleasure to both students and teachers. In 
1906, Miss Converse was married to Mr. William 
W. Rockwell, a professor and later the librarian of 
the Union Theological Seminary in New York. 

The English work was then taken in part by 
Miriam Titcomb, graduate of Smith College. In 
1908, the school regretted greatly the loss of her 
vigorous teaching and her cheerful, delightful 
companionship. The death of her father made it 
necessary for her to be at home for a year, but later 
she became principal of The Bancroft School, a 
college preparatory day school in Worcester. After 
having developed the school most successfully 
she resigned in 1926, and in September, 1927, she 
undertook a similar work in Cincinnati where she is 
now building up a school after her own heart. 

French: Miss Payne; Miss Sherman 

Miss Merrill left Abbot Academy in June, 1907, 
after having taught French in it for twenty-nine 
years, and in September there came to take up the 
work a Vassar graduate, Harriet Lord Payne, who 
remained here two years. Miss Payne had lived 
many years in Italy and had also spent some time 
in France, and her knowledge of French, German, 
and Italian made her a valuable teacher. She also 
contributed much of interest and pleasure to the 
life of the school. Wishing to be nearer to New York 
she gave up the work here in 1909. 


Following Miss Payne in September, 1909, came 
Gertrude E. Sherman, a graduate of Mount 
Holyoke College who had continued her studies at 
the University of Berlin and at the Alliance Fran- 
chise in Paris and had also taught several years, and 
thus she brought to the school the benefits of a 
valuable experience. Miss Sherman had inherited 
from her father, Professor Frank A. Sherman, Pro- 
fessor of Mathematics at Dartmouth College, a real 
love of learning and an unusual ability for teaching. 
Many girls who studied French during the eight 
years in which it was taught by Miss Sherman will 
remember not only the careful training which she 
gave them, but also the life and enthusiasm of her 
teaching. She had a personality of great charm and 
dignity and her influence was widely felt in the 
school. The last two years of Miss Sherman's life 
here were spent in Sherman Cottage, a small house 
on the grounds which was opened for use in 191 5 
and put in charge of Miss Sherman and her mother 
and named for them. Loss of health made it neces- 
sary for Miss Sherman to give up the work at Abbot 
in 191 7, and her leaving was a matter of great re- 
gret to the school. For several years she lived in 
Springfield and after a while she was able to teach 
some French classes in the High School where her 
work was highly valued. The news of her sudden 
death from pneumonia in March, 1 923, brought 
much sorrow to all who knew her. 

Physical Education and Elocution: Miss Utter 

This work was undertaken by Sarah S. Utter 
for two years, 1910-12, after Miss Durfee left the 


school. Miss Utter was a post-graduate of the New 
Haven Normal School of Gymnastics and had been 
trained in medical corrective work by Doctor Arnold 
of Yale University. She came to Abbot after four 
years of experience in teaching, full of enthusiasm 
for the regular work and for the out-door sports, and 
able to impart her enthusiasm to her pupils. Miss 
Utter also took charge of the elocution classes, 
drilled the Draper Readers and coached the plays 
successfully. At the end of two years she was mar- 
ried to Mr. Charles M. Fletcher of Canaan, Ver- 
mont, and Abbot regretted her leaving the school. 
Mr. Fletcher lived but a few years and in 1919, she 
came back for another two years, her life having 
been greatly enriched by experiences of joy and of 
sorrow and by the broader outlook given by months 
of service in France after the War. She is now living 
in California as Mrs. Miller Colby, happy in her 
home and in the possession of a small daughter. 



Evelyn Farnham Durfee came to Abbot Acad- 
emy in the fall of 1893 to direct the work in Elocu- 
tion and in Gymnastics. She was a graduate of the 
Boston School of Oratory and of the Posse School 
of Gymnastics and hence was well prepared for the 
two quite different branches of work; a condition 
not easily fulfilled in one person in later times. Her 
work in Gymnastics is mentioned again in a later 
chapter so that here we give attention only to the 
Elocution work. 

During the long period of the years from 1865 to 
1892, the work in Elocution had been limited to one 
large class held in Abbot Hall once a week during 
the spring term, and to the private instruction given 
to the ten Draper Readers by the teacher, Professor 
Churchill. With the coming of a resident teacher it 
was possible to have smaller classes taught once a 
week throughout the year. Miss Durfee showed at 
once her ability to arouse an interest in this work 
which steadily increased during the year and culmi- 
nated in the Draper Readings at Commencement 
time. There was also a growing interest in the pro- 
ducing of English plays as well as of French and 
German plays which had long been a part of the 
work of the foreign language departments. Miss 
Durfee had a remarkable instinct in the assignment 
of roles to see the hidden power of adaptation of 


each girl chosen to the part assigned, and her own 
dramatic ability was quite unusual. Certainly it 
was not due to frequent visits to the professional 
theater for she rarely, if ever, attended the theater 
during all the years she was at Abbot Academy, yet 
all could see that she loved it. The few occasions 
when she read to the school on Saturday afternoons 
were red-letter days for the girls, and now and then 
her impromptu acting on a Tuesday evening gave 
great pleasure to the family. 

Those who saw her in a selection from Frank 
Stockton's "Casting Away of Mrs. Leeks and Mrs. 
Aleshine" have never forgotten it. 

Miss Durfee's great interest in philanthropic work 
was another of her strong characteristics. She it was 
who superintended "The Scotland District Sunday 
School," as conducted by some of the girls for sev- 
eral years, and also the distribution of the Thanks- 
giving Dinners contributed by the girls for needy 
families in Andover and Ballard vale, but her many 
generous deeds in private were only guessed at by 
the family. 

In 19 10, she gave up her work in the school and 
returned to her home and the care of her mother, 
and has frequently in these later years been engaged 
in educational work in her town. She is now living 
a somewhat lonely life since the death of her mother 
and only brother, in the town of Jefferson in Maine. 



For fifteen years (1877-92) the work in Drawing 
and Painting was carried on by Miss Emily Means. 
In 1892, she left Andover to live in New York and 
New Jersey, and at the request of the Trustees she 
secured her successor in the work, Miss Angelica 
Schuyler Patterson, who, like Miss Means, was 
an artist trained in the art centers of Europe by the 
best modern teachers. Miss Patterson brought to 
the work not only technical ability and a well-trained 
taste, but also a rare personality which made the 
hours spent with her each week an opportunity for 
great enjoyment and advance in many more lines 
than that of Drawing and Painting. In the fall of 
1896, Miss Patterson had leave of absence and 
traveled in Spain, Italy, and Sicily, and on her re- 
turn she shared with the entire school the results of 
her journey in quest of the beautiful and picturesque 
by exhibiting the sketches in oil which she had made. 

In the winter of 1896, Mr. Draper gave a reluctant 
consent to the painting of his portrait and began 
sittings with Miss Patterson in the studio at Draper 
Hall. When the portrait was finished, it was hung 
in the corridor beside the library door in Draper 
Hall and it has for many years given great pleasure 
to his friends. 

In 1 90 1 or 1902, Miss Patterson made an interest- 
ing portrait of Bishop Brent to be hung in the vestry 


of the Church of Saint Stephen in Boston, the church 
from which he went to take up the work of Bishop 
in the Philippine Islands. She also became much in- 
terested in mural decorations and did quite a little 
work in this line, taking for subjects angels as types 
of great attributes. 

During the fall of 1904, Miss Patterson suddenly 
decided to travel again and planned "to paint her 
way" around the world. In January, 1905, she 
started towards India, and the story of her experi- 
ences that year is most interesting. One tale that is 
recalled is this: on shipboard she formed the ac- 
quaintance of a dignitary from Ceylon and, as a 
result of the pleasant friendship which was devel- 
oped, she agreed to stop for a month at his palace 
on the island in order to paint the portrait of his 
mother-in-law. This work gave her a wonderful 
opportunity to become acquainted with native high 
life on this island and she witnessed some of their 
customs and ceremonies which are rarely seen by 
the traveler. 

In recent years Miss Patterson has been teach- 
ing at Dana Hall and living in her own home in 



For many years the history of the department of 
music was the story of the life and work of Mr, 
Downs, who came to the school in September, i860, 
and was the soul and body of the work in music for 
forty-seven years until his resignation in June, 1907. 
The history of his work is a most remarkable one. 
When he came Miss McKeen had lived here but two 
of her thirty-three years as principal, and together 
for thirty-one years they worked in perfect harmony, 
having the same desire to bring to Andover and the 
school the best music of the country and to develop 
in Abbot girls the power to appreciate it and the 
taste to love it. The six years of work with Miss 
Watson and the ten years with Miss Means had the 
same characteristics. 

The amount of work accomplished by Mr. Downs 
seems extraordinary. The first catalogue of the 
school in which the number of pupils in music is 
given is that of 1862-63 and in this the names of 
eighteen pupils in instrumental music are recorded. 
The next year there were forty-two studying piano 
and two taking vocal lessons. In 1867, the total 
number studying music was seventy-one. From 
year to year the number varied somewhat, but it was 
evident that the department was on a firm basis 
before the end of the first decade of Mr. Downs's 


The catalogue of 1884 contains the first mention of 
pupils in Harmony, four being recorded, with nine 
in vocal music and twenty-four in piano. In 1889, 
there was a class of sixteen in Harmony. In 1892 
occurs the first record of a violin pupil even though 
no violin teacher's name appears on the faculty list. 
In 1893-94, there was a total enrollment in the 
school of one hundred and forty pupils, out of which 
number there were twelve studying vocal music, 
forty-two taking piano lessons, four studying violin 
and eight in the harmony class. The catalogue of 
1892-93 for the first time lists the name of a violin 
teacher, Miss Jennie B. Ladd, later known as Mrs. 
Parmelee. In 1897-98 occurs the first recorded name 
of a pupil on the organ. In 1902-03, Mrs. Parmelee 
after ten years of very acceptable work resigned and 
her place was taken by S. Edwin Chase, who was 
listed as teacher of violin, mandolin, and guitar, until 


In 1907, after Mr. Downs had resigned the work, 
it was found necessary to give it in charge of two 
teachers, Professor Joseph N. Ashton taking the 
direction of the department, and teaching piano, 
organ, and harmony, while Mrs. Alice Wentworth 
MacGregor taught the vocal pupils. This brief 
outline of bare facts gives to the thoughtful person a 
feeling of amazement that one person could carry 
on the amount of work done by Mr. Downs and yet 
always seem full of fire and enthusiasm. And it 
should also be noted that most of this time, from 
1869 to 1908, he was doing similar work at Bradford 

Mr. Downs was a teacher, a performer, and a 


composer of music. Of his power as a teacher you 
may ask testimony from a thousand pupils and 
receive the same word of heartfelt gratitude and 
appreciation in answer. Ask the town of Andover, 
and the "Townsman" gives the following answer in 
its issue of February 4, 1910: "Mr. Downs had been 
more than any other one citizen in town, a leader for 
many years in the musical life of Andover. His 
recitals gave pleasure not alone to the students of 
the institution where he was for so long a time a 
teacher, but to hundreds of other music lovers. But 
for his influence Andover could never have enjoyed 
the many masters that have come here to play and 
sing ; but for his enthusiastic interest many forms of 
entertainment in the last twenty years would have 
lacked the essential that changed them from the 
ordinary performance to a genuine treat." 

One of the evidences of Mr. Downs's power was 
his ability to gain control and response from a 
hundred girls, changing them in a moment of time 
from the careless, indifferent youth to the alert, 
responsive, musically sensitive chorus producing an 
effect electrifying the listener. To many girls the 
singing of hymns became an act of real devotion 
through his enlightening influence. Sometimes even 
to-day as one enters Abbot Hall it seems as if the 
very walls must give forth a response as certain 
hymns are sung. Who that has seen him at morning 
chapel can ever forget the glow upon his face and 
the ring of his vibrant, sympathetic voice as he asked 
for the interpretation he desired for such lines as: 

"When peace shall over all the earth 
Its ancient splendors fling"; 


or again, is there one to whom the old feeling of 
exaltation does not return whenever she hears the 
hymn in which occurs the refrain, 

"All rapture through and through 
In God's most holy sight." 

Since 1 876, when Mr. Downs established the 
custom of bringing to the school the best musical 
talent to be obtained, a series of three concerts a 
year has been given in the school at a price to the 
students less than would be paid for one such concert 
at Symphony Hall in Boston. While it is true that 
Mr. Downs's wide circle of musical friends and his 
invincible determination to have the best, made it 
possible for him to secure the best artists at most 
favorable terms, yet it is also true that the question 
of meeting expenses never influenced him in arrang- 
ing for a concert, and neither did he call upon the 
school treasury to make up deficits. Instead, he, 
quietly and with a smiling face, made up the loss 
himself and never spoke of it, being perfectly con- 
tent with the fact that the beautiful concert had 
been given to Andover and the school and had been 
thoroughly appreciated. In those days Andover 
recognized this series of concerts as the great 
musical opportunity of the winter and patronized it 

Of his work as a composer the writer is not suffi- 
ciently instructed to give a criticism, neither is it 
necessary. The school and its friends still pay tribute 
to his work at the end of every commencement 
service when the young girls who have just received 
their diplomas face the audience and sing the 


"parting hymn," "Father I know that all my life, 
Is portioned out for me." Since 1876 the school has 
sung these words set to music by Mr. Downs, and 
this is one of the strands of the cord of custom which 
stretches down the years and binds the past with 
the present. 

One of the last bits of work and of pleasure en- 
joyed by Mr. Downs was the writing of the music 
for Mary Sweeney's poem, "The Slumber Fairies." 

The friendship between Mr. Downs and the well- 
known pianist, Mr. Ernst Perabo, often brought the 
latter to Andover on the Abbot concert programme. 
One of the most memorable of these occasions was 
the "farewell concert" by Mr. Alwin Schroeder, 
the famous 'cellist, with Mr. Perabo at the piano, on 
May 2, 1907. It was indeed a farewell, for it was the 
last of the concerts given under Mr. Downs's direc- 
tion as he retired from the work of the school in 
June of that same year; and it was a concert of rare 

After the death of Mr. Downs on October 30, 
1909, it was proposed to raise a memorial to him in 
the form of a fund for the support and extension of 
the recitals which he had conducted for the school 
and the town of Andover and its vicinity, for more 
than thirty years. Contributions were invited and 
the fund was designated by the Trustees as the 
Samuel Morse Downs Recital Fund and the income 
from it has been used for several years to supplement 
the maintenance of this series of concerts. In the 
spring of 19 10, Mr. Perabo requested the privilege 
of honoring the memory of Mr. Downs by giving a 
concert at the school, and invitations and tickets of 


admission were sent out to the friends in Andover 
and its vicinity. On the afternoon of April 21, 19 10, 
there gathered in Davis Hall a great company of 
friends to join with the school and with Mr. Perabo 
in a " Recital in honor of the service and Memory of 
Samuel Morse Downs, Teacher in Abbot Academy 
1860-1907, and in Bradford Academy 1869-1908." 
Mr. Perabo was assisted by two members of the 
Boston Symphony Orchestra, Fred L. Mahn, 
violinist and Carl Barth, 'cellist. The programme 
was made up of four numbers : 

1. Sonata in D minor, Op. 31. No. 2 Beethoven 

2. Sonata for Piano and 'Cello, Op. 183. . Raff 

3. Elegy for Violin and Piano, Op. 10. . . . Ernst 

4. Trio in B Flat, Op. 99 Schubert 

The concert cannot be described, but the memory 
of it will never be lost ; its dignity, its solemnity, and 
its great beauty are possessions forever for those who 
heard it. After the concert Mr. Perabo as his final 
act to honor his friend made the first contribution 
to the fund which the friends of Mr. Downs had 
just expressed the desire to raise. At the same time 
that the concert was given by Mr. Perabo, the fol- 
lowing poem was published by another friend long 
and widely known in literary circles, Mr. Nathan 
Haskell Dole: 



"When those who play the sweet- voiced lyre 
Or sing the heart-entrancing lay 
Are taken from our earth away, 
Who fill their places in the choir? 


"We who have loved them miss them long; 
Their faces never wholly fade; 
We hear the harmonies they made, 
The beauty of their silver song. 

"The birds remind us of their notes, 
The waterfalls their themes recite, 
And on the mystery of the Night 
A tender memory of them floats. 

11 Each one who bore his gracious part 
To weave the wondrous web of sound 
Stands forth with laurel-fillets crowned 
A faithful priest of lyric Art! 

"So thou, dear friend of many days, 
Content in haunts remote to dwell 
And fill thy modest mission well 
Accept this sheaf of love and praise. 

"We come to bring thee dewy flowers, 

To waft sweet fragrance o'er thy shrine, 
Fresh wreaths around thy name to twine, 
And link the present with past hours. 

"Hail and farewell, O Master dear! 

The instrument thou play'd'st is mute; 
But in these cloisters we salute 
Thy spirit which still lingers here!" 

Looking over the many concert programmes of 
the twenty years, 1892-19 12, impresses one with 
the great opportunity given to Abbot girls to hear 
in their school home many of the best musicians 
who were performing in Boston and New York dur- 
ing the period. The concerts by string quartets are 
most interesting and probably among the most 
difficult of comprehension, but the school was 


always carefully instructed in advance by Mr. 
Downs, and later by Mr. Ash ton, to have some 
knowledge and appreciation of the programme in 
order that all might get the most possible benefit 
and pleasure from the concert. 

The Kneisel Quartet was at the height of its 
reputation and the school was most fortunate to 
hear it here in Andover several times during the 
twenty years. The sight of one of the 1903 pro- 
grammes on which occurs a quartet by C6sar Franck 
brings back the vision of Mr. Downs's face as he 
spoke in morning chapel of having heard this com- 
position played by the Kneisels a few days earlier in 
Boston, and said that he never again expected to 
have such a glimpse of Heaven. When the afternoon 
came and we heard this number, some in the school 
knew what Mr. Downs meant. 

After the erection of the November Club House, 
the concerts were given for some years in that build- 
ing, but in 1906 the Kneisel Quartet gave its first 
concert in Davis Hall, and since that time all school 
concerts have been given in that hall. The Boston 
String Quartet also played here in 1906 and The 
Longy Club, the Wood Wind Choir of the Symphony 
Orchestra, gave a marvelous concert in 1909. 

The usual plan for the three recitals of the year 
was to have one piano recital by an acknowledged 
master, one by stringed instruments and one vocal 
concert. The list of pianists is long and includes the 
best-known names of the period, and the same is 
true of solo players of stringed instruments. Alwin 
Schroeder, for so many years the renowned 'cello 
player of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, has al- 


ready been named. In the late nineties, Anton 
Witek, the then new concert master of the Boston 
Symphony Orchestra, and Mme. Witek, a cele- 
brated Danish pianist, gave their first concert in 
America at Abbot Academy. In 1909 a musical 
entertainment quite unusual in character was given 
by Mr. and Mrs. Arnold Dolmetsch to illustrate the 
beauty of four quaint old instruments, the harpsi- 
chord, the clavichord, the viola da gamba, and the 
viola d'amore. 

One of Mr. Downs' s favorites for a vocal concert 
was Max Heinrich, who came many times to An- 
dover. That townspeople also felt affection for him 
is evident from the comments in the local newspaper. 
The "Townsman" speaks of his marvelous interpre- 
tation of the "Erl Koenig" and of the beauty of his 
singing "Where'er You Walk," saying that "the 
hall was illuminated as if from a celestial source." 

The two names of vocalists of unusual interest to 
Abbot students are those of Mrs. Alice Wentworth 
MacGregor, the accomplished singer and teacher of 
vocal music in the school for five years, and Mrs. 
Ruth Thayer Burnham, the present vocal teacher. 
Mrs. Burnham's first concert for Abbot Academy 
was given in 1904, many years before she came upon 
the Faculty of the school. 



When Mr. Downs gave up his teaching it was neces- 
sary to reorganize the department of Music. Mr. 
Joseph N. Ashton, a graduate of Brown University 
and a post-graduate of Harvard, became head of the 
department and teacher of piano, organ and chorus 
work. Mr. Ashton had studied with Arthur Foote 
and Professor Hamilton and had been head of the 
Music Department at Brown University until that 
work was given up by the University because of lack 
of funds. Mr. Ashton entered into his new work with 
interest, enthusiasm and skill and proved himself a 
worthy successor of Mr. Downs, to whom he gave 
a deference and appreciative attention that was a 
source of real support during the last months of Mr. 
Downs's life. 

Mr. Ashton had many interests as an organist and 
a writer of books on music and he finally resigned his 
work of teaching at Abbot in June, 1922, to devote 
his time to other things. 

In 1907, the teaching of vocal music was under- 
taken by Mrs. Alice Wentworth MacGregor 
who had studied with Mme. Marchesi and who 
was well known in the concert halls of Boston and 
also as a church singer. Her beautiful voice as well 
as her knowledge of music contributed greatly to the 
pleasure of studying with her, and she was generous 
in giving recitals for the school. For a part of the 


five years that Mrs. MacGregor was here she was 
assisted, not only in teaching but in her recitals, by 
Miss Laura E. Shawe. In 1911-12, Miss Mabel 
Adams Bennett substituted for Mrs. MacGregor 
for a few months and the next year, 191 2-1 3, she 
took entire charge of the vocal work. Miss Bennett 
was an enthusiastic, faithful worker, always ready 
to give freely of her time and energy in teaching the 
individual pupil and in training the Glee Club, and 
she became a real force in the school life. 



The office of Secretary to the Principal was of slow 
development and usually the person who performed 
that work did a great many other things not "nom- 
inated in the bond." The first person to be listed in 
the catalogue as Librarian was also assistant to the 

Mabelle Ethelyn Bosher was graduated in the 
class of 1894, and after a year of study at Radcliffe 
College, she returned to Abbot in 1895, to be a gen- 
eral helper to Miss Watson and to care for the 
library, but during the ten years that Miss Bosher 
was in the school, she did a host of other things. 
Always greatly interested in outdoor sports, she was 
ready at all times to assist in coaching the games, 
and her vigorous enthusiasm helped greatly in the 
conduct of the games played with Bradford. The 
last year she was in the school, she also assisted the 
school Treasurer by attending to some of the routine 
work of the office. 

The moving of the Library in 1890 from its 
cramped quarters in Abbot Hall into what seemed to 
be a spacious room with ample shelves encouraged 
its more rapid growth, and in 1893 the first card 
catalogue was made. But by 1901, continued 
growth made it seem wise to have a more flexible 
system of arrangement and the Dewey system of 
cataloguing was introduced. The work of recata- 


loguing was undertaken by Kathleen Jones, A.A. 
'89, assisted by Miss Bosher, and together they re- 
classified and recatalogued about three thousand 
books in six weeks of the summer of 1901. 

In 1905, Miss Bosher resigned from her work at 
Abbot to travel a while, and later she became Secre- 
tary to the President of Colorado College. In 1907- 
08, she was connected with Miss Head's School at 
Berkeley, California, and in 1908, she was called to 
be Principal of Kawaiahao Seminary in Honolulu. 
This position she filled with great success for the 
school and great enjoyment to herself for several 
years. In 191 6, she was married to the Reverend 
Doremus Scudder, and since that time she has led a 
varied and interesting life in many different parts of 
the world. 

In 1902, Agnes E. Slocum, a Smith College 
graduate, came into the school to serve as Secretary 
to the Principal, helper in the Library, basket-ball 
coach, and helper in many other ways. Miss Slocum 
was most useful and was greatly beloved by Principal, 
faculty, and students. In 1906, she was married to 
Mr. Maurice B. Biscoe and for several years her 
home was in Denver, Colorado, but is now near 

Miss Slocum was followed by Charlotte L. 
Root, a graduate of Mount Holyoke College, and 
of Miss Root the same pleasant things can be said. 
In 191 1 she, too, left Abbot to marry Mr. Frank O. 
Patton and her home is now not far from Boston. 

The secretaryship and the care of the Library 
were then given into the hands of an Abbot grad- 
uate, Edith L. Gutterson, of the class of 1908. 


Having lived many years in the school, she knew it 
intimately and could adapt herself quickly to every 
situation and thus had an advantage over a stranger 
to the school. In 191 2, Miss Gutterson went to 
Wellesley College as assistant in the Art Library 
and at the same time she took college courses in the 
History of Art. A trained Secretary and a trained 
Librarian who could give each one her entire atten- 
tion to her particular work were secured soon after 
Miss Bailey came to be Principal. 



When Miss McKeen left the school in 1892, she left 
behind her to help the new principal a housekeeper 
who had lived two years in Draper Hall and nearly 
forty years in Smith Hall. 

Miss Angelina Kimball came to Smith Hall in 
1855 to assist the housekeeper, and in i860, she as- 
sumed the entire care of the housekeeping, a posi- 
tion which she held until the Smith Hall family 
moved into Draper Hall in 1890 and then she took up 
the care of the much larger house and carried it until 
1 90 1, thus working not only with Miss McKeen, but 
also with Miss Watson and Miss Means. 

Miss Kimball was a thorough-going, old-fashioned 
New England housekeeper; she preserved fruits and 
made jelly and mended the carpets in the summer 
vacation, and during term time the nicest desserts 
and the daintiest cakes were always made by her 
own hands ; no record of her accomplishments seems 
complete without noting that she was celebrated for 
her delicious sponge cake! In those earlier Smith 
Hall days she spent much time and strength in car- 
ing for the possessions of the school that they might 
last just as long as possible. Her thrift, her excellent 
judgment and her "immaculate housekeeping," as 
Miss McKeen has described it, were of the greatest 
service to the school. Not only did she manage her 
own department successfully, but her advice and 


counsel were sought in all parts of the school life by 
Principal, teacher, and even Trustee. Her strong 
common sense, her excellent judgment, her sym- 
pathy and her humor were helpful to all. With all 
her many cares she always found time to "mother" 
the girls. Every girl knew her and it was the 
natural thing to go to her for sympathy and help in 
trouble and to share with her one's pleasures. When 
the big Draper Hall was opened, Miss Kimball 
would have given up the work, but Miss McKeen 
would not consent to go into the new building without 
her. Together they had worked for it, watched over 
its slow growth, and then, at its completion, with 
great effort, they had made ready its furnishings, 
and together they must live in it. After going 
through that first year of getting adjusted to the new 
home and making it comfortable for the family, 
Miss Kimball ventured upon a journey to Europe 
and was gone for several months. Her work was 
carried on successfully by Mrs. Mary E. Todd dur- 
ing the fall of 1891, but in January, 1892, Miss Kim- 
ball returned to it greatly refreshed and enriched by 
the months of travel. 

In 1893, there came to assist her in the work Mrs. 
Mary E. Minott, who remained until 1895, when 
the care of the dining-room and kitchen was as- 
sumed by Mrs. Augusta M. Dowd, who was here 
until June, 1902. For the last two or more years of 
her life at Draper Hall, Miss Kimball was relieved 
of the care of the housekeeping and simply gave 
pleasure to the family by living with them. In 1904, 
she left the school to live in Andover and here she 
died on August 8, 1909. 


Mrs. William G. Abbott was in charge of the 
housekeeping at Draper Hall from October, 1901, 
until January, 1904, and then later the entire care of 
the house and the buying was taken by Miss Helen 
L. Burr who came into the school in September, 
1904. Miss Burr was specially trained for this work 
and she was very active and efficient in her life and 
work here. She was the first to give a regular course 
in cooking and taught a voluntary class on recrea- 
tion day. She left Abbot in 1906 to become Dean of 
one of the halls for women at Whitman College in 
the State of Washington. 

In 1906, we welcomed to the school one who filled 
the position of housekeeper with grace and efficiency, 
Miss Philana McLean of Mansfield, Ohio. Miss 
McLean was thoroughly trained in modern institu- 
tional housekeeping and buying, and she added much 
to the social life of the family. She remained with us 
until ill health forced her to give up the work in 191 9. 

Before the end of the year 1891-92, the matron in 
charge of Smith Hall, Miss Sara E. Graves, was 
obliged to give up the work because of ill health. In 
September, 1892, the care of Smith Hall was under- 
taken by Miss Mary Elizabeth Kelsey whose pre- 
sence in the family soon became a source of pleasure 
to faculty and students. Her youthful feeling, 
joined with ability, gave her courage often to move 
out of the beaten tracks of institution life and to 
introduce many simple changes which added to the 
homelike feeling of the small family. Illness in the 
winter of 1895 made it necessary for her to give up 
the work, greatly to her own regret and that of the 
school. Her place was taken by Mrs. Emily R. Wil- 


cox, who remained at Smith Hall until June, 1897. 
Her motherly interest and her wide experience gave 
her a strong hold upon many girls who greatly en- 
joyed life with her. In September, 1897, the French- 
speaking family moved over into Draper Hall. 
Smith Hall was abandoned, and hence a second 
matron was no longer needed. 


PROFESSOR PARK, 1851-1900 

With gratitude and pride Abbot Academy remem- 
bers the long list of distinguished men who, in addi- 
tion to many other important offices, have been 
willing to serve the school, and have done it with a 
gracious affection which can never be forgotten by 
those who have experienced it. It is the duty and 
the privilege of those who realize what this service 
has been to share this knowledge with the later 
generations of faculty and students and friends. 
During the period from 1892 to 19 12, the Board of 
Trustees lost eight of its members by death and five 
by resignation. The only name which appears on 
the list of Trustees the first year of Miss Watson's 
principalship and also on that of the first year of 
Miss Bailey's administration is that of Professor 
John Phelps Taylor, who was elected Trustee in 
January, 1892. Although this is a condition that 
might mean a real overturning in the direction of 
school affairs in the short space of twenty years, it 
is probably true that the school itself has not been 
conscious of any great change. It is true that there 
have been changes in the educational and the finan- 
cial policy, but they have been changes in the smooth 
and regular and constant progress of a growth insti- 
gated and regulated by men who have been har- 
monious in their ideas of what the school should 
stand for and their desires for its development. The 


fact that most of the Trustees have given long 
periods of service to the school has contributed 
largely to this condition. 

Both volumes of Miss McKeen's History contain 
constant references to Professor Park, who was 
elected to the Board to fill the place left vacant by 
the resignation of Samuel Farrar on June 30, 1851. 
In 1859, he was made President of the Board, an 
office which he held until his death in 1900, although 
for several years ill health deterred him from active 
service to the school. 

It was considered by the Seniors a great honor to 
receive their diplomas from the hand of a man so 
distinguished as a scholar and a preacher not only in 
our own country but in the scholarly circles of 
Europe, and it was a great pleasure to all his audi- 
ence to hear his annual address to the Seniors on 
Commencement Day. The address delivered to the 
class of 1877 has often been referred to, and as one 
who heard it says, "It might well be called his 
legacy to Abbot Academy.' ' Its theme was " Char- 
acter is the Main Thing." This same friend also 
says, "Professor Park's personal presence in our 
streets, as he once remarked of another, made for 
civic righteousness and noble ideals." When he 
preached in the "Stone Chapel" even the Academy 
boys listened spell-bound and his sermons were al- 
ways long! 

To the outside world Professor Park was the intel- 
lectual giant of Andover. He had a delightful hu- 
mor which was most refreshing to his friends. That 
a man of such qualities and power should be inter- 
ested in Abbot Academy and know it intimately for 


such a long period of time was of inestimable value 
to every part of its life. 

An intimate friendship existed between Miss Mc- 
Keen and the Park family and they were a source of 
inspiration to her, socially, intellectually, and spirit- 
ually. The picture of Miss McKeen and Mrs. Park 
taking their morning drive together is mentioned else- 
where. One very important department of Academic 
Senior work, the department of the History of Art, 
owes much to Professor Park. In Volume I of the 
School History, Miss McKeen speaks of the club 
founded in 1871 by Professor Park, for the study of 
this subject. Miss McKeen was a very active mem- 
ber of this club, and in 1873, she introduced into the 
school the study of the history of Painting, Sculpture, 
and Architecture. For many years it was the privi- 
lege of a few individual girls to be chosen by Miss 
McKeen to go up to the home of the Parks to read 
aloud for an hour and this privilege was greatly 
valued and enjoyed by the fortunate girls. 

When Miss Means succeeded to the principalship 
in 1898, the same intimate relationship with the 
school was renewed and continued until the death of 
Professor Park in 1900. He had been Trustee forty- 
nine years, practically half the hundred years of the 
school's lifetime, and all that time his name upon the 
Board was not merely that of an illustrious man 
whose name shed glory upon the school, but he was 
a vital, intellectual, and spiritual force here. 

In 1901, the first anniversary of the death of 
Professor Park was observed by the placing of a 
tablet in the Chapel of the Theological Seminary 
and Phillips Academy — a tablet on which was the 


profile of Professor Park and the following inscrip- 

I 808-1 900 

Professor in Andover Seminary 
1 836- 1 900 

Editor of The Bibliotheca Sacra 
1 844-1 900 

A versatile Author 

An eloquent Preacher 

An inspiring Teacher 

A profound Theologian 

His lines have gone out through all the earth 
And his words to the end of the world. 

It is a matter of deep interest to Abbot Academy 
that this gracious and lasting tribute to one who was 
for so long a time her own trustee should have been 
put in its place by another member of the Board of 
Abbot Trustees. Mr. Draper gave this tablet, in 
memory of the thirty-three years in which he had 
acted as publisher of "The Bibliotheca Sacra" and 
also of his publishing of Professor Park's last volume 
of sermons. 


THE DRAPERS, 1 868-1905 

Warren Fales Draper — Irene Rowley Draper 

The Trustee whose name is oftenest spoken by the 
Abbot girl or teacher is Mr. Draper, and yet to most 
of them Mr. Draper is merely a tradition. Miss 
McKeen's two volumes of Abbot Academy History 
contain mention of Mr. Draper's many gifts to the 
school, but there is little to make one familiar with 
his personality. The story of the quiet lives of Mr. 
and Mrs. Draper cannot be made an exciting and 
wonderful tale, but the picture of two sturdy, high- 
minded, unselfish people who loved the girls of Ab- 
bot Academy as they would have loved daughters 
of their own, has its own charm. 

Mr. Draper was born in Dedham, Massachusetts, 
on December 12, 1818; he was graduated from 
Phillips Academy in 1843 and from Amherst College 
in 1847. These three dates reveal the fact that he 
must have gained his education with difficulty, since 
he was nearly thirty years old before he could finish 
a college course. He was hindered in getting his 
college preparation by poverty and ill health, and he 
was obliged to work hard while in Phillips Academy 
to earn his way. He cut wood and tended fires for 
the professors, and at one time he even worked as 
janitor at Abbot Academy. 

In 1840, there came to Abbot Academy from 
Wrentham, Massachusetts, a young girl named 


Irene Patience Rowley. For three years she was one 
of that interesting early group of girls who kept 
house on the cooperative plan in the old house 
known in later days as " Davis Hall." 

This house stood about where the present Davis 
Hall stands, and before 1840 had been known as the 
"Dr. Brown House." After it was rented by Abbot 
Academy, it was for a time called "The Commons," 
but in 1865, it was purchased and given to the school 
by Mr. George L. Davis of North Andover, and be- 
came "Davis Hall," and later also "French Hall." 
While it was used as "The Commons," there lived 
in it twenty or more girls, who, under the care of one 
of their number called "The Directress," did all the 
work of the household and shared the expense of 
their living, which was not expected to exceed a 
dollar and a half per week. During 1842-43, Irene 
Rowley was the Directress, and it was while she was 
busy with this work, and Mr. Draper was also com- 
ing down from Phillips Academy to do janitor work 
at Abbot Academy, that a friendship must have 
started which later culminated in marriage. On 
May 24, 1848, Warren Fales Draper and Irene 
Patience Rowley were married in Philadelphia. In 
1849, they came to Andover, and here they lived to- 
gether until the death of Mr. Draper in 1905, and 
then Mrs. Draper lived her lonely life for nearly 
twelve years more until December 27, 191 6. 

Mr. Draper began work in Andover with no 
capital whatever, and for some years his business 
interests were closely connected with Phillips 
Academy. He lived on "The Hill " and managed the 
Andover Bookstore, which was then located in what 


was called the " Brick House," a house which stood 
for many years a little way beyond the "Pease 
House," but was removed some years ago to make 
room for other buildings. Mr. Draper not only kept 
the bookstore, but was also a printer and publisher. 
For many years he published all the works produced 
by the learned professors of the Andover Theologi- 
cal Seminary, and also the famous journal, "The 
Bibliotheca Sacra," considered to be the most 
learned of theological reviews. It is said that he 
worked hard, often doing common labor with his 
own hands. The extent and importance of his pub- 
lishing business was quite remarkable. Few people 
now realize that he was the first importer of religious 
books into this country from Europe. He must have 
been recognized by his colleagues as an able and 
progressive publisher, for in 1853 he went to London 
as the representative of a Boston publisher, John P. 

The story of his own first venture in importing is 
tragic. All the books which he had bought in Europe 
went to the bottom of the ocean when the freight 
steamer in which they were being brought over was 
lost in a storm. 

In the memorial sermon for Mr. Draper preached 
by Professor Taylor in 1905, there is related a charm- 
ing incident of the visit to London in 1853; a visit 
which was a notable event in the lives of Mr. and 
Mrs. Draper. They attended a reception at St. 
James's Palace on Queen Victoria's birthday, a day 
which was also their own wedding anniversary. Her 
Majesty bowed graciously to Mrs. Draper and Mr. 
Draper's smiling comment was, "The British Queen 


saluted an American Queen/ ' Ever after this time, 
as they celebrated their wedding anniversary, they 
called it " celebrating the Queen's birthday." 

The success of Mr. Draper's business financially 
became evident quite early in his career, but the 
quality of his work is probably not so well known. 
He published works not only in English, but also in 
Greek, in Hebrew, and in Sanskrit. For many years 
Andover was distinguished in scholarly circles as 
having among its population skilled Hebrew and 
Sanskrit typesetters living on the hill, brought here 
and employed by Mr. Draper. 

In 1866, the location of Mr. Draper's business 
was changed to the center of the town, and he soon 
moved his home from "The Hill" down School 
Street, having built a new house directly opposite 
Abbot Academy, and from that time Mr. and Mrs. 
Draper seemed to adopt this school as a family of 
children. The Draper homestead is now, after more 
than sixty years of life, almost unchanged from its 
original form. When the Drapers moved into this 
new home, Mr. Draper was disabled by rheumatism 
and the story has always been told that the plan of 
the first floor was made such that, if his disability 
should continue, it would be possible for him to 
move about from room to room in his wheel-chair. 

Mr. Draper had been elected a Trustee of Abbot 
Academy just before they moved into their new 
home, and from 1868 to 1905 he served the school. 
In 1875, he was made Treasurer of the Board, and it 
is said that for thirty years he was never absent from 
a Trustee meeting. In 1901, he was no longer able 
to perform active service as Treasurer, and he re- 


signed from the office. The esteem in which he was 
held by his fellow Trustees is evidenced by the silver 
loving cup which they gave to him on his retirement 
from this office. 

From the first Mr. Draper's business was success- 
ful and he prospered, but his gains were largely the 
result of his own hard work and of his savings. He 
began at once to make gifts to the two schools on 
" The Hill." In Phillips Academy he established the 
Draper Prize Speaking, which is still an annual 
event in the school. Remembering his own struggles 
for an education, he gave to Phillips Academy the 
Draper Scholarship and later the Draper Cottage. 

When he moved into the new home on School 
Street, one of his friends said to him, "Now you 
must give to Abbot Academy instead of to Phillips 
Academy." His answer was the establishment here 
of the Draper Reading in Mrs. Draper's name. This 
Draper Reading was an annual event of the spring 
term until quite recently, when it seemed best to 
change its form to that of the Draper Dramatics. 

All through the years, the habit of the Drapers 
was to celebrate anniversary days, especially the 
wedding anniversary, by sending a gift over to Ab- 
bot Academy. Sometimes it was a valuable set of 
books needed for class use; or again the much de- 
sired portrait of Professor Churchill for the Trustee 
Room; or it might be a new reading table with 
magazine racks for the Reading Room. Sometimes 
it was a gift to the Senior Class ; — a brass vase for 
the table, or an electric lamp, or a desk chair for the 
Senior parlor; and always flowers and fruit from 
their much-loved garden. 


When the little room near the family entrance of 
Draper Hall was taken over in 191 1 for the use of the 
Faculty, Mrs. Draper gave to the Faculty her own 
silver tea and coffee service and her two dainty old- 
fashioned tea sets of gold band china which she had 
used for many years. Later she gave money to help 
refurnish this Faculty room and at another time she 
gave wall seats and cushions to the recreation room 
in addition to those already in the room under the 
front windows. When Miss Bailey came as the new 
Principal in 1912, Mrs. Draper placed in the Mc- 
Keen parlor — the Principal's room — a stately and 
beautiful tall clock as a welcome to the new head of 
the school. 

From this very incomplete list of their smaller 
gifts, it is evident that they gave most loving thought 
to the school, and that they had an intimate know- 
ledge of its life. 

There are also larger gifts to be recorded, one of 
which is that of twenty-five thousand dollars to- 
wards the building of Draper Hall. This was made 
in 1888 by increasing their original gift at the time 
when Miss McKeen, not having secured the amount 
of money necessary for beginning the new building, 
was weighed down by anxiety and greatly de- 
pressed in spirits. Mr. Draper's gift put new life and 
energy and enthusiasm into Miss McKeen and those 
nearest to her. As a consequence of his generosity, 
the building was begun at once and was finished in 
time to be occupied in September, 1890. The name, 
Draper Hall, was given to it as a slight expression of 
gratitude for the gift which made its erection pos- 


A very few years after this gift to Draper Hall, the 
Alumnae Committee, which for some time had been 
raising funds to erect a much needed school building 
as a memorial to the McKeen sisters, was in a simi- 
lar state of depression and need, and again Mr. 
Draper came forward. The record of the Board of 
Trustees for December, 1902, contains a letter from 
Mr. Draper in which he offers to give, under certain 
conditions, seven thousand five hundred dollars 
towards the McKeen Memorial Building. In the 
chapter on the McKeen Memorial, this letter is 
quoted as an expression of Mr. Draper's feeling for 
the school. Mr. Draper's will made Abbot Academy 
the residuary legatee of his estate after the death of 
Mrs. Draper, and thus their large gifts to the school 
have amounted to more than one hundred thousand 

They also made generous gifts not only to Phillips 
Academy, but to the Punchard High School in An- 
dover and to the town of Andover itself for educa- 
tional purposes, and also to Amherst College. 

These gifts seem generous even in this day of large 
gifts, and it should be remembered that in the case of 
the Drapers their gifts were made by careful saving 
in their own daily living. The home life was very 
plain and simple. Mrs. Draper did not keep a servant 
and as long as she was able she did the work of the 
household herself. The home was simply furnished 
and all their habits were those of the frugal New- 
Englander of the early days. 

There were always people who thought Mr. 
Draper penurious, or — as they sometimes expressed 
it — stingy. It is certainly true that oftentimes 


what was really needed for the good of the school 
seemed to him mere luxury, and as Treasurer of the 
school funds his first impulse was to say that the 
school could not afford the thing asked for; but over 
and over again did it happen that after a teacher had 
asked him for something needed in her department 
and he had seemed to be about to refuse it, he would 
listen again to what she had to say of the need and 
finally would say, " You probably know better than 
I what is needed and may buy what is necessary.* ' 
Sometimes the answer would be that the school 
could not afford to spend the money, but as the 
thing asked for seemed to be needed he would see 
that it was paid for, and pay for it he did from his 
own purse. 

One particular instance is especially interesting. 
When Draper Hall was opened in September, 1890, 
Miss McKeen and the Faculty felt that there should 
be a proper housewarming to which all the people 
who had given money for the building should be in- 
vited, and hospitably entertained. Over a thousand 
invitations should be sent out and it would be neces- 
sary to provide refreshments for a large number of 
people. This was a formidable matter of expense to 
present to Mr. Draper. Miss McKeen sent over to 
him on this mission two of the Faculty who knew 
Mr. Draper well and would be specially persuasive 
and tactful, Miss Merrill and Miss Greeley, but all 
their arguments seemed to have no effect, and they 
returned feeling greatly discouraged, as Mr. Draper 
had said that he could not feel it right for the school 
to give such an expensive reception while it was still 
in debt. Before that very day had ended, there came 


to Miss McKeen a note saying that he had thought 
over the matter, and he had no doubt but that Miss 
McKeen and the Faculty knew better than he did 
what should be done and that he wished a reception 
to be arranged just as they thought suitable and he 
would meet the cost of everything himself. A very 
lovely housewarming was the result. Other Trustees 
sent masses of beautiful palms and ferns and flowers 
from their own greenhouses to decorate the house 
and especially the dining room, where a suitable and 
delicious supper was served to all the guests. It was 
with difficulty that Mr. and Mrs. Draper were per- 
suaded to receive the guests with Miss McKeen, and 
it is doubtful whether even all the Trustees knew 
that it was most truly a reception given by the 
Drapers and that they paid every bill. 

The desire to give largely to the cause of educa- 
tion did not make the Drapers forgetful of their own 
kindred. They had no children, but there was a 
goodly number of nephews and nieces who were de- 
voted to them and for whom they felt a strong affec- 
tion. The story of the seventieth birthday celebra- 
tion on December 12, 1888, is typical of their rela- 
tions with their kindred. A large family gathering 
was held in Cambridge at the home of a niece. Mr. 
Draper received signs of great honor and affection 
from his young relatives, and to each one of them he 
in return made a handsome present in the form of a 
bank book recording a goodly sum to the credit of 
the recipient. Surely one who gave so generously 
and so modestly to at least four schools and col- 
leges, and who also gave so graciously to his own 
large family of nephews and nieces, cannot be 


thought of as mean or penurious with his posses- 
sions. All through the last few quiet years of his life, 
he kept up this habit of remembering to do things for 
other people. 

Just after Mr. Draper's death, a sermon was 
preached at the South Church by the minister, Mr. 
Shipman, from the text, "He was a burning and a 
shining light." The words which Mr. Shipman 
spoke at that time about Mr. Draper are exceed- 
ingly satisfying to those who knew him. "Unques- 
tionably," he said, "Mr. Draper had his limitations. 
The restricted life which he led would not be pos- 
sible for most of us, or, if possible, would not be alto- 
gether healthful. In some ways, probably, it was 
not healthful for him. But still that life was light; 
— steady and pure and powerful. It is hardly two 
weeks ago," he went on to say, "that I spoke to 
him of the gratitude felt towards him for his last gift 
of one thousand dollars to the Punchard Free 
School. He looked up at me from the chair into 
which his feeble body had sunk, and it seemed as if a 
quenchless fire leaped into his faded eyes as he said 
in a trembling voice, ' I have been a great believer in 
education,' and then he asked eagerly if I did not 
suppose that American schools were the best in the 

" ' I have been a great believer in education/ How 
truly his life was an embodiment of that belief! Mr. 
Draper takes his place in that line of men and women 
not professional educators themselves, who have 
handed from one to another a shining faith in the 
dignity of the human mind, and a burning zeal that 
the men and women of the future might grow con- 


scious of that dignity. Most of us when we are 
young have to take it on dim faith that education is 
something to be striven for. Now and then a boy or 
girl appears in whose heart God has set the glory of 
it, and we see him toiling and sacrificing to get it. 
And then again we behold one toiling long and 
sacrificing much, not in order to win it for himself, 
but that others coming after, most of them not to be 
seen by his mortal eyes, may have this, so rare a 
treasure. And by these two visions of the youthful 
toiler and the mature unselfish servant of a great 
idea, dimmer eyes are able to gather at least some 
impression of the exceeding desirableness of an edu- 
cation. Mr. Draper was both the youthful toiler, 
and even to old age, the unselfish servant." 

For more than fifty-six years Mr. and Mrs. 
Draper lived together united in every thought and 
deed. This union of mind and heart seemed as per- 
fect as possible, but it is not disloyal nor unapprecia- 
tive of Mr. Draper to say that Mrs. Draper was al- 
ways a power behind him helping him to his best 
action. Her quickness of perception, her breadth of 
vision, her power to grasp and her willingness to ac- 
cept a new situation, and most of all her serene con- 
fidence and trust in the wisdom of those nearest to 
things, always prevailed with Mr. Draper, overcom- 
ing his objections to changes and gaining his interest 
in and allegiance to the thing desired. Their gifts to 
the school were usually accompanied by a letter be- 
ginning with the expression of their reliance upon 
God and gratitude for his blessings, and then the 
gift was offered always in the name of each of them. 

One thing that may be thought almost too per- 


sonal and intimate a thing to say about Mrs. Draper 
gives testimony to her power to grasp a new situa- 
tion even when she was well over eighty years old. 
She had been a great admirer and the intimate friend 
of Miss McKeen for more than thirty years, the 
period of her middle life. She had been neighbor to 
Miss Means for as long a period before the latter be- 
came principal, and she was a faithful helper and 
admirer of Miss Means as head of the school. To 
extend her keen interest and approval and her strong 
affection to a stranger as head of the school, and to 
receive her with the same confidence and love and 
enthusiasm as she had given to Miss McKeen and 
Miss Means, is something that a smaller nature 
would not find possible to do at the end of her four- 
score years; but Mrs. Draper was ready and able and 
happy to do it when Miss Bailey came to the school, 
and the beautiful friendship which speedily grew up 
between them was to Mrs. Draper a great happiness 
in the last few years of her life. 

After Mr. Draper's death, we thought that Mrs. 
Draper could not live many months, but gradually 
her interest in life again became keen and she lived 
on, a very quiet life, for twelve more years. She 
rarely went outside her own home and she came over 
to Draper Hall but a very few times during those 
years, and yet she was a powerful influence in the 
school. During those last years, many girls who had 
never spoken with her loved her dearly. They 
rarely left the grounds without looking over to her 
living room window hoping to see her sitting there. 
If she was missing from the window they were dis- 
appointed. On Sunday, as they went out to church, 


every girl looked over at the window hoping for a 
wave of Mrs. Draper's hand as a Sunday morning 
greeting. This was a much cherished part of the 
Sunday service. When the beautiful face was no 
longer to be seen at the window, Abbot Academy 
felt that a brightness and a glory had left this earth. 


COLONEL RIPLEY, 1870-1907 

The Board of Trustees has always contained several 
men skillful and successful in business affairs and 
usually men with varied experiences. Mr. Draper 
was a publisher and he was also experienced in deal- 
ing with investments. Colonel George Ripley 
was acquainted with manufacturing and banking 
interests and had been trained in quite different 
methods of business from Mr. Draper. Elected to 
the Board in 1870, he was contemporaneous with 
Mr. Draper and each man served the school for 
thirty-seven years, their dates being almost identi- 
cal. Born in Greenfield, and educated at Williston 
Seminary, Mr. Ripley became a Boston business 
man, residing in Andover and thoroughly identified 
with the town as was Mr. Draper. For twenty-five 
years, he was President of the National Hide and 
Leather Bank of Boston and he earned a most 
honorable distinction as a successful financier. His 
business judgment and keen perception of the way 
through financial difficulties were serviceable to Ab- 
bot Academy and were greatly valued by his fellow 
Trustees. Friendly, just, discerning, wide in view 
and quick in decision, his wise counsel was always 
ready not only in the many minor emergencies occur- 
ring in school life, but also in the larger questions, 
and his influence often guided the Trustees and the 


Principal of the school through many threatening 
troubles to satisfactory solutions. 

His gifts to the school were most generous and 
timely, but usually, at his request, at the time of 
making they were not published to the public. Miss 
McKeen in Volume I of her History records the 
story of the pedestal of Lisbon marble which Pro- 
fessor Park once saw in a Boston shop and coveted 
for Abbot Academy. He spoke to Mr. Ripley of his 
desire, and Mr. Ripley's response was, "I think we 
had better have it"; and the pedestal was at once 
bought for the school by Mr. Ripley. 

At another time Mr. Ripley heard that the teacher 
of Astronomy greatly desired to have a course of 
six lectures by the famous astronomer, Professor 
Charles A. Young, but the school treasury could 
not be drawn upon to pay for them. He assured 
Miss McKeen that he would stand behind the enter- 
prise and be responsible for any deficit. As a matter 
of fact, the affair was so managed that there was a 
profit and not a deficit. The story, however, shows 
the kindly, intimate interest which was always 
shown by Mr. Ripley in school affairs. At another 
time Mr. Ripley's generosity provided a course of 
lectures in English literature delivered by the 
Reverend Dr. James G. Vose. Early in his service as 
Trustee, he gave generously to the fund for securing 
the telescope. 

When the building fund was started for Draper 
Hall, Mr. and Mrs. Ripley made a generous initial 
gift which, later, they increased by three thousand 
dollars, in order to make it possible to fulfill the con- 
ditions for securing the final large gift offered by Mr. 


Draper. At the death of Mr. Ripley in 1907, his 
will was found to contain a legacy of two thousand 
five hundred dollars to be devoted to increasing the 
Library. One thousand dollars had been given by 
Mr. and Mrs. Draper in May, 1902, as a celebration 
of the fifty-fourth anniversary of their marriage, and 
they wished this money to be used in starting a fund, 
the income of which should be spent for adding books 
to the Library. Mr. Ripley's legacy thus carried out 
the wish expressed in the letter accompanying the 
Drapers' gift ; the last paragraph of that letter reads 

" We gladly place this fund in your charge, hoping 
that other friends of the Institution will contribute 
to its [the fund's] enlargement as time shall demon- 
strate its use to the school." 

Colonel Ripley is the only member of the Board 
who served it in the three different capacities of 
Clerk, President, and Treasurer. He was elected 
President after the death of Professor Park and he 
resigned from this office to take up the work of 
Treasurer when that office was given up by Mr. 



It is interesting to note that the Abbot Academy 
Catalogue of 1865-66, which first contains the name 
of John Wesley Churchill as teacher of elocution 
when he was still a student at the Andover Theo- 
logical Seminary, also contains the name of Emily 
A. Means as teacher of French, although she did not 
graduate from Abbot until 1869. Mr. Churchill was 
graduated from the Seminary in 1868 and was im- 
mediately appointed Jones professor of Elocution in 
the Seminary, and later, in 1896, he was elected 
Bartlet professor of Sacred Rhetoric. He was also 
for many years a lecturer and teacher in several 
other schools and colleges. 

It is easily seen that he came into contact with 
large numbers of young people and to believe that 
his death in 1900 brought a great sense of loss to 
many men and women all over the country. He was 
greatly loved as a friend and teacher, he was valued 
highly as a leader and adviser. His wonderful ability 
as a reader and an interpreter of character upon 
the public stage made him known and admired by 
hundreds who knew him in no other capacity. His 
knowledge and understanding of human nature gave 
him the power to help in many situations. His 
ability to control and sway a large number of people, 
his unfailing good taste and fine tact made him a 
person most sought after as a presiding officer on 


social occasions. As toastmaster at a banquet or 
celebration, he had no peer. As host in his own home, 
where he was aided by his equally gifted wife, he 
unconsciously gave to the Phillips boys and Abbot 
girls whom he annually entertained, one of the most 
valuable lessons of their school life. 

While in the full power of a vigorous young man- 
hood, he was invited to become a Trustee of Abbot 
Academy and from November, 1879, until his 
death in April, 1900, he was intimately connected 
with the school not only as the teacher of elocution 
but as one of the governing board. 

Every girl in school was privileged to be a member 
of the weekly class which he taught during one term 
of the year from 1865 to 1892. But the privilege and 
the honor most desired by many girls each year was 
that of being chosen as one of the ten Draper readers 
who were to appear before the school and its friends 
at Commencement time. This honor was valued not 
simply as an honor, but quite as much because of 
the individual instruction and training by Professor 
Churchill, which Mrs. Draper's generosity had made 
possible for each of the ten girls. All over the country 
there are "Abbot girls" who, if they chance to read 
these words, will remember vividly those lessons in 
Professor Churchill's study on a lovely spring even- 
ing, and they will realize that something was de- 
veloped in them more than the mere ability to read 
well a certain selection. 

If you remind yourselves of the fact that Mr. 
Churchill was not only carrying on his work as pro- 
fessor in the Theological Seminary and as one of the 
regular preachers at the Seminary Chapel ; that he 


was also much sought after as a public reader and 
speaker; that there was seldom a Sunday when he 
did not preach in some pulpit in New England, and 
that the calls upon him for social events were con- 
stant, your amazement will be great that he could 
find time to be interested in and to prepare ten 
Abbot girls for a special public reading, and also 
a group of Phillips boys for their annual Draper 

In the days when the Theological Seminary was a 
potent force, not only upon "Andover Hill," but 
wherever scholarship was reverenced, Andover was 
frequently visited by distinguished people from all 
parts of the world. The Churchill home was fre- 
quently the place where hospitality was dispensed 
and the Abbot faculty, and sometimes students, 
were often privileged to meet these distinguished 

Mr. Churchill was not only a Trustee of the 
school for twenty-one years, but he was the intimate 
personal friend of Miss McKeen, and it was in this 
double capacity that he served as toastmaster at the 
famous " McKeen Breakfast," which was given at 
Hotel Vendome, as a farewell honor to Miss McKeen 
when she was about to leave the school in 1892. 
Again in May, 1898, it was he who conducted in 
Draper Hall the last service in honor of Miss Mc- 
Keen. Those who were present at the " Breakfast" 
remember vividly the grace and charm and friendli- 
ness of the occasion; and surely all who heard the 
Scripture reading and the prayer made by Professor 
Churchill at that last service in 1898 hold it rever- 
ently in memory. 


From the many words of warm admiration and 
loving appreciation of Professor Churchill which 
were written or spoken at the time of his death in 
1900, those from his intimate friend Dr. Bancroft 
have a special significance. Dr. Bancroft says : 

"Any record of Professor Churchill's service in 
'the trinity of Andover schools,' as he liked to 
phrase it, must make large mention of his loyalty to 
the religious, educational, and literary traditions of 
the place. His residence, except for four years at 
Harvard, was here for over forty years — practically 
for all his professional life. The large amount of 
work he did elsewhere was incidental. Here were his 
interests and affections. The whole community 
claimed him. He made it a chief end to be a good 
citizen. . . . Nature seemed to have prescribed to 
him his departments ; but he would have done excel- 
lent work in many others. In personal instruction 
and criticism he was supreme. He was an inspiring 
and creative force in the lives of thousands of pupils ; 
and gave them such a pattern of adherence to the 
highest standards of excellence and of unfailing 
charity that they became his lifelong personal 
friends. His work was more than elocution; it was 
the interpretation of literature. . . . Only those who 
lived side by side with Professor Churchill could 
have knowledge of his marvelous industry. He was 
always at work and a hard worker. Fragments of 
time, the early morning, the late night, hours of 
travel and seeming recreation were all put to use. . . . 
'Trifles make up perfection, and perfection is no 
trifle ' was a motto often on his lips. 

"The thoroughness and severity of his work was 


always dignified by an exceptional magnanimity. 
In his teaching he was never cynical, sarcastic, or 
petulant. When he rebuked and criticised it was al- 
ways with appreciation and sympathy. He could 
correct a fault in an offender without causing humili- 
ation or irritation." 

One of his Seminary classmates and a familiar 
friend writes thus concerning him : 

"He first came into prominence as a public 
reader. With a voice of wide range and exceptional 
quality, with a sense of humor which every feature 
expressed, with the tenderness of a child and a spirit 
easily sharing the most tragic or pathetic experi- 
ences, he readily passed from the entertainer of an 
hour to the teacher, helper and comforter of the 
ignorant, the perplexed and the sorrowing. . . . But 
merely to play on the heart strings for a little while 
grew irksome to him. He was not content to be an 
elocutionist, worthy as such a calling is. He would 
be something more than a caterer to the ever-press- 
ing demand for amusement. If he could lift the art 
of public speaking out of the commonplace and 
make it the medium of effective appeal and persua- 
sion — the interpreter of eternal truths — that was 
his holier ambition. 

"His appointment after years of distinguished 
service in voice culture and oratorical methods, to 
the professorship (of Homiletics) in the Theological 
Seminary he counted his greatest honor. It gave 
him what he was specially fitted for, the chance to 
direct the preachers of the future in the science of 
public address. His love of proportion and harmony 
in homiletic composition, his keen sense of propriety, 


his instant recognition of pertinent or alien thought, 
his choice of the happiest word or phrase made him 
invaluable as a critic. Scripture, prayer, hymn, were 
in his view, quite as important as the sermon ; and he 
made them quite as much a study. His voice and 
bearing in the pulpit always made the impression 
that the preacher had solemn business in hand. . . . 
Above and beyond all these characteristics of his 
professional life was his eminent helpfulness. To 
whom was he not a friend? I do not recall a single 
sentiment or word I could wish he had not uttered. 
Of pure imagination and pure spirit it was always 
healthful to be in his company. . . . With a memory 
which never failed to retain both name and circum- 
stance of the humblest, no less than the famous — 
with a manner which said to one and all, ' Command 
me,' — he kept widening and strengthening the 
bonds which attached multitudes to him, till he stag- 
gered under the load of their expectations." 

In the Phillips Academy Chapel may be seen a 
bronze tablet to his memory. The last four lines of 
the inscription upon it are these : 

I 839-I 900 



Professor John Phelps Taylor was elected to 
the Board of Trustees in the spring of 1892, just as 
Miss McKeen was giving up the care of the school, 
and he was a member of the Board until his death, 
September 13, 191 5. 

He was distinguished as being the one Trustee 
who served the school under four different principals. 
His nearness to the school and his scholarly tastes 
joined with his great interest in individuals made 
him a great help to each of these four principals in 
a fashion quite his own. Although new upon the 
Board at the time of the choice of Miss Watson to 
succeed Miss McKeen, he was actively interested in 
her coming and was one of her most loyal friends and 
helpers during her short six years at the school. 

For the whole term of his service he was regularly 
appointed as visitor of classes and he faithfully and 
delightfully performed this duty. He always wished 
to know, not only the teacher of each class, but he 
was also interested in each member of it, and his 
little notebook contained the class list with notes to 
help him remember the different girls. His stately 
courtesy and genial spirit made him a welcome guest 
everywhere on the school campus. When the news 
of his death came, one who had known him long said, 
with sadness, "Who will there be now to say pleas- 
ant, appreciative words to us about our work!" 


Mr. Taylor had a very generous spirit, and he loved 
to make gifts — to share his possessions with other 
people. Together with Mrs. Taylor he often 
thought of gifts to fill small needs in a very charming 
way. The crowded dining room at Commencement 
luncheon reminded them that much comfort might 
be given to our guests by changing one of the win- 
dows on the western side into a French door opening 
upon the lawn, and as soon as possible after it was 
thought of they had it done. Dining at Draper Hall 
one Thanksgiving Day reminded them to send a 
little later a gift of finger bowls for all the tables. 
Many other things they thought of, and with them 
as with the Drapers, to think meant to do. 

In the years between 1891 and 191 3, Mr. Taylor's 
classmate and warm personal friend, Mr. Day, gave 
much money to Phillips Academy, erecting Day 
Hall and John Phelps Taylor Hall and also making 
other gifts. While Mr. Taylor was greatly interested 
and pleased at these much-needed gifts to Phillips 
Academy, he was not content that Abbot should 
have no recognition in this generous giving. He 
succeeded in interesting Mr. Day to give the initial 
sum of five thousand dollars to start a fund to build 
the Abbot Infirmary. One condition placed by Mr. 
Day upon the gift was that the building should be 
called the Antoinette Hall Taylor Infirmary. Mr. 
Taylor was helpful in raising the remaining thou- 
sands needed to build and equip the Infirmary. 

The afternoon of October 14, 19 13, was not pleas- 
ant as to weather, but Mrs. Taylor, with trowel in 
hand, stood out in the rain and laid the first brick 
of the Infirmary with simple, appropriate ceremony; 


thus did they celebrate the forty-fifth anniversary of 
their wedding day. While the building was in pro- 
cess of erection, the name of the donor of the initial 
live thousand dollars was not disclosed, although 
many people found it not difficult to guess the name. 
When the time came for the dedication of the build- 
ing, there was a mysterious importance attached to 
a certain date on which Mr. Taylor insisted the 
ceremony must occur. Later we found that the date, 
June 2, 1 91 4, was the birthday anniversary of Mr. 
Day. The simple ceremony which took place in and 
about the little porch at the front door was con- 
ducted by Professor Hincks, and the few who were 
a part of it realized that it all had a very tender 
meaning for Mr. Taylor. And so these two festal 
days in the lives of the three people most closely con- 
nected with the beginning of the Infirmary were 
quietly and intimately linked with its history. Later 
in life, Mrs. Taylor conceived the idea of giving an 
endowment fund for the upkeep of the building as a 
memorial to her parents, and this fact is recorded on 
the tablet on the wall of the first-floor corridor. And 
so in a very real sense the Abbot Infirmary is the 
Taylor Infirmary. 

All Abbot girls and Abbot friends who knew Mr. 
Taylor will enjoy and warmly appreciate some of 
the words spoken by Dr. Fitch at the time of Mr. 
Taylor's death in 191 5. These words express very 
clearly, in part at least, what he meant to Abbot 
Academy, and they also give to those of later times a 
picture of one who has left his impress upon the 
school. Dr. Fitch said: «. 

"I can see very clearly why I, together with all 


those who knew him, both loved and trusted him. 
One reason, it seems to me, is this: — he had such 
beautiful and such significant manners. We are a 
hurried and an informal age. We do not pay very 
much attention to the amenities of life. We have 
forgotten what the ancient people meant when they 
said that manners and morals are closely related to 
each other; we do not remember how manners reflect 
the character that is behind. But Mr. Taylor was a 
man of kindly and beautiful manners. One always 
felt that he was putting himself in the place of those 
to whom he spoke. There was that unconscious, 
because habitual, custom of always thinking of the 
other person rather than himself. With all these 
boys and girls, it was no small service, I think, which 
Dr. Taylor rendered to this community that he 
moved among them, a gracious, beautiful, thought- 
ful figure. 

"Another reason, to my mind, why he was both 
loved and trusted was because of his interest in 
youth. There are very wide spaces set between the 
day when he was a lad in this town and this day; it 
is a new kind of boy and a new kind of girl that are 
coming into our modern world. And yet this man, 
far advanced in years, having passed way beyond 
the life that these girls and boys were leading, liked 
them, was seriously and profoundly interested in 
them, believed in them. I cannot believe that Dr. 
Taylor understood the life of these boys and girls. 
It was more rare and beautiful than that. Without 
quite understanding it, he accepted it, and had faith 
in it. There was that splendid moral life in him 
which gave the capacity for faith in an interpreta*- 


tion of the rising life of this generation, so different 
from the rising life of that generation to which he 
was accustomed. And so I recall this kindly, 
gracious figure, filled with old-world gentleness, and 
with the quaint and formal and beautiful courtesy of 
an unhurried and more self-respecting time; and 
coupled with that the eager interest in the boys and 
girls growing up about him. 

"His whole life, like that which Wordsworth 
describes in 'Tintern Abbey* was filled with little 
unremembered acts of kindness and of love that 
form the best portion of a good man's life." 



Dr. Merriman was elected to the Board of Trustees, 
on February 28, 1900, to fill the vacancy caused by 
the sudden death of the Reverend E. G. Porter. 

With his habitual thoroughness in all things, he 
immediately began to make himself familiar with the 
purpose and methods of the school. He was made a 
member of the finance committee and was active 
in the reorganization of the system of management 
of the finances, and instrumental in putting new 
vigor into the conduct of the affairs of the school. 

He was elected President of the Board in 1902, 
and throughout the ten years in which he held this 
office, he was constantly considering plans for the 
growth and development of the school. Having had 
much experience in building for public institutions, 
his counsel and supervision were invaluable in the 
planning and erection and equipment of McKeen 
Memorial Hall and the John-Esther Art Gallery, 
and in the remodeling of Abbot Hall. The additions 
to the school plant of these large new buildings made 
necessary the careful consideration of methods of 
heating and led to the combination heating plant 
with Phillips Academy. The health and comfort of 
the occupants of Draper Hall led to the withdrawal 
from that hall of the laundry and lighting machinery, 
and the erection of a new building for such purposes. 
The presence of a president with initiative, resolu- 


tion, and foresight as well as wisdom, was of great 
assistance in all these changes. 

His public addresses at the special occasions of the 
dedication of the McKeen Memorial and Davis 
Hall, and at the opening of the John-Esther Art 
Gallery, and also on each Commencement Day at 
the awarding of diplomas to the Senior class, were 
always instructive, inspiring and delightful. 

An intimate personal friend of Miss Means, his 
interest in the selection of her successor was very 
great, and he gave most careful attention to aid in 
the choice of a principal, who would be progressive 
as well as one who would appreciate the high stand- 
ard of character and of scholarship which Abbot 
Academy has always proudly striven to maintain. 
The record of the years of service of Miss Bailey, in 
whose coming he was intensely interested, gives 
convincing testimony to his clear-sightedness and 
wisdom in his leadership in this choice. It was a 
great blow to the new Principal when, on the very 
first morning of her appearance at chapel as head of 
the school, the news came of Dr. Merriman's sudden 
death at his summer home in Intervale, New Hamp- 
shire, in September, 19 12. The "Courant" of 
January, 19 13, contains an editorial a portion of 
which is as follows: 

"To his natural qualities of thoroughness and 
intense application in all to which he set his hand; 
to his capacity for detailed work in large plans, he 
added the enlarged judgment developed through 
much experience with educational institutions, and 
in building for them. His finely trained mind, his 
sense of beauty, of proportion, of propriety, of per- 


fection; his keen business perception; his earnest 
spirit and his desire that the young lives under his 
care should be trained in truth and simplicity of 
faith and life — these made him such a leader of the 
school as cannot easily be found again. He put up 
the memorial tablets; he gave the Greek casts in 
McKeen Hall ; he added minor points of beauty and 
appropriateness to the John-Esther Gallery. No 
programme of exercises but was made refined and 
beautiful by his judgment. . . . Alert to give the best, 
no matter was neglected, however small, if it could 
complete a satisfactory whole." 

This last sentence recalls at once the fact of his 
minute care of details in arranging for the service of 
dedication of the Art Gallery. It was Dr. Merriman 
who insisted that every person who formally ac- 
cepted the invitation to this function should receive 
a ticket to a reserved seat. As a consequence, every 
one of the more than five hundred chairs became a 
reserved seat, and had to be so designated, and 
special tickets had to be sent to every person who 
had indicated the intention to be present. This one 
instance shows the kind of thought which he gave to 
details, and it was this thought which made every 
occasion which came under his supervision perfect 
as a whole. 



Mrs. Frances Kimball Harlow, i 892-1 904 

Mrs. Henrietta Learoyd Sperry, 1 892-1901 

Mrs. Mary Donald Churchill, 1900- 

In June, 1 89 1, a request was sent from the Alumnae 
Association to the Board of Trustees at its annual 
meeting asking that women should be elected to the 
Board. At the next annual meeting in June, 1892, 
the Trustees elected to membership Mrs. Frances 
Kimball Harlow and Mrs. Henrietta Learoyd 

Mrs. Harlow had been a highly valued and much- 
loved teacher of English and History in the school 
during the year 1872-73 and again from 1877 to 
1888, at which time she resigned to marry Dr. John 
Martyn Harlow of Woburn. 

Mrs. Harlow's intimate association with Miss 
McKeen and her thorough knowledge of the school 
in all respects made her able to render such service to 
the school as could not be given by one less con- 
versant with its affairs. 

Her excellent judgment and good taste were help- 
ful on all occasions, and her generous but quiet use 
of her ample means gave substantial help in many 
places where it was greatly needed. Always delicate 
in health, she was gradually forced to give up many 
activities and she resigned from the Board in 1904. 
After the death of Dr. Harlow in 1907, she had the 
great comfort of the constant companionship of Miss 


Merrill. Mrs. Harlow's death occurred in May, 
19 14. Her will contained a legacy to Abbot Academy 
which amounted to more than fourteen thousand 
three hundred dollars. 

Mrs. Sperry was also well acquainted with the 
school. She was a graduate in the class of 1868, a 
teacher at several different times, and she served as 
acting principal of the school during Miss McKeen's 
absence traveling in Europe in 1875-76. As Trustee 
she was specially interested in the efforts of Alum- 
nae to raise funds to build McKeen Memorial Hall, 
and she remained upon the Board until that work 
was nearly completed, although her removal to 
Olivet, Michigan, made it impossible for her to be 
really active in service as a Trustee during the last 
few years in which she held the office. Her resigna- 
tion from the Board came in June, 1901. 

On June 19, 1900, at the very first meeting of the 
Board after the death of Professor Churchill in 
April, the Trustees elected Mrs. Mary Donald 
Churchill to take the place of her husband upon the 
Board. Nowhere could they have found another 
person so eminently fitted to succeed Professor 
Churchill. Throughout all the years that have fol- 
lowed it has been, and it still is, a great blessing to 
the school to have such invaluable service as that 
which Mrs. Churchill constantly gives to it. 



The Reverend Edward Griffin Porter was 
elected Trustee in 1878 and served until his death 
in 1 9 10. His residence in Lexington, where for many 
years he was pastor of the Hancock Church, made 
him a near neighbor to the Academy, and yet he 
was sufficiently removed from Andover life to bring 
to the Board the helpful attitude of an interested 
observer. He was a man of wide acquaintance with 
the world, and he had a close connection with several 
other schools. He was a member of the Board of 
Overseers of Harvard University and a trustee of 
Wellesley College as well as of several secondary 

He was a scholar of high repute, greatly interested 
in history and genealogy, and an officer in several 
historical and antiquarian societies. His interest 
was not confined to his own country: he worked to 
aid Greek refugees and the Waldenses, and he was 
President of the Board of Trustees of the American 
College at Aintab. 

In spite of these many other interests, he was 
genuinely interested in Abbot Academy and was in 
close contact with it throughout the thirty-seven 
years of his connection with it. There is no one left, 
either among Trustees or Faculty, who can speak 
from intimate personal knowledge of him as a 
Trustee, but the writer has the memory of very 


frequent reference to him and of dependence upon 
him by Miss McKeen in the last years of her life in 
the school. 

Another Trustee who served the school for 
twenty-three years and who also represented the 
business knowledge so necessary to the successful 
management of a school, was Mr. Mortimer B. 
Mason of Boston. As head of the large paper manu- 
facturing company of S. D. Warren Company, he 
was influential in business affairs throughout New 
England. Having spent some years of his life in 
Andover, and being connected with Abbot Acad- 
emy through his mother who was a pupil here in 
1 841, he had a friendly interest in the school and a 
fairly intimate understanding of its history and its 

His generosity was of the greatest assistance in 
many difficult matters, but so quietly was it ex- 
ercised that it is difficult to trace it all now and 
to give full value to what he did for the school. 
One of his most charming acts was at the time of 
the furnishing of Draper Hall. The great, empty 
building was looming up before Miss McKeen with 
the question of how to obtain even the bare neces- 
sities of furnishings for the big parlor. At this 
moment Mr. and Mrs. Mason quietly came for- 
ward and asked the privilege of being allowed to 
take the entire responsibility of both finishing and 
furnishing the room. The lifting of such a heavy 
burden from Miss McKeen was an act that neither 
she nor her intimate friends could ever forget. 

Other gifts were made by Mr. Mason from time 


to time and after his death in 1909 his son gave into 
the hands of Miss Means the sum of a thousand 
dollars to be used for the school in memory of his 
father as she might think wise. The school has 
benefited not only from the generosity of Mr. 
Mason, but also from the influence of a fine gentle- 

At the annual meeting in June, 1890, the Trustees 
elected to their number Mr. Arthur S. Johnson, 
who served the school until 191 2 when the pressure 
of the work in which he had long been engaged in 
connection with the Y.M.C.A. of Boston led him to 
resign at Abbot Academy. 

He was always faithful to the routine work of the 
Board, generous with his time and his interest and 
his gifts. His resignation was greatly regretted by 
the Board and by those in the school who came in 
contact with him. 

At the same meeting in 1890, another business 
man from Andover, Mr. Horace H. Tyer, was 
chosen by the Trustees to become a member of the 
Board. For ten years Mr. Tyer was a most helpful 
Trustee, bringing to any question a quiet good sense 
and warm feeling which inspired confidence in his 
wisdom. He not only made gifts of money to supply 
various needs of the school but he gave thought to 
the social needs of both teachers and students, and 
many times the monotony of school life was greatly 
relieved by his courtesy in sharing his home with 
Abbot Academy. Ill health caused him to resign his 
office in 1900 but he left in the school a very delight- 
ful memory. 


One characteristic which Mr. Tver's friends do 
not forget is his intense love of flowers and his habit 
not only of filling his own home with rare and beauti- 
ful plants, but of sharing them most generously with 
his friends. One of the many times when his 
thoughtfulness for Abbot Academy added much to 
the beauty of an occasion was at the Draper Hall 
housewarming. Tall palms and tropic plants, the 
beautiful Genista with its wealth of sunshiny blos- 
soms, great pots of the dainty graceful maiden hair 
fern were grouped most effectively in the public 
rooms and near the stairways, while lovely cut 
flowers graced the dining-room tables, all giving to 
the entire house the needed touch of charm and the 
refinement of beauty. 

After the death of Professor Park, who had been 
President of the Board for over forty years, it was a 
very natural thing for the Trustees to add to their 
number in his place a man not only eminent in the 
church, but also one who would have a special inter- 
est in Abbot Academy. 

The Reverend Doctor E. Winchester Donald 
was born in Andover and prepared for Amherst 
College at the Punchard School. After being grad- 
uated from the Union Theological Seminary of New 
York he was rector of the Church of the Intercession 
at Washington Heights and later, of the Church of 
the Ascension in New York, and from there he was 
called to be the successor of Phillips Brooks as rector 
of Trinity Church in Boston. 

He was a man of dignified and impressive per- 
sonality; he had a genial smile, a melodious voice 


and a magnetic pulpit presence, and these qualities 
together with his great force of character contrib- 
uted much to his personal charm. 

As an Andover boy, he was always loyal to his 
native town, and he took hold of the work for Abbot 
Academy with a quick interest and a warmth of ap- 
preciation of its needs which made him most prompt 
to respond to any call for which he could spare time 
from his many other duties. 

The records of the Trustees impress one with the 
fact that he was rarely absent from Trustees' meet- 
ings, thus giving his careful attention to the regular 
business of the school. He was greatly interested in 
the work of the Alumnae Committee in their effort 
to raise the money for building McKeen Memorial 
Hall and he lent the influence of his personality and 
position to aid them. He was made chairman of the 
Trustee committee for this building fund. The 
chapter on McKeen Hall gives an account of a 
public meeting in the interest of Abbot Academy, 
held in the parlors of Trinity Church, over which Dr. 
Donald presided, and at which he spoke vigorously 
for the school. 

His death occurred at his summer home in Ipswich 
in August, 1904, and though his official connection 
with the school had lasted only four short years, yet 
he had served the school so gladly and so whole- 
heartedly that his loss was keenly felt. 

Mr. John Alden served the school most faith- 
fully from the time of his election to the Board of 
Trustees in 1900 until his death in April, 19 16, and 
for most of this period he was clerk of the Board. His 
profession as head of the Department of Chemistry 


in the Pacific Mills of Lawrence made him unique in 
his value to the school. Mention is made elsewhere 
of his invaluable help in the reconstruction of Abbot 
Hall into a science building. It was a rare privilege 
to have the devoted service of a man who stood at 
the top in his line of work, and was well known in 
scientific circles not only in this country but in other 

But his service to the school was not limited to 
establishing well-equipped laboratories. Even be- 
fore he was made a Trustee, he gave freely of his 
scientific knowledge to interest the school. More 
than once he turned Abbot Hall into an exhibition 
hall by arranging microscopes upon small tables 
around the walls of the room and showing some of 
the wonderful things in nature which a microscope 
reveals. More than once also has he given a finely 
developed lecture on the by-products of the distilla- 
tion of coal tar, generously illustrated at every step. 
Visits were made by the science classes to the mills to 
see the practical applications of science in daily work 
on a large scale. 

His scholarship, his wisdom, his genuine interest 
and sympathy in all that concerned the school made 
him of the greatest help to Trustees, Faculty, and 

In December, 1904, two able young business men 
both having Andover connections were elected to 
the Board of Trustees. Mr. Edward Coe Mills of 
Boston was always a faithful and valuable servant 
of the school until the time of his resignation in 19 13. 
Mr. George Ferguson Smith brought keen busi- 


ness insight and excellent judgment to the work and 
he is still ably serving the school. 

In October, 1905, the Reverend George A. 
Gordon, of the Old South Church, Boston, was 
elected to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Mr. 
Draper. Although heavily laden with many other 
duties, Dr. Gordon was always ready to give his 
advice and to place his wisdom at the service of the 
school so long as he was a member of the Board but 
increasing work forced him to resign in December, 

One other Trustee came upon the Board in 19 10 
just before the end of Miss Means's principalship, 
Mr. George Gilbert Davis of North Andover. 

Two others who are still in service are Judge 
Marcus Morton, who was elected in 1896 and the 
Reverend Markham W. Stackpole, who became 
a member of the Board in 1908. 

The Treasurership of the Board of Trustees 

The important office of Treasurer was held by Mr. 
Draper for twenty-five years, from 1876^1901. It 
was then taken over by Colonel Ripley on December 
11, 1 90 1, and held by him until October, 1902, when 
Samuel Lester Fuller was elected to the office. 
Mr. Fuller was then living in Andover and was a 
rising young business man of Boston. In 1906 Mr. 
Fuller moved to New York and in consequence he 
resigned the office of Treasurer of Abbot Academy. 
Mr. Fuller was a vigorous administrator of the 
finances of the school and looked forward to its 
enlargement and success. 

At a special meeting of the Trustees on July 9, 


1906, Mr. Burton Sanderson Flagg was elected 
as a member of the Board and also to the Treasurer- 
ship, the latter work to begin with the next fiscal 
year beginning September, 1906. 

Although Mr. Flagg was Treasurer of the Acad- 
emy during the last six years of Miss Means's service 
as Principal, the story of his wonderful work for the 
school should be told as a whole and hence it pro- 
perly belongs to a later period of school history. 



The work of The Alumnae Association, a strong but 
quiet daughter, "progressive, alert, and wise," as 
Miss McKeen described her, has gone on unceas- 
ingly since 1871, bringing benefits to the school 
every year. Beginning with a relatively small 
membership, it grew slowly at first by the addition 
of a few new members each year, but in recent times 
the yearly increase has been fairly large. The small 
individual fee of five dollars thus adds a goodly sum 
to the principal annually and the income increases 
quite regularly. The invested fund now amounts to 
more than seven thousand dollars, and a moment's 
reflection shows that it is a great help to the school 
to have frequently two or three hundred dollars 
which may be used to supply a need or a desire 
independently of the school treasury. 

The expense of putting in order and cataloguing 
the library has twice been met by the Alumnae As- 
sociation, first in 1893 and again in 1901. Gifts from 
the Association have been many. Valuable books, 
charts and maps; expensive physical and chemical 
apparatus; the first case for the card catalogue of 
school addresses ; a copying machine ; several micro- 
scopes; a stereopticon ; gymnastic apparatus for 
Davis Hall; hymn books for chapel use; seats for 
rooms in the McKeen Memorial; these are some of 


the things which have been supplied to the school by 
the income of the Alumnae Association Fund. 

The biggest piece of work undertaken by the 
Alumnae Association was the raising of money to 
build McKeen Memorial Hall. Hardly was McKeen 
Hall finished before work was begun on the erection 
of the John-Esther Art Gallery and also on the mak- 
ing over of old Abbot Hall into a finely equipped 
science building. These last two works represent the 
generosity of four members of the Association who 
had already given liberally to the McKeen Building 
Fund. Three of them, Mary McGregor Means, Ann 
Middleton Means, and Helen Smith Coburn, gave 
over ten thousand dollars for remodeling Abbot Hall 
and the fourth, Esther Smith Byers, was the donor 
of the Art Gallery. 

The constitution requires that a business meeting 
be held at Andover at Commencement time. Since 
1887 it has been the custom to have a social mid- 
winter gathering in Boston and for many years this 
took the form of a luncheon held at the old Parker 
House or at Hotel Vend6me. Then for a few years 
a social tea was substituted for the more formal 
luncheon. The famous McKeen Breakfast, given 
in 1892 in honor of Miss McKeen, is described in 
Volume II of her History. This event led up to the 
formation of the Boston Abbot Club. For a few 
years the Association and the Club each attempted 
to hold a large social gathering in Boston in the 
winter. At a meeting at the Hotel Vendome in 
February, 1897, Miss McKeen proposed that the 
Club and the Association should unite in the mid- 
winter social meeting. It is interesting to note that 


this custom, which has been a satisfactory one ever 
since that time, was the result of Miss McKeen's 
thought and was, probably, her last suggestion to 
the two bodies. 

The age of the Abbot Alumnae Association does 
not seem at first thought to be remarkable, but it 
may well be proud of the fact that it is seven years 
older than the Phillips Academy Association which 
was formed in June, 1878. In one other matter 
Abbot led the way for Phillips; for after some years 
the Phillips Association opened its ranks to all 
former members of the school whether or not they 
are graduates. 

One cannot write about the Alumnae Association 
without making mention of the two who have served 
in the office of secretary and treasurer for most of 
the years of its existence. Charlotte Swift of 
1858 was devoted to the interest of the Association 
and was its Secretary from 1871 until 1880. She 
had been brought up in an atmosphere of loving 
service to Abbot Academy. Her mother was one of 
the pupils of 1829 and her father was for many years 
the devoted Trustee and Treasurer of the school. 
All who knew her will remember her cheery face, her 
gracious hospitality, her interest in books and her 
love for her garden. 

Her successor in the office, also from the class of 
1858, was Agnes Park, whose period of service was 
from 1880 until her death in 1922. For forty- two 
years she was the faithful secretary and treasurer 
of the Association, and for ten years she was chair- 
man of the Alumnae Advisory Committee. No mat- 
ter who were the other members of the changing 


committee, she gave to it a sense of continuity and 
each year she brought a fresh and hearty interest as 
she came for the annual visit. She knew the school 
intimately for more than sixty years and her loyalty 
grew stronger with the passing of time. 

There were many other Andover Alumnae whose 
faithful attendance at the annual meeting of the 
Association on Commencement Day, year after 
year, has been one of the factors which have con- 
tributed largely to its strength and efficiency. 

The Alumnae Auxiliary Lecture Fund may well 
be considered as a memorial to its founder, Mrs. 
Henry B. F. Macfarland, better known as " Daisy 
Douglass," of the class of 1877, and also to Miss 
Maria Stockbridge Merrill, who later helped to put 
this fund into permanent form. 

Soon after leaving school, Mrs. Macfarland, in 
1 88 1, urged upon the Alumnae the need of more 
lectures in the school. Her earnest enthusiasm re- 
sulted in pledges from many Alumnae to pay a cer- 
tain sum annually for five years to provide such aid 
to instruction. For seventeen years Mrs. Macfarland 
made the yearly collection of these pledges and by 
her frequent appeals at the June meetings she 
secured new contributors to the Fund. 

Many distinguished names are found in the list of 
lecturers for the twenty years from 1892 to 1912. 
Professor William James of Harvard gave two most 
instructive and charming lectures in 1898; one 
called "A Certain Blindness in Human Beings"; 
the second, "What Makes Our Lives Significant"; 
thirty years have not sufficed to blot out the memory 
of those two evenings, and there are people who even 


now can recall the illustrations quoted by Professor 

Professor John Tyler of Amherst has given many 
times a series of two or more of his fascinating Bio- 
logy lectures ; Professor Charles A. Young, famous in 
all countries as an astronomer; Professor Heilprin, 
from the Philadelphia Academy of Natural Science, 
well known in geological circles; Edward Howard 
Griggs, celebrated for his lectures in Art; Dr. Rich- 
ard Burton, Dr. William Allan Neilson, and Dr. 
Henry van Dyke, all known for their fine literary 
taste and ability; — all these are but a few of the 
many fine lecturers brought to the school by this 
Alumnae Lecture Fund. 

At the Alumnae Meeting in June, 1908, Mrs. 
Macfarland resigned her labor of love as annual col- 
lector of this fund and Miss Emily Means and Miss 
Merrill were appointed to choose a committee to 
carry on Mrs. Macfarland 's work. It was difficult to 
find the person who had the leisure to attend to the 
matter. Miss Merrill felt keenly that a permanent 
fund should be collected and invested and the in- 
come used each year for lectures. After a time she 
took up the self-imposed task of making such a col- 
lection, setting five thousand dollars as her goal, 
which she soon reached. But the cost of lectures has 
increased greatly since 191 o and this fund is no 
longer sufficient to pay for all the lectures given at 
the school and it has to be supplemented from the 
school treasury. 



Miss McKeen has told a stirring tale in volume 
two of the raising of the fund to build Draper Hall, 
a work begun by her in 1886 at the request of the 
Trustees. Few people realize that originally the plan 
for new buildings included a central building with 
wings to house the students in French and German, 
and also a building for recitations. To carry out 
this larger plan demanded a greater fund than could 
be raised at one time, and the Trustees were obliged 
to limit the work to the erection of one building for 
residence, Draper Hall, which was opened in 1890. 
Great as was Miss McKeen's pleasure and satis- 
faction in the new residence hall, she never lost sight 
of the need of more and larger and better-equipped 
classrooms, but, so far as the writer knows, nothing 
definite was attempted in the remaining two years of 
her principalship. However, she had sown the seed 
of strong desire and this showed signs of life soon 
after Miss Watson's coming in September, 1892. 
A new Principal would be sure to recognize the 
cramped and inadequate accommodations for the 
academic work of the school, and in her quiet, un- 
assuming way Miss Watson fostered a feeling of 
unrest and dissatisfaction among the girls of the 
fall of 1892. There were in the Senior class, girls 
earnest in purpose, vigorous in mind, fertile in re- 


sources, and loyal to the school, and they took the 
lead in encouraging enthusiasm for a new school 
building, and in generous giving to start a fund for 
this purpose. One of the precious possessions of the 
school is a little piece of paper dated March 27, 

1893, and signed by Mr. Draper, and which read 

"Received from Miss Laura S. Watson 200 dol- 
lars, contributions from the students of Abbot 
Academy for a new school building." 

The value of this piece of paper is far greater than 
the two hundred dollars for which it is the receipt. 
But the girls who gave this initial sum did not limit 
themselves to giving money. On March 4, 1893, 
they sent the Senior President, Anna Tucker 
Nettleton, to the Boston Abbot Club to present to 
their older sisters the need of a new chapel and 
school building, and to urge them to make every 
possible effort towards its erection. On March 16, 

1894, an "Abbot Benefit" was given in Abbot Hall 
by the class of 1894. The programme was in two 
parts: "Scenes from Kenilworth," and "Studies 
from Greek and Roman Sculpture," and quite a 
sum of money was raised for the building fund. 
The girls of to-day, who have the comfort of the 
large stage in McKeen Hall and the surrounding 
space for the staging of plays, have no conception 
of the difficulties surmounted by the girls who pre- 
sented this "Abbot Benefit" in 1894. It is only 
their due to say that rarely has anything so beauti- 
ful been presented by any group of Abbot girls as 
were those scenes from " Kenil worth." 

A few days before Commencement Day of 1894, 


the announcement was made that a legacy of five 
thousand dollars had been left by Mrs. Phcebe Abbot 
Ballard Chandler, one of the group of pupils who 
gathered in Abbot Hall for the first session of May 
6, 1829, and that this legacy was to be added to the 
fund for new buildings. Thrilled by this news and 
stimulated to new effort, a mass meeting of students 
was held and pledges were made amounting to six 
hundred and sixty dollars, to be paid by October I, 
1894. At the same time the Trustees appointed a 
committee to consider plans for the new building, 
and to report at the next annual meeting. This 
committee, Professor John Phelps Taylor, Mr. 
Horace H. Tyer, and Professor John Wesley Church- 
ill, immediately began upon the work, but the girls 
did not cease to keep up their part of the work of 
reminding people of the need for a new school build- 

The "Courant" editors of 1895 placed at the 
beginning of the school journal for the June number 
the following paragraph in bold and impressive 

" Contributions however small will be received 
by the Courant and placed on interest for the pro- 
posed new Academy building. Will all readers of 
the Courant join in making this 'Fund' of sub- 
stantial help to old Abbot; and will each Courant 
subscriber solicit money and arouse enthusiasm of 
classmates and Abbot friends by conversation and 
letter writing. We need at once a fully equipped 
building with suitable accommodations for large 
classes, and an assembly room for the pupils and 
friends of the school on public occasions. 


"Address, Abbot Courant Building Fund, Abbot 
Academy, Andover." It is plain that by this time, 
June, 1895, a reliable beginning had been made 
towards plans for the needed school building and the 
work went on slowly and quietly for a few years. 
The death of Miss McKeen in May, 1898, crystal- 
lized the thought in the minds of several people, and 
at the Alumnae meeting in June, action was taken 
regarding a permanent memorial to Miss McKeen. 
A committee was appointed consisting of the newly 
elected Principal, Miss Means, the President and 
Secretary of the Alumnae Association, and also the 
President and Secretary of the Boston and of the 
New York Abbot Clubs. At the next midwinter 
meeting of the Alumnae Association and the Boston 
Club, held in Boston in February, 1899, a letter 
was read from the executive committee of the club 
making the definite proposition to erect a new school 
building as a memorial to the McKeen sisters, and 
Professor Churchill showed tentative plans for such 
a building. The Principal, Miss Emily Means, 
urged the need and laid emphasis on the strong 
desire of the Alumnae to express their love and grati- 
tude to Miss McKeen by such a memorial. A com- 
mittee was appointed to plan methods of reaching 
old scholars. On the afternoon of the first of June, 
1899, a public meeting of the McKeen Memorial 
Committee was held in the chapel of Trinity 
Church, Boston, and this meeting was addressed 
by the Reverend E. Winchester Donald, rector of 
Trinity. At this meeting pledges for one thousand 
dollars each were made by the two sisters, Anne 
and Mary Means, and for five hundred dollars by 


Miss Emily Means. To each member of the Alum- 
nae Committee of twelve women the school owes 
deep gratitude; but especially to its chairman, Miss 
Anne Middleton Means, and its treasurer, Miss 
Mary Frances Merriam, is credit due for the vigor- 
ous way in which the campaign for funds was 
carried on. At the midwinter meeting of the Alum- 
nae Association in February, 1900, they reported 
the sum of twenty-four thousand dollars, a good 
beginning on the sixty thousand which was the first 
estimate of the amount needed. In June, 1902, the 
fund was reported as amounting to forty-three 
thousand, three hundred and seventy-one dollars, 
a gain of about twenty thousand in less than eight- 
een months; a gain by constant small gifts. 

But while the work of accumulation was slow, it 
was steady, for interest did not flag in any group of 
workers. In the school itself the great desire to 
help is shown by the fact that the Senior class of 
1900, of 1 90 1, and of 1902, each gave its annual 
Senior play for the benefit of the McKeen building 
fund. And the Faculty did not lag behind. In 
May, 1901, four of them, assisted by several of the 
Andover Alumnae, together with friends from the 
Phillips Academy Faculty and from the Theological 
Seminary, gave a very successful entertainment in 
the Town Hall — "A Scrap of Paper" — which 
netted a goodly sum for the building fund. 

As for the Trustees, if you look at the records of 
the Board, you may read there a letter dated June 
20, 1902, written by Dr. Donald to Mr. Alden, and 
in it he shows very clearly how faithfully he has 
carried in his mind and heart the need of Abbot 


Academy. He states three reasons why, in his 
opinion, it would be wise for the Trustees to con- 
tract a debt of several thousand dollars in order 
that the McKeen Memorial Building might be 
started at once, and at the same time he himself 
pledged a certain sum annually towards the pay- 
ment of the interest on such a debt. In the record 
for December of that same year, 1902, another 
letter is found, this time from the Trustee who came 
forward at a similar critical moment in the history 
of the raising of the money to build Draper Hall 
and gave the sum needed to complete the amount 

This letter from Mr. Draper is very simple in its 
wording, but thrilling in its effect upon the inter- 
ested reader. He says, in brief, that in consideration 
of the increasing need and to avoid further delay of 
the work, he wishes to donate under certain condi- 
tions seven thousand five hundred dollars ($7500) 
towards building and furnishing the Memorial 
Building. He then states his conditions and closes 
the letter with this sentence : "This offer, the equiva- 
lent of one hundred dollars each of the seventy- 
five years of the three-quarter century life of the 
oldest incorporated academy in the country, ex- 
clusively for girls, is made in the hope that the 
building shall be completed before the close of that 
period." And lastly, at that same Trustees' meet- 
ing a second letter was presented offering the loan 
of funds to the amount of ten thousand dollars 
($10,000) to the building fund, and this was from 
the Principal of the school. 

All these evidences of willingness to help made it 


possible for the Trustees to begin on the work pre- 
liminary to actual construction, and Trustee meet- 
ings were necessary almost every week in the spring. 
By the time Commencement Day arrived, every- 
thing was ready for the laying of the corner-stone. 
This took place on Saturday, June 20, 1903. The 
exercises were simple but impressive. The school 
sang Mendelssohn's beautiful chorale, "Let All 
Men Praise the Lord," and Dr. Day, President of 
the Theological Seminary, made a prayer which 
fitly expressed the reverent gratitude of all present. 
Then followed a brief address by Professor Taylor, 
ending with the reading of the list of sixteen articles 
which had been placed in the box of the corner- 
stone. Then the workmen lowered the stone in 
place and with a threefold tap of the hammer, in the 
name of the Triune God, the stone was pronounced 
well and truly laid. The President of the class of 
1903, Elizabeth Walker Gilbert, the President of 
the Alumnae Association, Mrs. Emma Meacham 
Davis (A. A. 1875), the chairman of the Memorial 
Committee, Anne Middleton Means (A.A. 1861), 
the Principal of the school (A.A. 1869) and a repre- 
sentative from the Board of Trustees, Warren Fales 
Draper, together covered the stone with earth. 
Following this part of the ceremony, prayer was 
offered by the Reverend Frank R. Shipman, pastor 
of the South Church, the school sang "How Firm 
A Foundation," and the ceremony was closed with 
the benediction pronounced by Alfred E. Stearns of 
Phillips Academy. 

But this was not the end of good things for the 
fund. At the Alumnae Association meeting held 


later in the day, a letter from Dr. Donald was read 
in which he authorized Dr. Merriman to announce 
the gift of ten thousand dollars by Mr. George G. 
Davis of North Andover for the completion of the 
assembly hall in the new building, the same to be 
named Davis Memorial Hall in honor of his father, 
George L. Davis, whose period of service as Trustee 
had coincided almost exactly with the thirty-three 
years of Miss McKeen's principalship. This gift not 
only brought great satisfaction to the Alumnae, but 
it must have been especially pleasing to Dr. Donald, 
a close friend of Mr. Davis. 

Steadily through the weeks of the summer and of 
the school year of 1903-04 the work of building 
went on, and by June, 1904, the building was ready 
for dedication, at the time of the seventy-fifth 
anniversary of the opening of the school. Another 
simple but impressive programme was carried out. 
The school chorus chanted the psalm which has for 
so long a time been especially associated with the 
life of the school, " I will lift up mine eyes unto the 
hills," set to music by Mr. Downs, and Professor 
Taylor made the opening prayer of dedication. 
This was followed by Dr. Merriman's short and 
stirring address, and then came greetings from the 
institutions on the hill, brought by their respective 
heads, Dr. Day and Dr. Stearns. The ceremony 
closed with a prayer and benediction pronounced by 
Professor Hincks. 

After graduation exercises in the South Church 
the Alumnae returned to McKeen Hall and a lunch- 
eon was served to three hundred of them in the big 
upper room on the second floor. Miss Anna Dawes 


presided over the exercises following the luncheon 
and introduced each speaker in her own inimitable 
fashion. Miss Susanna Jackson spoke on the past of 
the school, paying special tribute to Phoebe Abbot 
Ballard Chandler, a member of the school in 1829 
and the friend who gave the first five thousand 
dollars to the building fund. Then followed Mrs. 
Macfarland, "Daisy Douglass," of 1877, and Mary 
Byers Smith of 1904 who spoke of the present of the 
school; Alice French of 1868, known to the literary 
world as "Octave Thanet," had for her subject 
"The Future"; another member of '68, Miss Mary 
Spalding, paid tribute to the McKeen sisters; and 
Miss Agnes Park of 1858 spoke of the work of the 
Memorial Fund Committee. And so the McKeen 
Memorial Building and the Davis Memorial Hall, 
the gift of Alumnae and close friends of the McKeen 
sisters were consecrated and given over to the school 
for its daily use, but there were still many details to 
be provided for the comfort of students and teachers. 
The classrooms were destitute of nearly every- 
thing necessary and the work of furnishing for stu- 
dents an adequate supply of modern chairs with 
arms is hardly yet completed (1929). Gifts from the 
Abbot clubs and from individuals and classes have 
supplied comfort and beauty to the building. A 
notable thing has been done by the class of '86 in 
framing and hanging upon the walls of the corridors 
many photographs of sculpture and of architecture 
famous in the art of the world. Seven beautiful large 
Greek casts which Dr. and Mrs. Merriman had 
recently brought from Europe to the school were 
placed upon the walls of the first floor corridor. 


As for Davis Hall, the school had purchased the 
movable apparatus needed to make a gymnasium 
of it in the hours when it was to be used for this 
work, but as yet there were no seats for it whenever 
it was to serve as a lecture or concert hall. Davis 
Hall had been formally dedicated on the twenty-first 
of June. Its stately and pleasing proportions, its 
beautiful barrel ceiling, the decorative organ loft 
over the ample entrance, the generous stage with 
its well-designed arch, the fine arrangement of its 
electric lighting, all made it a beautiful room to look 
at, but it was not yet comfortable to use since it was 
entirely empty of seating facilities. Perhaps Miss 
Means thought that the best way to secure the 
proper seats would be to emphasize the lack of them 
by opening the hall to the public by inviting them 
to a lecture. 

This first lecture was given on Tuesday evening, 
December 6, 1904, and all Andover was invited to 
hear Booker T. Washington, and most of Andover 
came. Dr. Merriman presided and introduced the 
lecturer who spoke on " The Race Problem and Tus- 
kegee Institute" with such vigor and rare fluency 
of language that the audience seemed to forget that 
they were seated on the hard wooden benches loaned 
in most friendly fashion by the town fathers from 
the town hall. The next issue of the Andover 
"Townsman" in commenting upon the lecture and 
the evident need of a modern seating outfit for 
Davis Hall, said, u How would it do for the excellent 
amateur theatrical and musical talent in town to 
prepare one of their excellent 'shows' and sell the 
seats at just the cost of a new single chair? The 


individual cost would be no more than a first class 
theater or symphony ticket and a beautiful hall 
would then be thoroughly equipped for a long time. 
We'll give all the printing as the first contribution to 
the expense." But before this friendly and generous 
suggestion by the "Townsman" could be carried 
into effect, Mr. George G. Davis of North Andover 
again came forward and again made the school his 
debtor by furnishing Davis Hall with more than 
five hundred chairs. About the same time a stage 
curtain was purchased with the money which had 
been made by the play given in 1903 by some of the 
Abbot Faculty and their friends. 

On the lowest floor of McKeen Hall was a large 
room for the use of the day scholars, but it was 
merely a bare room containing nothing but an old 
discarded wooden table and chair. The day scholars 
of 1904-05 were inspired with the idea of furnishing 
the room themselves without waiting for a gift 
from Alumnae or friends ; so they set about preparing 
a play which was presented on the stage of Davis 
Hall the evening of Tuesday, January 24, 1905. 
It was a charming Japanese play, "The Revenge of 
Shari-Hot-Su," and was remarkably well given by 
these young girls. It ought to be a matter of pride 
to all day scholars to remember that the first play 
given on the Davis Hall stage was given by them, 
and that even though the entrance fee was the 
modest sum of thirty-five cents they netted money 
enough to buy a handsome oak table and several 
oak chairs to use as a study table and chairs. A long 
window seat was furnished with thick cushions and 
luxurious pillows: several pictures for the walls were 


given by interested friends but the gift which was 
most pleasing to the day scholars was that of the 
table furnishings and a waste basket from the girls 
of Draper Hall. 

The class of 1905 naturally rejoiced in the spa- 
cious stage and hall and the wonderful new chairs, 
as they presented on Tuesday evening, April 25, 
1905, the first Senior play to be given in Davis Hall, 
Shakespeare's "Two Gentlemen of Verona. " Theirs 
was the year of "first things," and on the evening of 
June 13, the classes of 1905 and 1906 enjoyed the 
thrilling experience of a reception and dance given 
them by the Trustees, the first "Prom" at Abbot 
Academy — this having been made not only possi- 
ble, but, as Miss Means remarked, inevitable, by the 
possession of the beautiful Davis Hall. 

At Commencement time in June, 1905, the school 
was able for the first time since its early days to 
invite its friends to hear the musicale and the 
Draper reading in a spacious and comfortable hall, 
large enough to receive all who wished to come, and 
thus Davis Hall became an indispensable part of the 
school life. 

The story of the building of McKeen Memorial 
and Davis Hall is a story of the greatest importance 
in the history of the school, for it is the record of the 
love and loyalty of its students, its Alumnae and 
friends, both for the McKeen sisters and for the 
school itself. This story gives the thoughtful person 
quite a different feeling from that of the building of 
any other one of the halls. Abbot Hall was built 
before there were any Abbot girls; Smith Hall was 
given by two wealthy men and furnished by the 


work of Andover women; Draper Hall was due 
largely to the effort of Miss McKeen and the 
generosity of Mr. Draper; the John-Esther Art 
Gallery with its contents was the bequest of an 
Abbot girl and is a memorial to her and her hus- 
band ; the Infirmary represents especially the inter- 
est and the effort of Professor and Mrs. Taylor as 
well as their generous gifts. All these buildings are 
due almost wholly to the efforts and the gifts of 
mature people. But McKeen Hall represents to a 
large degree the enthusiasm, the faith, the desire and 
the vigorous effort of young girls. From 1892 to 
1904 the girls in the school were constantly working 
to secure, first a beautiful school building, and later 
a fitting memorial to Miss McKeen, and their de- 
termined effort was a powerful factor in the work. 
The impatience and the restlessness, the vigor and 
the exaltation, the joy and the beauty of youth 
belong most fittingly to the atmosphere of McKeen 



The Art Gallery is unique in its history. Of all 
the buildings now forming Abbot Academy it is the 
only one which represents the generosity of but one 

Esther Smith Byers was a native of Andover 
and attended Abbot Academy from 1848 to 1852 and 
again for the year 1853-54. She was married to 
John Byers in 1865 and moved to New York, but 
she was always a constant visitor in Andover and 
finally built for herself a lovely summer home on the 
site of the old Congregational parsonage which had 
been for many years the home of the Means family. 
This brief statement shows her intimate connection 
with Andover life for many years. After her death in 
1904, it was found that she had left a wonderful 
tribute of her love for her native Andover and her 
loyalty to Abbot Academy by giving to the school 
all the paintings, the bronzes, the pieces of statuary, 
the engravings and other works of art which had 
been contained in her New York home, together 
with the sum of forty thousand dollars to erect a 
fireproof building to hold and exhibit them. The 
conditions of the will required that the building 
should be erected within two years, that it should be 
conveniently located on the Academy grounds for 
access by the Andover public, and that it should be 
called the John-Esther Art Gallery, thus uniting her 
own name with that of her husband. 


The Trustees accepted this trust and at once made 
a careful study of the grounds and buildings that the 
location might be satisfactory. It was decided to 
place the building between Abbot Hall and School 
Street in order that it should be easily accessible to 
the public without disturbing the privacy of the 
school grounds. The Gallery was to seem to be a 
wing of Abbot Hall, although really distinct from it, 
as would be required in a fireproof building. It was 
to carry out the colonial style of Abbot Hall and the 
exterior was to be made of similar material. Ground 
was broken on May 10, 1906, and when the school 
reopened in September, 1906, the exterior was 
nearly completed, and already the new building 
seemed very much a part of the old building. The 
finishing of the interior and the proper placing of the 
various art objects left by Mrs. Byers to fill it re- 
quired some months, but at last came the time for 
the ceremony of dedication and the formal opening 
on the evening of February 26, 1907. The exercises 
were simple and impressive, beginning with music, a 
setting of Whittier's poem, "The Hero," written by 
Mr. Downs for the occasion and sung by the school. 
Following this came a brief statement made by Dr. 
Merriman, President of the Board of Trustees, and 
then the address by the orator of the occasion, Presi- 
dent Charles W. Eliot of Harvard University. His 
subject was "The Durable Satisfactions of Life." A 
trio from Schumann's "Paradise and the Peri" was 
sung by the school and then the audience was in- 
vited to visit the Gallery and enjoy the art collec- 
tions in it. 

The Gallery is open Saturday afternoons through- 


out the year for the benefit of the Andover public 
and also at other times when there are special exhi- 
bitions. The fireproof construction and the very 
satisfactory lighting of the building soon made it 
evident that it would be possible to secure fine spe- 
cial exhibits, and also that people having valuable 
pictures would find it a convenient and desirable 
thing to loan them to the school. For many winters 
four beautiful oil paintings by Charles H. Davis and 
a water-color snow scene by Dodge MacKnight were 
regularly on exhibition, loaned by Miss Anne 
Means. In 1909, a private collection of fourteen 
oils owned by Mrs. Augustus E. Bachelder of An- 
dover was hung in the Gallery. This collection in- 
cluded one Corot, two scenes by Tenier, a Didier, and 
several other examples of the work of well-known 
artists. Other Andover friends have been glad to 
loan pictures to the Gallery for a longer or shorter 
time. The first large special exhibition was that of 
the sea pictures of Charles Woodbury held in May, 
1909. That same year there was a fine exhibit of a 
dozen or more oils loaned by R. C. and N. M. Vose 
of the Vose Galleries in Boston. 



Old Abbot Hall as it now stands is most truly a 
memorial not only to the woman whose name it 
bears, but also to the three generous Alumnae who, 
at the critical moment of its history, made the gifts 
necessary to change it into a " Science Building" in 

While the plans for building McKeen Memorial 
Hall were being decided upon and then enthusi- 
astically carried out, the question concerning the 
use to be made of Abbot Hall was puzzling Trustees, 
Principal, and Faculty. Erected in 1828-29, facing 
School Street, moved to its present position at right 
angles to the original site in 1888 and somewhat re- 
modeled as to interior, it had become necessary to 
make it over a second time if it was to be an impor- 
tant unit in the expanding Abbot Academy. As 
early as 1902, the Trustees had carefully considered 
the desirability of making the two lower floors of the 
building into rooms which should be fitted up for use 
in the various sciences. To make such a change 
would require several thousand dollars, and to secure 
such a sum from Alumnae immediately after their 
generous gifts for building McKeen Memorial Hall 
seemed a big undertaking and a severe test of the 
loyalty of old girls. It was therefore specially pleas- 
ing to the school and a cause for great gratitude, that 


three "old girls" who had given generously to the 
McKeen Memorial Fund came forward and quietly 
pledged the thousands needed to put Abbot Hall 
into the condition of greatest usefulness. 

The changes made on the first and second floors 
are described in the chapter on Science. It was most 
satisfactory to old girls and friends that it was pos- 
sible to keep unchanged the old chapel, the room 
most intimately connected with the life of the 
school. A bronze tablet on the wall at the foot of the 
stairway commonly used by the students briefly 
records the history of Abbot Hall and the names 
of the three generous Alumnae, Helen G. (Smith) 
Coburn, 1854, Anne Middleton Means, 1861, and 
Mary McGregor Means, 1869. The death of Mary 
Means in 1904 and of Mrs. Coburn in 1905 left Anne 
Means the only one of the three to see, in 1906, the 
finished results of their gifts. 

Mrs. Coburn had been a warm friend of Miss 
McKeen, but although her connection with the 
school became less intimate in later years, there are 
many evidences of her continued interest in it. In 
March, 1892, just before Miss McKeen left the 
school, Mrs. Coburn sent to the Trustees a check for 
two thousand dollars to establish a scholarship for 
Andover girls, and after her death in 1905 her will 
was found to contain a bequest to the school of ten 
thousand dollars. In the Mason Drawing Room in 
Draper Hall there stands a beautiful cabinet, a 
choice specimen of Chinese art and workmanship. 
This came to the school as a gift from the Coburn 
home in Andover and with its contents, an interest- 
ing collection of shells and minerals made by Mr. 


Coburn in his travels, forms a delightful reminder of 
the loyal generosity of an "old girl." 

Anne Means had already given lavishly of her 
time, her strength, and her influence as Chairman of 
the McKeen Memorial Building Fund, as well as of 
her money, and her interest in these matters brought 
her often in contact with the school. She was in the 
habit of spending several months of the year in her 
summer home in Andover and many in the school 
had the chance to know and admire and enjoy this 
woman of strong character, delightful humor and 
charming social gifts, and to many old girls "Miss 
Anne" is a delightful memory. The fiction depart- 
ment of the Library owes much to her generosity, for 
it was her habit each autumn, as she closed her An- 
dover home, to send up to the school the collection 
of novels which had accumulated during the long 
summer. Later the Art Gallery was enriched for 
many winters by the loan of several valuable 
paintings from this same Andover home, notably a 
group of four beautiful landscapes by Charles H. 
Davis, which the Gallery has greatly missed since 
the death of "Miss Anne" in 1923. 



In 1893, the Andover paper and several Boston 
newspapers contained brief paragraphs concerning 
the representation of Abbot Academy at the World's 
Fair in Chicago. Mr. and Mrs. Draper spent a 
month in or near Chicago for the purpose of visiting 
the Fair and Miss McKeen was with them for at 
least a part of this time. Soon after the Fair opened, 
Miss McKeen noticed an exhibit by Lasell Seminary 
made in a small space in the Woman's Building, and, 
with her quick thought for anything which might 
benefit Abbot Academy, she suggested to the Dra- 
pers the advantage of having a space which might 
be used for exhibiting photographs of the school and 
specimens of work done in it, and also as a social 
center for the meeting of Abbot friends. 

At once Mr. Draper secured Space 47 in the Or- 
ganization Room of the Woman's Building, and 
there he and Miss McKeen arranged the photo- 
graphs and the test papers, essays, records of scientific 
experiments, language and mathematics papers and 
the art work, all of which were collected from the 
regular work of the school. Well do those who were 
concerned in it remember the strenuous efforts made 
by teachers and students to collect this exhibit to be 
sent on to Chicago as promptly as possible. With 
their unfailing interest the Drapers gave not only 


much time to this undertaking, but they also bore 
all the expense of it. 

The effort was successful as a social experiment, as 
is shown by the long list of names recorded in the 
Visitors* Book. The exhibit earned splendid recogni- 
tion for the school from the officials of the Columbian 
Exposition, as is shown by the certificate of award 
which for more than thirty years has hung on the 
wall of the corridor near the guest entrance of 
Draper Hall. Miss McKeen herself also received 
from the Board of Lady Managers a Diploma in 
recognition of her efforts in arranging the exhibit, 
and a letter from the Chairman on Awards. These 
two documents hang upon the walls of the Library 
and are tokens of a recognition of which the school is 
justly proud. A bronze medal was also received. 

The following paragraphs from the "Courant" 
express the feelings of old girls concerning the ex- 

141 Space 47, Organization Room, Woman's Build- 
ing,' is now a familiar term to many Abbot Acad- 
emy girls. Among the bewildering memories of the 
World's Fair, 'Space 47' will henceforth be lighted 
by a special glint of sunshine, and will awaken a 
warm, home-feeling about the heart. This was the 
meeting-place where, surrounded by photographs of 
the school buildings and grounds, and interior views 
of familiar rooms, the old scholars recorded their 
names and often experienced pleasant surprises in 
greeting old school friends. 

"The Register kept here covers large geographi- 
cal limits, extending from Maine upon the North- 
east, to Colorado, Utah, and California upon the 


West, and from Minnesota and Dakota upon the 
North, to Florida, Louisiana, and New Mexico on 
the Southern border. The dates of connection with 
the school reach back from 1893 to 1839, ten years 
from the birthday of Abbot Academy. The list of 
three hundred and fifteen names is interesting read- 

A few years later, through the influence of the 
Boston Abbot Club, the school was represented at 
the Atlanta Exposition, but this exhibit was on a 
smaller scale. The collection forming the exhibit 
consisted of "Courants," pamphlets, and various 
souvenirs of events in the history of the Academy. 
There were also two groups of photographs framed 
in oak, and a Register modeled upon the one which 
did such good service at the World's Fair in Chicago. 



In Miss McKeen's day the work in physical educa- 
tion was limited to classes in gymnastics under the 
care of a pupil teacher, and at that time the exercise 
was probably chiefly drill with Indian clubs and 
dumb-bells. The catalogue of 1883 contains on the 
list of Faculty the name of Mary Robbins Hillard, 
of the class of '83 ; that of '84 has the name of Jane 
Lincoln Greeley, of the class of '84; in 1885 we find 
Addie Isabel Fogg of '85, and in 1886 occurs the 
name of Julia M. Spear, of the class of '86; all of 
them teaching gymnastics in their senior year. 

From 1886 to 1890 no name appears on the list 
of Faculty as teacher of gymnastics, but as Miss 
Greeley was then a regular member of the Faculty 
teaching Latin, she also gave all the gymnastic drill. 
In the winter of 1890-91, there were two voluntary 
classes of twenty-five pupils each, instructed twice a 
week in the Swedish system of gymnastics by Miss 
Maude Hopkins, from the Boston Normal School of 
Gymnastics. In 1891-92, the work begun by Miss 
Hopkins was continued by Miss Catherine F. Ped- 
rick of Lawrence, who was also a graduate of the 
Boston Normal School. 

In September, 1892, Miss Jeannie Jillson, A. A. 
1887, returned to the school as teacher of gymnastics 
and elocution, but after a few weeks she was obliged 
to give up the work because of ill health, and the 
year's work was completed by Miss Lilian Northrop 


Stoddard, a graduate of Wellesley College in the 
famous class of 1880. 

In September, 1893, Evelyn Farnham Durfee took 
charge of the two departments of elocution and gym- 
nastics and carried on the work until she resigned 
from the position in June, 1910, after seventeen 
years of most successful work. Of the class work in 
gymnastics during all these years there is no need to 
speak, as that was carried on with regularity, and 
according to methods well established, but the inter- 
esting part of the subject is the slow development of 
the idea of regular outdoor sports for girls. 

The very first number of the " Courant," published 
in June, 1873, several times makes mention of out- 
door sports, but evidently the two which were of 
interest to the editors were baseball and croquet. 
The two classes of '73 and '74 were reported each of 
them as having formed a "Nine." 

An editorial in the "Courant" of January, 1894, 
shows that the desirability of regular sports for girls 
was a question coming before the girls themselves 
and this wise young editor says: "The introduction 
of athletics into girls' schools and colleges is becom- 
ing a topic of general conversation. It is a well- 
known fact that to be strong physically, mentally 
and morally, one must have a certain amount of 
good healthful exercise. But the question is, Where 
shall the line be drawn? Shall we be content with a 
few indoor sports or shall we plunge heart and soul 
into the rough and tumble of many an outdoor 
game? There is a happy medium and there the 
young girl athlete should pause before she makes her 
choice of sports." 


Tennis is evidently considered by the editor as a 
sufficiently safe and ladylike sport and she recom- 
mends it as a healthful exercise. The same number 
of the "Courant" chronicles a successful tennis 
tournament in which there were twenty-two entries 
and for which the first prize was an Abbot souvenir 
spoon and the second was a book of etchings ! Now- 
adays, in 1929, the winner is sufficiently rewarded by 
having her name cheered by her schoolmates and by 
the thought of the number of points she has made, 
although her name may also be engraved upon the 

For some years after this there seems to have been 
no special interest in athletics. The "Courant" re- 
ports frequent entertainments by the elocution 
department on Saturday afternoons, and the 
Draper readings and plays seem to go on regularly 
with great interest but there was no apparent inter- 
est in sports. At last, in 1897, it is reported that 
there is lively interest in basket-ball throughout the 
fall, and that the choosing of permanent sides in- 
creased this interest. These sides, or teams, were 
captained by two teachers, Miss Durfee and Miss 
Terrill, and a young theologue gave his services as 
coach. Various kinds of athletic " clubs " were formed 
from time to time. In 1896, the girls of Smith Hall 
organized a walking club, and long walks to Prospect 
Hill and Mill's Hill and Foster's Pond were greatly 
enjoyed. This voluntary club was thus the fore- 
runner of the present day " chaperoned walks." 

In 1897, bicycle riding had become an interesting 
form of exercise for women, and an editorial in the 
"Courant" of June, 1897, reads as follows: 


"The introduction of bicycle riding in Abbot 
Academy was attended with some perturbation 
from within and some slight criticism from friends 
outside who feared difficulties in connection with 
such pleasure in an academic town. The members of 
the Faculty, however, agreed to learn to ride in order 
that they might act as chaperons, and at the begin- 
ing of the spring term enough teachers had gained 
control of the bicycle to make it possible for a party 
to ride several times a week. A bicycle club of 
twenty-eight members has been formed but the 
whole company has never been on the road to- 
gether. The largest party that has gone out together 
is thirteen and the longest distance is fifteen miles. 
The roads to North Andover, to Ballardvale, to 
Lawrence, the old Turnpike and Salem Street have 
become familiar ground. The gains to the school 
have been most gratifying ; with the increased love 
of Andover which must always come with the 
memory of the beautiful background of so many 
happy times, has come, too, a renewed enthusiasm 
for work and an added zeal in improving the oppor- 
tunities which the school courses afford. " 

The degree of self-sacrifice to which the Faculty 
attained is worthy of note. They even cut off a day 
from their own spring vacation in order to have 
extra training from a young bicycle expert who came 
out from Boston on the day school closed and gave 
lessons to all (or most of) the Faculty, who patiently 
rode around, and around, and around the circle in the 
hope of attaining sufficient skill to make it possible 
for parties of girls to be chaperoned on rides in the 
coming spring term. And some of them did ! 


Nothing more is heard concerning these clubs. 
In 1898, the interest in basket-ball seems to be re- 
vived, and in the spring term of 1899 a new and in- 
creasing interest in athletics was shown. This was 
first exhibited in the effort made to secure a dirt 
tennis court, and when this was completed great en- 
thusiasm was shown for the tennis tournament 
which followed. The announcement that June 7, 
1899, would be a day devoted to athletic sports 
aroused the girls to begin the training which should 
develop muscle and skill. Seniors and Senior Mid- 
dlers chose baseball nines and began practice; 
basket-ball teams were newly organized and began 
work under Miss Chickering's coaching; other girls 
began training with Miss Durfee for the hundred- 
yard dash, shot-put, hurdle races, broad jump, 
walking matches, three-legged race, and the slow 
bicycle race. A group of four pictures of Field Day 
activities forms the frontispiece of the "Courant" 
for June, 1899, and as a study in athletic costume of 
the "late nineties" it is well worth examination. 
The description of this first Field Day was given 
with great restraint on the part of the "Courant," 
even though some of the successful competitors in 
the games were members of the board of editors. In 
the light of later history it is interesting to note that 
the Faculty and Senior class of Bradford Academy 
were the guests of honor of the day; also that the 
baseball game was very graciously umpired by a 
well-known member of the present Faculty of 
Phillips Academy, Mr. Freeman ! 

The next number of the "Courant," which ap- 
peared in December, 1899, says that "the athletic 


spirit that was so conspicuous on Field Day last 
June has not waned this fall," and it continues to 
speak not only of the various games already enjoyed 
by the school, but also it says, "But the new golf 
links at the back of the grove has proved the attrac- 
tion — a dangerous rival to the older sports. Here 
again we must thank a member of the Ripley family. 
It was Colonel Ripley's generosity that made the 
new dirt (tennis) court possible; Mr. Alfred Ripley's 
skill that marked out our new links with the six 
well-placed holes, and his generosity which furnished 
the red flags and flagpoles. The course starts under 
the shadow of Sunset Lodge, crosses Maple Walk, 
skirts the edge of the grove, jumps the ditch, runs 
across the open pasture and finally ends by a return 
drive dangerously near the bramble bushes. The 
greens are in good condition, there are bunkers and 
hazards and everything to make golf most popular." 
With great wisdom and insight shown by the young 
writer the editorial ends thus: "We welcome this 
new athletic spirit. It means hours spent in good 
vigorous exercise on the campus; it means health and 
strength and above all the growth of that school 
spirit which should fill every loyal heart." However, 
that these wise young editors were still a bit frivolous 
is evidenced now and then, as we see these lines 
which head one of the advertising pages, where per- 
haps they escaped the critical eye of the Faculty 

"There is a new golf course at Abbot, 
And each afternoon 'tis the habit, 
Of each skillful maiden, with many clubs laden. 
To skip round the course like a rabbit." 


June 6, 1900, was set apart for the second Field Day 
and it was reported to be as great a success as was the 
first. The same guests of honor came from Bradford 
Academy and again the baseball game seems to be 
the most interesting event in the eyes of the girls, 
perhaps more interesting because again it was hon- 
ored by having as umpire another well-known Phil- 
lips Academy instructor, Mr. Alfred E. Stearns. 

In the fall of 1900, a croquet ground was laid out 
and many enthusiastic croquet parties were en- 
joyed, although it was evidently looked upon by the 
more athletic girls as a rather "ladylike sport," as 
witness these lines in the "Courant": 

"And then perhaps at half-past four, 
Wide open swings the tower door, 

And out come they 

Who play croquet 
To while away an hour or more. 

"But no athletic maidens these, 
No falling hairpins do they seize; 
Each one is dressed 
All in her best, 
They look as pretty as you please." 

A riding school was started in Andover in the 
summer of 1901, and a goodly number of girls 
eagerly took advantage of the opportunity for 
horseback riding that fall, but nothing could equal 
in interest the playing of basket-ball because of 
the challenge which was received from Bradford 

Basket-ball, as already stated, had been intro- 
duced in 1897 with some enthusiasm shown by a few 
girls, and the playing of a few games among them- 


selves but the interest was not very widespread 
or steady in the school. This was probably partly 
due to the fact that the game as it was first played, 
and was coached, seemed somewhat rough and it re- 
pelled some girls. In 1899, the interest was again 
aroused and four teams were formed which played 
together twice a week, and after a few weeks of work 
a "first team" was chosen for Seniors and Senior 
Middlers, but in 1901, the enthusiasm of the whole 
school was roused by the challenge sent from Brad- 
ford Academy and accepted by Abbot to play a 
game of basket-ball on November 13. The game 
was played at the Haverhill Y.M.C.A. Gymnasium 
and was well played by both sides with a final score 
in favor of Bradford. 

The next spring Abbot challenged Bradford to a 
game on the Abbot Field on April 28, 1902, and this 
game also resulted with a score of 5-2 in Bradford's 
favor. The two schools by this time seemed to be 
well started in a basket-ball contest, and almost as a 
matter of course a game was arranged in the fall for 
November II, 1902, and this time Abbot was the 
victor with a score of 5-4. This victory was cele- 
brated in the evening by a candlelight procession of 
the school to visit Mr. and Mrs. Draper, and Miss 
Means honored the team by giving it a luncheon 

What happened in basket-ball history in 1903 
seems lost in darkness, but in 1904, on the afternoon 
of May 25, the first and second teams and the Seniors 
went to Bradford for the game of the year. The 
company started out as a rather subdued crowd, be- 
cause Abbot girls knew that Bradford had been prac- 


ticing during the winter, while the Abbot team had 
put in but two weeks' practice since late fall. They 
returned full of enthusiasm, having made a score of 
17-9 against Bradford. In the spring of 1905, on 
May 10, the school returned from Bradford disap- 
pointed but cheerful after losing the annual game, the 
score being 22-6, and the fall game on October 25 
was also a victory for Bradford, with the score 5-2. 

The next number of the "Courant" contains a 
very plain editorial on the previous lack of sufficient 
school spirit in sports, remarking that the fall of 1905 
was the first season in the history of the games that 
the girls had turned out to watch the practice in 
sufficient numbers to make the players feel that they 
were interested in the athletic standing of the school. 
The editorial continues thus: "We sincerely hope 
that this spirit will continue through the year, so 
that we may make the Indoor Meet and Field Day 
noted for records, and win the basket-ball game in 
the spring. For we want to win the next basket-ball 
game, — we have been defeated three times to 
Bradford's twice; we have been out-played for two 
years. We have been told lately that it is a great 
thing to learn to be defeated cheerfully; we have 
studied that lesson and we hope we have learned it 
thoroughly; but it is just as great a thing, and inci- 
dentally much more fun, to learn to take victory 
wisely. So let us be up and doing something in the 
way of sports, and whatever we do, whether we 
play hockey, skate, run, jump or play basket-ball, 
let us play first for the sake of the game and then for 
the love of the school and the hope of victory." 

Whether or not this editorial was the cause of a 


change, the next game on May 4, 1906, was won by 
Abbot with a score of 14-8 and there was great re- 
joicing. The next game was at Bradford on May 4, 
1907, with a tremendous victory for Bradford, the 
score being 35-5, but the story was reversed in 1908 
when, on May 12, Abbot won on her own field, mak- 
ing 23 points to Bradford's 16. In 1909, the game on 
the Bradford field resulted in victory for Bradford, 
43-6. In 1910, on May 11, Abbot again won on its 
own field, 20-12 being the score, but better than 
this was the game on May 20, 191 1, when Abbot suc- 
ceeded in winning a signal victory on her opponent's 
field, making a record of 22-11. With pride we 
record that our present Alumna Trustee, Miss 
Dorothy Bigelow, played goal. The last chronicle in 
basket-ball for the twenty years 1 892-1912 is a 
victory for Abbot on her own field on May 22, 1 91 2, 
when she made a score of 25 points against 18 by 
Bradford. And the story of the games is still going 

Field hockey was introduced into the school in 
1903, and in 1904 Bradford accepted a challenge to 
play the game at Abbot on November 14, but when 
the day dawned cold and snowy, the game was im- 
possible. The Bradford teams were invited to a 
dance in Davis Hall and a dinner, which was much 
enjoyed by both schools. The Abbot Hockey Team 
was in good condition and had profited greatly by 
the coaching of Miss Applebee, who had come over 
from England to start the game in girls' colleges, and 
both sides were disappointed that the game could 
not be played. 

The next year on October 25, 1905, the two schools 


met on the Bradford field and Bradford won 5-2. 
In 1906, no date could be arranged for playing with 
Bradford, and Abbot had to be content with some 
good class hockey games in the fall, the Senior 
Middlers winning. In 1907, on November 13, the 
game was played at Bradford with the score 3-2 in 
favor of Bradford, but Abbot won on her own field in 
1908, October 31, the score being 7-2, and again on 
the Bradford field on November 10, 1909, making 2 
points to Bradford's 1. In 1910 on November 2, 
Bradford met Abbot on the Abbot field and made 6 
points to Abbot's 4. In 191 1, the game was played 
on November 1 1 on the beautiful large new field of 
regulation size which Bradford had acquired, and 
Bradford won, the score being 6 to 3. After 1912, the 
two yearly contests were kept up for a few years, but 
the pressure of the many spring functions in both 
schools finally made it necessary to give up the 
spring meet and to concentrate all effort upon the 
Abbot-Bradford Field Day now held only in the 

Interesting and exciting as were the contests with 
Bradford, nothing quite equaled the feeling that 
the girls had for their own Field Day. Beginning in 
1899 with a few simple observances as to decoration 
and class costume and parade, these ideas were 
passed on as customs and they were added to each 
year until in a few years there had grown up quite 
an elaborate formality of decoration of buildings and 
even of the grounds. 

The school was divided into two camps — the 
Seniors with their followers against the Senior 
Middlers and their companions, and great rivalry 


had grown up between the two groups. At last when 
the decorations were begun on Tuesday at 3.30 in the 
afternoon with a strong feeling of contest in the 
matter, the Faculty felt the need of imposing a few 
strict rules. The chief of these limitations was that 
no decorations could be placed a second before a 
stated time, six o'clock Wednesday morning. But 
whether the situation was really improved became a 
doubtful question. 

For weeks before the great day the two upper 
classes were busy with secret preparations of class 
costumes and with bright ideas for a brilliant class 
parade, and although each side was trying to find out' 
what the other was doing the secrets were in general 
wonderfully well kept. When the morning of Field 
Day came the Senior group went over to Mrs. 
Draper's to prepare themselves for the parade and 
the Senior Middle group did the same at Davis Hall. 
At nine o'clock the Faculty and the few invited 
guests gathered on the steps of Abbot Hall to watch 
the advance of the Seniors as they came across the 
street and marched around the circle singing their 
class songs. When they had finished and taken their 
position, massing themselves effectively together, 
then the same attention was given to the Senior 
Middlers as they came out from Davis Hall. Usually 
the parade was quite elaborate ; one year one of the 
groups wound a May Pole; at another time some 
lovely dances were given on the green circle. The 
mascot was, of course, an important figure, whether 
it was a little girl dressed in green and white driving 
a much-decorated pony cart, or two little boys in 
purple and white dressed as clowns, or a little white 


pig decked out in a red blanket on which were the 
numerals '07 in white. One year the Seniors ap- 
peared as chrysanthemums, each weaing a little 
close bonnet covered with yellow petals, and they 
were followed by the Senior Middlers as Kate Green- 
away girls in lavender and white. These are only a 
few random memories of the many ideas which were 
carried out in different years. There was a very 
definite desire to have the day not only one in which 
the physically strong and skillful should contest, but 
also one in which the element of beauty should have 
a recognized place and should give to the girl who 
might not be athletic but who might have other 
gifts, an opportunity to use them. 

After the parade and the decision of the judges as 
to the winner, there began the exhibition of deco- 
rated hoops and hoop races, and sometimes a slow 
bicycle race and always an obstacle race, all car- 
ried on around the circle for the special purpose of 
giving to Mrs. Draper who sat in her armchair look- 
ing out of her own window, the pleasure of seeing the 
pretty sight and enjoying the fun. Later the track 
events and the games were carried on in their proper 
places at the rear of Draper Hall. 

The uninvited visitors ranged along the front 
fence or along the Abbot Street wall were usually ap- 
preciative and seemed to enjoy the sights, and doubt- 
less they contributed to the pleasure of the day for 
the competitors. Of course this old-fashioned Field 
Day was not carried on according to modern scien- 
tific methods, and it would not satisfy the girls of 
1929, but the school that entered into it loved it, and 
it had its own special merits, probably good for the 


time ; and it has even been whispered by some of the 
Faculty of those days that, even while they approve 
the well-regulated, sedate, and proper observance of 
the Field Day of later times, it does not give the same 
thrill as did that of the earlier, exciting days. 

In the fall of 1904 there was adopted a system by 
which daily exercise of some kind was required of 
each girl and a careful individual record was kept, 
and also each girl was required to have a physical 
examination. A general drill once a week for the 
entire school in addition to the gymnastic class work 
was established, and the new gymnasium was used 
in the winter for basket-ball, while hockey became 
the regular outdoor game of the fall and was coached 
by one of the best hockey coaches in the country. 
The idea of sport for the sake of the pleasure in it 
became the underlying idea of all the athletic work 
and has become stronger as the work has developed 
in the years since 1912. 



The progressive nature of Miss McKeen and her 
readiness to adapt herself to the changing times is 
seen even in the last days of her life as principal. 
One of her last acts brought about changes in the 
organization of the religious and philanthropic work 
of the school. All through the years of Miss Mc- 
Keen's life here there had been very little formality 
of organization in this work. Everybody was ex- 
pected to be a member of one of the small groups of 
girls forming a "prayer-meeting circle" which met 
with a teacher every Thursday evening in "recess 
time" — the fifteen-minute period between the end 
of "silent time" and the beginning of the evening 
study hour. There was also the weekly Saturday 
evening service in Abbot Hall attended by all 
students and teachers. Occasionally at this service 
some distinguished minister who might be preaching 
on "The Hill" on Sunday would speak, but more 
often Miss McKeen herself would conduct it. 

In the fall of 1891, soon after the opening of Miss 
McKeen's last year of school life, she invited to meet 
with her all girls interested in Christian work to 
talk over together the need of having a religious 
society in the school. It was decided to form such 
an organization and a committee was appointed to 
draw up a constitution for the society, to which 


they gave the name M Abbot Christian Workers." 
The short mid-week prayer service on Thursday 
evening was continued, but it was placed in charge 
of the girls themselves, and also once a month a 
member of the Christian Workers conducted the 
Saturday evening service in Abbot Hall. The 
"Courant" of 1894 says: "One of the most interest- 
ing of these meetings was a ' thank offering service ' 
led by the president of the society, Ethelyn Mar- 
shall. About twenty-five dollars was given as a 
'thank offering* for blessings received. It has been 
unanimously decided to send this offering to Mrs. 
Lee, Clara Hamlin, '73, that a library may be 
started for the young ladies of her school at Marash, 

The society had not only the desire to give money 
for distant causes, but also to do some practical 
work in a near-by field. In the early spring of 1898, 
several of the girls, under the direction of Miss 
Durfee as superintendent, established a small Sun- 
day School in the Scotland District of Andover. 
Each Sunday afternoon the little company of work- 
ers drove out to "Scotland School House," where 
they taught ten or twelve children who were in- 
terested to come to the Sunday School. In June, 
Miss Watson invited them to a Sunday School 
picnic under the "Old Oak Tree"; the Reverend 
Mr. Shipman of the South Church joined them in 
their games, and there was great interest in the work 
and the play. This little school was kept up for 
several years, and gave the girls a genuine interest 
in the social religious work. 

In 1894, one °f tne speakers on a Saturday even- 


ing was one of the Eddy brothers, who was a grad- 
uate of Phillips Academy and who had become 
influential in Student Volunteer Work. His address 
aroused much interest in this movement and led 
to the sending of two delegates — Agnes Beckley, 
'94, accompanied by Miss Merrill — to the Student 
Volunteer Convention held in Detroit. This was the 
second convention in behalf of this movement, and 
with its thirteen hundred delegates of young men 
and young women from the schools of the United 
States and of Canada it made the largest convention 
of students which had ever been held up to that time. 
A spirit of deep earnestness marked the convention, 
and the Abbot delegates brought back inspiration 
for the Christian work of the school. The loyalty 
of the "old girls" living in Detroit added greatly 
to the pleasure and benefit of the experience. Mary 
and Carrie Beal of 1892, and Mrs. Emma Meacham 
Davis of 1875, were most cordial hostesses to the 
two delegates. 

In 1899, the organization of Abbot Christian 
Workers was changed over into a branch of the 
intercollegiate society of the Y.W.C.A. The first 
president of this new organization was Constance 
Gutterson. There were committees for missionary 
work, for social work, and for the prayer meetings. 
The Scotland District Sunday School was taken 
over and managed by the missionary committee. 
The social committee by quiet persistent effort at 
the beginning of the year, strove to make the girls 
well acquainted with each other, and the prayer 
meeting committee spent much time in considering 
how best to make the evening services attractive and 


helpful to the girls. Classes were formed for the 
devotional study of the Bible. Editorials in the 
June "Courant" of 1901 indicate that some of the 
girls realized keenly the need of steady, untiring 
effort to keep the work of the Christian association 
up to the standard of success which was set before 
them. Many interesting speakers, who were experi- 
enced in the working of the college Y.W.C.A. organ- 
ization, gave inspiration and practical help in the 
conduct of the Abbot society. 

The regular contributions for home and foreign 
missions were continued and many special causes 
met with sympathy and generous gifts from the 
school. The old custom of sending a Christmas gift 
to some home missionary family in the West was 
always very appealing to the girls, and they always 
wished to choose a family of many children. Finally 
the Hindmann School in Kentucky was adopted as 
the regular recipient of this Christmas gift since it 
offered the possibility of making individual gifts to 
a goodly number of children. 

For several years, while Louise Kiniry of 1907 
was working in the Neighborhood House in New 
York, the girls took great delight in dressing 
regularly from fifty to one hundred dolls for the 
Christmas celebration of Louise's kindergarten class. 

Contributions were sent regularly to the Interna- 
tional Institute for Girls in Spain, a school which had 
been established by Mrs. Gulick, a personal friend of 
Miss Means, and well known for her remarkable 
work in the education of Spanish girls. Frequent 
visits from Senorita Marcial gave to the girls a very 
living interest in the Spanish School. 


At Thanksgiving time, several objects claimed the 
interest of the girls with great regularity for many 
years. A gift was usually sent to Dr. Waldron, the 
Boston City Missionary, and later acquaintance 
with the Reverend Clark Carter aroused interest in 
city mission work in Lawrence, but the thing which 
the girls most enjoyed at Thanksgiving was the 
carrying of gifts for the Thanksgiving dinner to a 
few Andover and Ballardvale families whose needs 
had been discovered by Miss Durfee. 

These are some of the regular interests to which 
the girls responded generously for many years and 
for which they felt a responsibility of care, but every 
year there were special objects greatly in need of 
help, and whatever cause was presented to them 
always received consideration and generous gifts. 

Attendance at conventions and at public meetings 
outside Andover is never an easy thing for the girls. 
The Student Volunteer Conventions were held not 
oftener than once in four years, and the one of 1894 
has already been mentioned. In February, 1902, the 
school was interested for a second time to send a 
delegation of two girls and a teacher to the conven- 
tion which was held in Toronto, Canada. Aletta 
Hegeman, '03, and Amy Slack, '04, with Miss 
Kelsey as chaperon, found the meetings at Toronto 
a great revelation, and brought back to the school 
influences which were effective in school life even 
though no impulse to enter foreign mission work was 

In 1902, the school became interested in the con- 
ference for boarding schools which was held an- 
nually at Northfield, and later for a few years at 


Silver Bay on Lake George. This conference, being 
an annual event, was in many ways more vitally 
connected with the life of a boarding school than the 
Student Volunteer Conference held once in four 
years. The first delegates to the Northfield conven- 
tion of July, 1902, from Abbot Academy were Julia 
Wallace and Helen Carmichael accompanied by 
Miss Merrill. The first experiment proved to be of 
so much value to the school that year after year, two 
or more delegates have been sent by the girls to 
Northfield, then to Silver Bay for a few years and 
finally again to Northfield, and usually a goodly 
company of volunteers goes with the delegates. At 
the present time the Northfield influence is a strong 
factor in the religious life and work of the school. 



The "Courant," first published in June, 1873, is the 
only magazine published by the students which has 
survived the appearance of more than a few num- 

From the first, the magazine had vivacity and 
strength and seemed to mean much to the whole 
school. The quality of its literary work may vary 
slightly, but still it has constantly kept up a fine 
standard of taste through the more than a half 
century of its life, and it often presents a story or a 
poem or an essay of unusually high grade for such 
youthful writers. For the work is genuinely the 
work of the students and seldom have contributions 
even from Alumnae appeared on its pages. 

The missing Chapter XXVI of Miss Phebe's story 
" Theodora Cameron" was published in the " Cour- 
ant" of January, 1898. This chapter tells the story 
of Theodora's experiences in passing through New 
York on the day of the memorable riot there just 
after the battle of Gettysburg. It was omitted from 
the book by the publishers because they feared 
that it would affect the sale of the book in the 
South. In the number for June, 1893, are to be 
found some interesting memories of the early days of 
life in the school written by Miss McKeen. The 
account which Miss Schiefferdecker gives of her 


extraordinary experience in New York Harbor on 
the S.S. Normannia on her return to America in 
September, 1892, would be unbelievable did we not 
know it to be true in every respect. In June, 1895, 
appears an article quite unusual in a school maga- 
zine — "A Laboratory Study of the Lobster," 
written by one student and abundantly and ac- 
curately illustrated by drawings made by another 
member of the same Biology class. 

One of the first illustrations found in any number 
is the frontispiece to the number for June, 1881, a 
reproduction of an etching by H. Frances Osborne 
of 1864. Miss Osborne received her first instruc- 
tion in drawing and painting at Abbot Academy. 
In the number for June, 1890, there is a fine pho- 
tograph of the wing of Draper Hall as seen from 
Abbot Street, and since that time there have 
usually been photographs of places or people in each 
number of the magazine. This fact of itself would 
indicate a firmer financial background for the 

An invaluable part of the magazine is its record of 
Alumnae Notes and School Events. The latter, when 
given from the point of view of the girls themselves, 
furnish a picture of the school life which cannot be 
reproduced so well by any other medium and when 
studied fifty years later will be of inestimable value 
in giving a vivid picture of the school. 

The Class Book 

The first Class Book, published by the class of 
1900, was very modest in appearance but it estab- 
lished certain features which have been carried on 


and added to by the twenty-nine classes which 
have followed the custom established by 1900. It 
was "affectionately dedicated to our honored 
Principal," Miss Means, and it contained a brief 
account and characterization of each member of 
the class. The board of editors numbered three 
members, Gertrude Lawrence, Grace Chapman, and 
Mary Morgan, and from the very first issue the 
editors have received valuable financial training in 
the business of publishing. The next Class Book 
published Fidelio and Glee Club members, the 
Courant Board, and the various officers of Sport 

In 1903, the recognition by the school of the three 
secret societies gave to each of them a page in the 
Class Book with the lists of names of members, a 
custom which lasted until the societies were dis- 
banded in 19 13. In 1908 began the chronicling of 
the names of the newly formed literary society, The 
Odeon, and this custom has been followed by all 
other school societies of later date. 

The dedications of various years often reveal some 
special interest of that year, as in 1902, when Pro- 
fessor William James was the chosen patron; in 
1903, Edward Howard Griggs; in 1905, Dr. Richard 
Burton; in 1916, the Reverend Albert Parker Fitch; 
all of these men had aroused great interest by the 
courses of lectures which they had given to the 
school, or by their Sunday evening addresses. 

In 19 1 7, the name was changed from "The Class 
Book" to "The Abbot Circle," and in 19 18 the 
dedication was made to "Abbot Girls in the Serv- 
ice," and there followed this list of names: 


Olive Twichell Crawford, 1876 
Sarah Puffer McCay, 1881 

Jeannie L. Jillson, 1887 
Katherine Lahm Parker, 

Cornelia Williams, 1905 
Elizabeth Deeble, 1906 
Winifred Warren, 1915 

Mary Smith Churchill, 1897 
Martha Blakeslee, 1902 
Mabel Fordham, 1904 

The early Class Books will be of great service 
when the celebration of the one hundred and fiftieth 
anniversary of the school comes in 1979 by furnish- 
ing truthful pictures of the costumes of the early 
days of the twentieth century. 



To form a "Club" or a "Society" is the natural 
desire of youth, and Abbot girls have shown this 
desire all through the one hundred years. Many 
clubs have been formed which have lived but a short 
time and then have died or have been transformed 
into something else, while others have had a longer 
career and have made a greater impression upon 
school life. 

The early "Courants" give the reader very in- 
teresting glimpses of the girls of the seventies and 
make one certain that they were bright and enter- 
taining and had " loads of fun" as well as that 
they were studious. The very first number of the 
"Courant," that of June, 1873, gives the organiza- 
tion of a musical club, that of 

The Quartette: 
Soprano, Minnie C. Bidwell 
Mezzo Soprano, Alice W. Merriam 
First Contralto, Carrie S. Hopkins 
Second Contralto, Ella H. Whitcomb 
Pianist, Clara H. Hamlin 

The next year The Quartette was reduced to The 
Trio, evidently having lost its first contralto, and 
the pianist had been replaced by Alice F. McKeen. 
Evidently each new thing spurred another group 
of girls to do something a little different, for the 
"Courant" of June, 1874, says nothing about The 


Trio, but it does give the names of a group which it 

Scalene Warblers: 
Alice W. Merriam, Mrs. Beet, Conductress 
Minnie C. Bidwell, High E 
Mary E. Kelly, G Sharp 
Emma P. Meacham, Variety 
Louie Karr, Monotone 

At least two of these names make it very certain 
that the Warblers had fun themselves and made fun 
for their friends to enjoy. 

There follows immediately upon the same page as 
the Warblers, the names of two boat clubs; what 
they were or what they did there is no one of the 
number left now to tell, but they were evidently 
rivals in fun. The names are these: 



Susie W. S. Lyman, Stroke Emma S. Wilder, Bow 

Alice W. Merriam, Coxswain 


Emma P. Meacham, Stroke Isabella Wilson, Bow 

Helen Bartlett, Coxswain 

Those who know, will remember that Emma Wilder 
was President of the class of '74 ; that Alice Merriam 
was Class Poet; that Miss Wilder became Mrs. 
Gutterson and went to India as a missionary; and 
that Isabella Wilson as Mrs. Pettee had great in- 
fluence with the Japanese in her long period of 
service as a missionary in Japan. That they formed 
real boat clubs and rowed on the Shawsheen or on 
Pomps Pond is hardly within the bounds of imagina- 


tion, but that they found a legitimate wayof giving 
vent to their fun-loving natures and brightened the 
daily lives of their companions is easily credited. 

The next year there is recorded the formation of 
the Cecilia Club, and the fact that it gave two 
"soirees" in Academy Hall which were highly com- 
mended by the editors of the " Courant," shows that 
this club must have had a recognized place and repu- 
tation in the life of the school. The first list of of- 
ficers includes the names of Emma Meacham as 
president and Olive Twichell as secretary and 
treasurer, and also the names of three directors. 
Organized in 1874, it appears in each of the "Cour- 
ants" of '75 an< 3 '76, and it is with real regret that 
one finds that it is no longer reported in 1877. 

The "Courant" of March, 1878, contains this 
paragraph: "Within the past two years two literary 
societies and a glee club have sprung up in the 
school; and though their growth was so rapid, yet 
they give good promise of being permanent institu- 
tions. '80 hides its mysterious programme under the 
witching name Labyrinth; and '79 made our warm 
fall evenings delightful with the choice music of its 
Glee Club which seems to be composed of birds 
which even the winter snows cannot silence. The 
Mosaic of '78 is a purely literary and musical society, 
and the seniors have passed many pleasant evenings 
with authors and musicians." The paragraph ends 
with the programme of a private meeting which was 
repeated by request before the whole school on a 
Saturday afternoon. 

The June "Courant" of 1879 chronicles the for- 
mation of another society, The Sphinx, in this fash- 


ion: "In the latter part of the fall term our Sphinx 
came into existence. Does question arise what can 
that be? It is nothing more nor less than a literary 
society organized to meet a long-felt want. It 
gained its name from the fact that the Sphinx 
(ancient) was the embodiment of feminine wisdom 
and strength. . . . What do we do? Our programme 
is varied. At times debate arouses us to give more of 
a reason than the woman's 'because.' Again we 
spend the evening with some one author, a critical 
essay on his genius being given, followed by songs 
sung or selections read from his works. Or, perhaps, 
some of the more dramatic of our members give us 
living pictures of noted scenes. Among the most 
pleasing of these was one from * Uncle Tom's Cabin.' 
Our Topsy was so irrepressible that we thought she 
must be quite right when she 'spected she growed.' 
We hope to gain much by the evenings spent thus 
together — to know each other better, and by learn- 
ing to think and correctly to express our thoughts, 
prepare ourselves for a higher culture." 

This Sphinx society seems to have had a stronger 
germ of life within it than the others. It was still 
vigorously active in 1887 and the writer well remem- 
bers an open meeting held one evening in Abbot Hall 
in the winter of 1888. Why it suddenly died the very 
next year is something of a mystery. Its death 
was evidently regretted by the girls, as the following 
question in the "Courant" of June, 1890, would 
indicate : 

" Query, Did they revive the Sphinx? If so, where 
is it?" 

No more is heard of literary or musical clubs until 


some time during the year 1893-94, when a new 
banjo club must have been formed as is shown by a 
short paragraph in the description of the German 
entertainment given March 21, 1894: "Next came 
music by the Banjo Club who during the winter had 
been carefully trained by Mrs. Stratton. They 
played to enthusiastic hearers but repeated encores 
were unable to exhaust their resources." In 1897, 
this club had a new lease of life and again became 
efficient and helpful in the social life of the school, 
but evidently it had a fitful existence for in January, 
1898, there comes the double inquiry, "Where is the 
Sphinx, that literary club of yore? — Where are the 
snows of last year? What has become of the Banjo 
Club? — Where are the snows of last year?" These 
questions are followed by stirring reflections and 
questions. "Shall we pride ourselves upon our 
unique position among the schools of our land? or 
shall we ask ourselves seriously why in this age of 
clubs, we are singularly free from the contagious 
spirit of the times. Is there no musical ability among 
us? Could we not if we would, have a splendid glee 
and banjo club? If we could why don't we? Don't 
some of us wish to know what is going on in the 
world? If so, why don't we have a current events 
club? Are literature, history, science, language, 
interesting merely in the classroom? If not, why 
don't we band ourselves together to enjoy these 
subjects independently of lessons? Winter is com- 
ing. Who would like to join a snow-shoe club? Let 
us look about us and see whether we can find an- 
other community so bright, so interesting, so able as 
we, so utterly unclubable." 


These remarks evidently produced the desired 
effect of stirring the girls to the formation of a club, 
for the very next number of the " Courant" in June, 
1898, gives us a full account of the new Waverley 
Club — an account which seems well worth quoting 
in full: 

"For some time the members of the school have 
felt very strongly the need of a literary society and 
this year the Waverley Club was organized on the 
twenty-second of January. In response to the an- 
nouncement of such a project, twenty-three mem- 
bers, representatives of the literature department, 
were promptly enrolled. 

"From the beginning, the principal aim of the 
society, as seen from the constitution at once 
adopted, was not a succession of formal meetings 
with a literary program, but the creation of a literary 
force which would render feasible a number of 
desirable and improving enterprises, otherwise im- 
possible. This would not, however, exclude direct 
literary study, since the very name of the society, 
unanimously chosen, indicates an interest in Scott, 
a desire for wider acquaintance with him, and a be- 
lief in the inspiration to be derived through the 
mighty magic of his name. 

11 During the few months in which the society has 
existed many pleasant meetings have been held, 
each one fulfilling the aim of the society and each, we 
feel sure, attended by an increase of interest in 
literary and historic subjects. The members have 
enjoyed a talk preparatory to a performance of 
'The Rivals' ; a brief study of 'Waverley,' that there 
might be an intelligent acquaintance with the special 


book from which our name was chosen; and an 
interesting paper upon 'Scenes In and Around 
Andover.' The society had the pleasure of entertain- 
ing the school with a lecture by Mrs. Downs upon 
'Methods of Historical Study,' and, through its 
influence, representatives of the society have made 
several short excursions to places having historic 

"As a direct stimulus to the reading of Scott by 
the members of the school, a prize was offered for 
the best essay upon any subject suggested by one of 
Scott's historical novels, and the result of the ex- 
periment is published in this issue of the Courant. 
. . . We feel that our achievements have been mod- 
est when we remember the stirring accounts of the 
Sphinx of former years and its attractive literary 
work. We, nevertheless, feel that this is a movement 
in the right direction and that it is distinctly in ac- 
cordance with the literary history and present aims 
of the school. We, therefore, earnestly hope that no 
such arguments as lack of time or opportunity will 
allow the society to die, but that it may be reorgan- 
ized in the ensuing year and be successful in realiz- 
ing the loftiest dreams of its founders." 

And now once more after an interval of several 
years there appears in the "Courant" on the page 
following the list of officers of the two upper classes, 
the organization of a club, and not only the officers 
of the Waverley Club but also its list of twenty-six 
members. Sturdy though this club seemed to be, its 
life was short and never again does it appear on the 
pages of the "Courant." 

The next revival was in music, and in 1899 a glee 


club of eighteen members under the leadership of 
Miss Mabel Bacon, the teacher of Latin, was listed 
in the magazine. 

The subject of clubs is periodically agitated in the 
11 Courant " and again in December, 1900, the " Cour- 
ant" speaks at length upon the value of a debating 
club, in which project the day scholars seem to have 
been specially interested, and it urges the interest of 
the entire school. It also goes on to argue the benefit 
to be gained from a dramatic club, both as a social 
force and means of enlarging one's acquaintance 
with good plays in the pleasantest possible fashion. 
The arguments offered are sound and the illustra- 
tions excellent but they seem not to have brought 
forth immediate results; music seems to be still the 
most popular cause for a club. 

Evidently there are fashions in instruments as well 
as in clothes, and the mandolin overshadows the 
banjo in popularity in the early nineteen hundreds. 
A mandolin club was organized in 1902 and a page 
was given to it in the 1902 Class Book as well as to 
the glee club, the Fidelio Society, the senior drama- 
tics, and the teams for sports, but no longer do these 
organizations appear to brighten the pages of the 
dignified "Courant," although the "Courant" of 
1903 commends them heartily and states that the 
mandolin club is growing and is studying under an 
instructor. The advent of the Class Book as a publi- 
cation of lighter weight robbed the "Courant" of 
some things for a time. 

No more is heard of any new society, musical or 
literary, until the late fall of 1905. Then just as the 
school was ready for Christmas vacation, Miss 


Means announced in chapel that a literary society 
had been formed in the school. Its name was to be 
The Odeon, its membership limited, and its object 
to encourage the appreciation of good literature in 
the school. Reference was made to several well- 
known authors from the ranks of the school and the 
hope was expressed that the girls would be stimu- 
lated to do something worth while by the thought 
of such predecessors. The Odeon is still active in 
school life (1929) and its continuation seems to 
depend not upon Principal or Faculty but upon the 
germ of life within itself. The first presentation of 
its work before the school was a play written and 
acted by the members themselves on May 8, 1907. 
It was based upon Howard Pyle's "Robin Hood 
Tales" and it was called "The Broken Sixpence." 
With the eagerness and ambition of youth the girls 
of Odeon hoped to produce this play in the grove, 
giving it a setting most appropriate to the scenes, 
but the spring weather of Andover is not to be relied 
upon for outdoor theater performances and they 
were forced to content themselves with a very 
charming and most successful production in Davis 
Hall on a May morning. 

The play was in three acts, the setting of all three 
being Sherwood Forest. The dramatis personam 

Robin Hood Anna Richards 

Rolf e Crecy Grace French 

Friar Tuck Edith Gutterson 

Will Stutley ) T „ „ 

T ~ TT > Laura Howell 

King Henry ) 

Bishop of Hereford .... Mabel Rhodes 


First Yeoman Mary Stuart 

Second Yeoman Frances Wright 

Mary Sweeney 


( Marguerite Eyer 

Herald Clara Jackson Hukill 

Maid Marian Esther Parker 

Ellen Winifred Ogden 

Queen Louise Sweeney 

It is a matter of great regret that the manuscript of 
this play seems to have been lost, for it was well 
worthy of preservation. 

So far there has been recorded so much as can 
now be found out concerning the birth and life 
history of the several musical and literary clubs 
which are known to us as having existed in the days 
of Miss McKeen, Miss Watson, and Miss Means. 

There is one other class of societies that flourished 
for a time and made quite a strong impression upon 
the school for the whole of this period, that is, the 
so-called "secret societies." Social in their nature, 
their composition depended upon congeniality of 
disposition and social ideals more than upon intel- 
lectual tastes and acquirements. The prevalence of 
fraternities in colleges for men, and of sororities 
among the girls in the schools of the Middle West 
and the high esteem in which they were held by 
youth, together with the natural liking of mankind 
for the individual rather than for the crowd, prob- 
ably influenced their formation here. 

No research has been made in this matter, but it 
is evident that they were started about 1890 and 
their existence in the school was well known during 
Miss Watson's administration. Before Miss Means 


assumed the duties of Principal, she looked into the 
matter and decided that it was not wise or necessary 
to interfere with them, and they were not then 
recognized as part of the school organization. After 
four years of experience in the life of the school, 
Miss Means felt the need of some change in the con- 
ditions as to secret societies, and on November 22, 
1902, there occurred in chapel the recognition which 
is recorded in the "Courant" of February, 1903, in 
the following paragraphs: 

"After long thought and consideration of the 
subject of societies in the school, as well as after 
examination of the working of acknowledged socie- 
ties in other schools, the principal decided to recog- 
nize them at Abbot Academy, on the following con- 
ditions ; namely, that the principal or some represent- 
ative of her among the faculty should be a member 
of each, and that each member should promise to 
answer truthfully any question which the principal 
or such representative should think it wise to ask. 
The present principal has become a member of each 
one of these existing societies on these conditions. 
This movement recognizes openly what has been 
for years in existence in secret. The secrecy has no 
longer cause for being; and the good friendship 
which is the simple and only foundation of the 
societies can now be fostered and made a force for 
good in the school. 

"The usual difficulties have been carefully 
weighed and the advantages have seemed to out- 
weigh them even as the matter stands now. In the 
future we hope that the character of the societies 
may become an increasingly strong governing 


power in the school life. The society letters are the 
G.A.S., the S.M.T., and Alpha Sigma." 

Another unwritten condition which affected the 
girls outside the societies was the general under- 
standing that no new secret society should be 
organized in the school — a condition which was 
fairly well, though not perfectly carried out. The 
few sporadic attempts to organize new societies were 
short-lived in results. 

The most marked contribution made by these 
societies to the school life was in the closer relation 
established between their alumnae members and the 
school. To return to the school after a few years of 
absence, when all connection with the student body 
has been lost, is often a very lonely experience for 
alumnae, especially those who have been out of 
school but six or eight years and who still feel young. 
The older alumnae are so far removed by experience 
from the present student body that they do not 
miss companionship with them, but these younger 
girls are still girls in feeling when they return, and 
they feel strange and lonely when they find other 
girls in their places and girls to whom they mean 
nothing. But, as alumnae members of secret societies 
they were always made to feel very welcome and 
very much at home by the society girls in school, 
whenever they returned to visit. The G.A.S. girl 
knew that she had but to go to Room 64 to be 
heartily welcomed, the old S.M.T. girl went to 
Room 30, and those who responded to the magic 
name Alpha Sigma were made at home by the girls 
living in Room 22. Through their sister members 
who felt accountable to them they gained at once an 


intimate acquaintance with the school. They were 
made to feel that their opinions and advice about 
things had weight and might be of great benefit in 
the conduct of society and hence of school affairs. 
In short they felt that their influence was still con- 
tinued in school life by the society bond. 

But there was another side to the matter. As far 
as the aims and ideals and practices of the three 
societies were concerned there was no criticism, but 
it had become more and more evident that the 
existence of recognized, well-defined social groups 
was not conducive to good school spirit in the school 
as a whole. Among a hundred or two girls there 
must always be some whose school life is made 
decidedly unhappy by being barred from a social 
group for no good reason but that of the caprice of 
one or more other girls. This situation could not be 
avoided and the growing increase of the trouble be- 
came evident, even to the society girls, and finally 
in 191 2-1 3 the question was faced and solved by the 
girls themselves. The disbanding of secret societies 
was one of the first notable acts of Miss Bailey's 

The student body seems never to have doubted 
the wisdom and necessity of this act, and has trusted 
to time to remove whatever feeling of criticism and 
disappointment may have existed among alumnae. 
The result in the school has surely justified the deci- 
sion of the girls. 



For the first few years of its history Draper Hall 
seemed so spacious and the newness of the building 
and its furnishings so claimed the attention and 
interest of the family that little notice was taken of 
the lack of a gathering place for the social life of the 
school. Gradually, however, the big house seemed a 
bit inhospitable to the daily social life: the drawing 
room provided for the occasional caller or for the 
big special function, and on a Tuesday evening 
occasionally the library or reading room served as 
a gathering place, but there was no "living room" 
to be used every day. 

In the fall of 1895 the large teachers' room on the 
first floor, beside the door opening upon the tiny 
south porch, was taken for a girls' sitting room, and 
for several years this was much enjoyed, but ere 
long this was seen to be very inadequate for its 
purpose. After feeling the need for some years, in 
the summer of 1908 a new recreation room was made 
by adding to the old room the corridor and the suite 
of two rooms directly opposite, thus making a large, 
well-lighted, airy room containing a door opening 
upon the little vine-covered porch. The work was 
thoroughly done ; the foundations were strengthened 
and the floor was made very smooth and unusually 
stable for dancing. A large red brick fireplace, 


modeled after the fireplace in the McKeen rooms, 
was built across one corner as the gift of the class of 
1908. Under the eastern windows a wide, luxurious 
window seat was made across the entire front end of 
the room. A large part of the expense of making this 
room was met by a gift from Mrs. Draper, and a few 
years later she completed her gift by causing to be 
built additional wall seats extending along two 
other sides of the room. 

The room has various possibilities for social affairs 
as well as for the daily dancing that is such an im- 
portant outlet for the spirits of the girls, and gives 
so many opportunities to enlarge one's circle of 
acquaintance. It also serves as the gathering place 
for the short Sunday evening service of the Christian 

We are now so accustomed to its constant use and 
it has become such an integral part of our life that 
the present-day girl will doubtless be surprised to 
hear with what ceremony the room was adopted by 
the 1908 family. The room was used for several 
weeks before the ceremony of dedicating the fire- 
place was carried out, but on a certain Tuesday 
evening when all was ready there was a ceremony of 
great beauty and solemnity conducted after the 
Roman fashion. First the Oracle was consulted by 
the High Priest; and then the Vestal Virgins, fol- 
lowed by a procession of Priests and the Tribes, took 
fire from the McKeen fireplace, carried it to the new 
room and lighted a fire in the new fireplace. After 
the ceremony the girls, still arrayed in their Roman 
costumes, sat around the fire and sang. It is inter- 
esting to perpetuate the names of the girls who 


formed the procession and if any of them should 
read these pages, memories of a very charming 
evening in their life at school will give them pleasure. 
Leading the procession came six Vestal Virgins; 
Louise Tuttle, Ruth Gillilan, Marion Sanford, 
Dorothy Bigelow, Helen Hazelwood, Helen Weber; 
next came the Lictor, Maud Gutterson; then the 
High Priest, Laura Jackson ; following as Attendant 
Priests of Jupiter came Anne Blauvelt, Irma Naber, 
Dorothy Drake; the Priests of Mars came next 
and were Gertrude Swan berg, Marion Brown, Olga 
Erickson ; then came the Father of the Tribes, Ruth 
Murray, followed by the Mothers of the Tribes, 
Albert Smith, Persis Mclntire, Edith Van Horn, and 
last came the Augur, Gladys Perry. After the High 
Priest had consulted the Oracle he gave the follow- 
ing message to the waiting procession and the 
people; a message written by Madeleine Burrage, 
one of the college preparatory girls of the class of 

"Hear what the Gods have decreed, oh my people; a favorable 

High in the heavens I saw the signs that were sent by immortals. 
Jupiter looks now with favor upon us and Vesta is gracious, 
So from her blazing hearth, where fire has ever flamed brightly, 
Pluck now a brand for a torch and kindle with reverence the altar, 
From which shall stream in the future the blest light of truth and 

This is the will of the gods which is spoken through me by its 

So listen well and take heed, oh my people, for this is the purpose 
Sent to our hearts by immortals; that we may receive from them 




The reputation and the prosperity of a school such 
as Abbot Academy depend upon many factors 
besides the efficiency of its Board of Trustees, 
the wisdom of its Principal, the scholarship of its 
Faculty, and the fine appearance of its buildings 
and equipment. One of these factors, the quality 
of its faithful helpers, has been of the utmost im- 
portance in the carrying on of Abbot Academy. 

In the earlier years when the absence of the 
telephone and the automobile tended to a less hur- 
ried and a simpler programme of the day's work, 
several figures stand out clear cut and unique in 
their various departments. The sturdy Cornelius, 
who, in spite of infirmity, was a faithful guard for 
Miss McKeen and Miss Kimball during years 
of life at Smith Hall; the tall, fine-looking, well- 
groomed Patrick with his courtly manners, who 
carried the mail and did the errands and who never 
forgot to bring back from the village various items of 
interesting news. 

These men belonged to the last century but the 
twentieth century, the century of machinery and 
big business and wonderful progress in material 
comforts, has its own list of names of faithful help- 
ers, showing love for the school and devotion to its 
interests. Of these there are three that stand out 
each in his own department, Mr. Scannell, Mr. 


Clinton, and Mr. Dearborn. The only one of these 
now left us is Mr. Scannell, and the importance of 
his place in the daily routine of school life is evident. 
Beginning nearly thirty years ago as engineer and 
electrician when much less knowledge and skill were 
demanded for the work, he has steadily gained in 
both qualities, and has become the person who en- 
joys solving many of the practical problems. His 
quiet, steady, cheerful ways give a sense of security 
and comfort and help in the daily life. 

Mr. Clinton gave to the school loyal service for 
more than twenty years of the century. Big and 
strong and keen and with a cheerful philosophy not 
easily disturbed, he had the qualities of an ideal 
watchman of school interests. He had a directness 
of approach, a sense of humor and a ready liking for 
and interest in young people which made him many 
friends. The passing of the years brought infirmi- 
ties that made it necessary for him to give up his 
arduous work here and we now miss his cheery 
greeting and the sound of his measured step in the 

A finer example of the type of man that has helped 
to make the bone and sinew of New England than 
was Mr. Dearborn can seldom be found. With little 
of the formal education of the schools he had the 
power, the quality of character and the enlighten- 
ment of mind that comes from the love of perfection 
in work. This characteristic in his work as a carpen- 
ter and a cabinet maker made him a man of genu- 
inely artistic feeling and judgment. His interest in 
scientific apparatus made it the habit of the Science 
teacher to unpack all new apparatus in Physics and 


Chemistry with Mr. Dearborn as her companion, 
and often did he propose to improve upon a device 
by changing it or perfecting its workmanship. 
When repairs were needed in delicate instruments 
there was nothing too difficult for him to undertake 
with his skillful hands. He familiarized himself with 
all the plays that were put upon the Davis Hall 
stage and was interested to suggest and to make the 
necessary pieces of stage setting, and it was often 
said that Mr. Dearborn was quite capable of staging 
a play all by himself. When he died, in the summer 
of 1920, Abbot Academy lost a valuable helper. 



During Miss McKeen's day Abbot Academy fur- 
nished many workers in home and foreign mission 
fields, and her history gives a goodly list of brilliant 
young Abbot women who accomplished a great 
work as missionaries and teachers. Turkey, India, 
China, and Japan seem to be the countries specially 
favored for work. No school or college has a finer 
record of work done in these regions than has Abbot 
Academy, and the strong influence of Miss McKeen 
and Miss Phebe developed a large part of the en- 
thusiasm for it and the devotion to it. 

Maria Gove Berry ('67), Isabella Wilson Pettee 
C74), Jane Pearson Stanford C76), Ellen Emerson 
Cary ('77), and later, Fanny Gordon Bartlett C92) 
went to Japan; Emma Wilder Gutterson ('74) to 
India; Olive Twichell Crawford ('76) and Jeannie 
L. Jillson ('87) to Turkey. Each one of these women 
has done a wonderful work, and each has become 
distinguished in her own special way. Some of them 
have continued working in their chosen fields far 
beyond the years of Miss McKeen's school life, and 
some are even now at the work, for all but two of 
these women are still living. 

Mrs. Gutterson's last months were spent in 
California where she died on May 21, 1927. Born in 
Africa, educated at Abbot Academy, where she 
taught two years, 1876-78, she then went to India 


for work during her young womanhood. Returning 
to America to educate her children she sent five of 
her daughters back to Abbot Academy where they 
were all graduated, each with honor, between the 
years 1900 and 191 6. "The range of her experience 
and activities from Africa in childhood and India 
in early womanhood to New England in her mature 
years gave her a broad outlook on life. Her dynamic 
energy, strength of purpose, grace of manner and 
originality of speech, made her a person to be re- 
membered, admired and loved.' ' 

Death came to Olive Twichell Crawford alone at 
Trebizond in Turkey in April, 1923. The beautiful 
tribute paid her by her friend and Abbot roommate 
is quoted from the "Courant" of June, 1923, for no 
one else can speak of her life from girlhood to 
its earthly end, with finer appreciation than Mrs. 
Tyer has done: 

"The friendship of fifty years gives me the 
privilege of writing of Olive Twichell Crawford but 
to describe her rare beauty and loveliness of char- 
acter is difficult. The saintliness stamped upon 
her face in later years was foreshadowed in her 
girlhood, though not to the exclusion of a thorough 
enjoyment of real fun, or of a ready wit. Her 
scholarship at Abbot ranked high. She took the 
French course in two years instead of the usual 
three ; she was a Draper reader more than once ; and 
to every alumna who knew her there will come the 
picture of her as she read ' Draxy Miller's Sermon ' 
in Saxe Holm's story of the 'Elder's Wife.' Truly 
she was even then the elder's wife, preaching the 
gospel of love and self-sacrifice. Her high ideals of 


'whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are 
lovely, whatsoever things are of good report,' were 
never obtrusive, but always distinctly felt even by 
the most careless of her schoolmates, and every one 
loved Olive Twichell. 

"A few years of teaching only intensified her 
desire for missionary work, and in 1881 she went to 
Turkey under the American Board. In Constanti- 
nople she founded a girls' school with Abbot Acad- 
emy as a model. In 1890, she married Dr. Lyndon 
S. Crawford. After a few years in Broussa, they 
went to Trebizond, where they labored for many 
years among the Greeks and Armenians and ex- 
perienced two terrible Armenian massacres. 

"And then came the years of the war, during 
which their furlough was due, which they would not 
take while the need for service was so great. In 
1 91 8, Dr. Crawford died and Mrs. Crawford, alone 
in her sorrow, was the only American in the city. 
When relief could be sent, she returned to this 
country for a year, so precious to her friends. Even 
in this year of well-earned rest, she could not be at 
ease, but responded as far as she was able to the 
many requests to speak, telling her story with such 
unconscious dramatic force that no one could listen 
to her unmoved. Her devotion to her life-work was 
so great that she had to go back, and we see her 
again ministering to the hungry, the sick, and the 
dying. She died, April 10th, of typhus fever con- 
tracted from the refugees. 'So He giveth His be- 
loved sleep.' " 

The group of women mentioned at the beginning 
of this chapter is preeminently the missionary group 


whose periods of service in the field began in Miss 
McKeen's day and extended down into Miss Means's 
time, and so they seem to belong to the later as well 
as the earlier years. 

The decades of the nineteenth century which 
knew the girls who became so active in missionary 
work also claim the names of several students well- 
known by the books which they have written. Only 
two of those mentioned, and who belong to the 1870 
decade, are now living, Miss Dawes and Miss 

Anna L. Dawes, who was a student at Abbot 
Academy in 1870, has lived a life rich in experience 
in the political and diplomatic circles of Washing- 
ton. As the daughter of the distinguished Senator 
Dawes from Massachusetts, she has had unusually 
fine opportunities to meet most interesting people 
of this country and of foreign countries, and her 
memory is full of rich treasures. Many times has she 
come back to share these treasures with her old 
school. For several years, 1910 to 191 4, she was 
President of the Alumnae Association and came into 
more intimate social contact with the school and 
gave much to the girls of those years. They will 
remember her spirit, her wit and humor, and her 
delightful conversational gifts as well as the books 
which she has written and the lectures which she has 

Alice French, of 1868, known to the reading 
public as "Octave Thanet," has been writing and 
publishing during most of the years that have 
passed since she was here. Her work is always done 
with great care; it is based upon her own careful 


observation and is true to life, and her stories are 
most interesting. 

Though born in the East, her home has been in the 
Middle West, and this fact has given her a vantage- 
ground for knowing well both East and West. 
During the years of Miss Means's life as Principal, 
Miss French made frequent visits at the home of an 
intimate friend in Andover, and her coming to the 
town was always welcome news for Abbot girls, be- 
cause she always was interested to see them. 

Anna Fuller of Boston was graduated from the 
school in 1872 and through all her life she retained 
a warm feeling for her old school although she 
traveled far and studied much after leaving Abbot 
Academy. Occasionally she found time to come 
back to read to the school from her own stories. 
At the time of her death in 191 6, Harriet Prescott 
Spofford, a friend and a fellow writer, wrote thus of 

"She began her literary work in 1892, publishing 
'A Venetian June,' 'A Literary Courtship,' 'Peak 
and Prairie,' and other Colorado sketches, all of 
which met wide welcome and had great sales. 
'Pratt Portraits' and 'Later Pratt Portraits' con- 
tain possibly her best work, full as they are of fine 
delineation, incisive wit, tender sympathy and 
truth to nature, amusing and arresting and of 
supreme literary execution." 

The school is proud to claim as one of its "old 
girls" one who was widely known and loved for her 
stories and for her most charming personality. 
Kate Douglas Wiggin, which is the name by which 


she is universally known, was here in 1873 for one 
year only, but she kept up a friendly relation to the 
school as long as she lived and often returned to 
visit it. This is not the place in which to describe 
her life or make a list of the books she wrote and 
which every one knows, but a few sentences in her 
last book — "My Garden of Memory" — touch 
the hearts of loyal Abbot girls. She says: " I was left 
behind at Abbot Academy, Andover, Massachu- 
setts, one of the best boarding schools for girls in 
New England. ... It was a good atmosphere for 
a girl; simply and sincerely religious, refined and 
gracious in its social life. Punctuality, decorum, 
studious habits, good manners and speech, obedi- 
ence to rules — these were presupposed and they 
actually existed." 

In 1884, a young Canadian, Lily Dougall by 
name, spent a year in French Hall. Quiet and re- 
tiring in disposition and rather mature in mind, she 
did not readily form friendships with the younger 
girls. A recent great sorrow made her especially in 
need of an understanding companion, and this need 
was met by the quick growth of friendship with 
Miss Merrill — a friendship which continued 
through all the remaining years of Miss Merrill's 
life. Miss Dougall belonged to a family of writers 
and editors and it was the natural thing for her to 
write. After the year at Abbot, she lived for some 
years in Montreal and in Edinburgh in the home of 
an aunt, but after a time she made her own home in 
a charming English cottage near Oxford. 

She published several novels of extraordinary 


character, each written to teach a social truth which 
she felt strongly and which she believed could be 
most forcefully and strikingly impressed in the form 
of a story. "Beggars All" and "What Necessity 
Knows" are two of her novels that the Smith Hall 
family of 1896 and 1897 enjoyed greatly as they 
gathered round Miss Merrill for a half hour every 
evening and listened breathlessly to one more 
exciting chapter. A delightful visit from Miss 
Dougall and the intimate contact with a successful 
author who made writing the serious business of 
life was stimulating to many girls. Miss Dougall 
became interested in philosophy and also in philan- 
thropic work and lived a very useful life, different in 
many respects from the ordinary world. Her con- 
tacts with Abbot in later years were few, yet the 
school felt that it had suffered a real loss when news 
of her death came in 1923. 

More than one thousand different girls were in the 
school under Miss Watson and Miss Means, and a 
large proportion of these women are still living and 
in the prime of their womanhood. Their work can 
hardly yet be appraised and to select individuals 
from this twenty-year period for distinction in this 
volume would be a difficult matter fairly to accom- 
plish. A general comparison of the work done after 
leaving school by Abbot girls of the last three 
decades of the nineteenth century and those of the 
first three decades of the twentieth century would 
be exceedingly interesting could it be fairly made, 
but one hesitates to attempt even this. 

The record of what Abbot Alumnae did in the 
four years of the Great War does not belong to this 


volume, but the women who did the noble work 
were the girls of the twenty years which are being 
recorded. The complete story of those four years 
ought to be written at once, before memory is 



Beyond 1912 seventeen years still remain to round 
out Abbot's first century, but the history of these 
years must be left in detail for another writer to 
chronicle. Only a hasty look can be given to them to 
see what general changes have been made and what 
point the school has reached in its development. 

To keep in general to the traditions of the past in 
so far as principles of life and work are concerned, to 
develop the school by these traditions in keeping 
with the changing conditions of modern life, to cast 
aside with caution and with deliberate action what- 
ever details are no longer serviceable, and to hold to 
customs that give to our hurried modern life a dig- 
nity and distinction and charm of action that is a 
part of Abbot Academy, has been through all these 
seventeen years a very marked characteristic of the 
Principal, Miss Bailey. 

Beginning with the very first year, 191 2, close 
contact with the Alumnae was established by the 
stranger and is now kept up by the friend. In June, 
1912, the President of the Alumnae Association, Miss 
Anna L. Dawes, established a new committee which 
was named "The Alumnae' Advisory Committee" 
and was made up of representatives from different 
decades. This committee has been invited by the 
Principal to spend two or three days each year at the 


school to become better acquainted with all parts of 
the school life. It has contributed to the advance- 
ment of the school both by its hearty commenda- 
tions and by its helpful suggestions of possible im- 
provement. The greatest service it has given has 
been the strengthening of the bond of friendship by 
enlarging the acquaintance between the present-day 
Faculty and students and the Alumnae. 

The establishment of the Loyalty Endowment 
Fund by which the Alumnae not simply pledge but 
actually have paid in an endowment of more than 
one hundred and ten thousand dollars is the great 
financial work of the Alumnae during the last nine 
years. The workings of these two functions, the 
Advisory Board and the Loyalty Fund Committee, 
and also the addition of an Alumna Trustee to the 
Board of Trustees have been active factors in the 
establishment and growth of a goodly number of 
lively new Abbot clubs; in Detroit, Chicago, Pitts- 
burgh, Cleveland, Central and Eastern Ohio, Con- 
necticut, Southern New England, and in Eastern 
and Western Maine, in addition to the older clubs 
formed long ago in Boston and New York. 

The College Preparatory Department began life 
as a department with Miss Watson and struggled for 
proper public recognition ; this was finally given it, 
first by the reading at the church service on Com- 
mencement Day of the names of the girls who had 
completed the course for entrance to college; and 
later by the decision of the Trustees to give a special 
diploma to the College Preparatory Seniors similar 
to that received by the Academic Seniors. During 
the first quarter of the twentieth century the big 


colleges for women increased rapidly in size and the 
consequent reaction upon the secondary school 
tended for a time to make the pendulum swing 
vigorously towards the College Preparatory work 
and caused grave doubts in the minds of many 
people as to the possibility that the Academic De- 
partment could hold its own against this tendency. 
Although the College Department, which had made 
a modest beginning before 191 2, has since then 
increased very much in size and importance until 
now at the end of the first century of the school the 
number of College Seniors each year varies but 
slightly from the number of Academic Seniors, yet 
the Academic Department has quietly but firmly 
held its own; the broader programme of its Senior 
Middle and Senior years gives it a more advanced 
character, and makes it a better medium for develop- 
ing some girls who wish to go on with special work 
later in life and for whom, for some reason, college 
life seems not to give the most favorable opportunity. 
The present Principal is a woman who has been in 
intimate contact with college life and management 
in various ways, especially by service on the Alumnae 
Council of her Alma Mater, Wellesley College, yet 
she has been from the first thoroughly in sympathy 
with the idea of strengthening and developing the 
Academic Department equally with the College 
Preparatory. New Senior electives have been added 
frequently in Science and in Literature, and more 
than one Academic Senior after being graduated 
from Abbot Academy has been admitted to the 
Sophomore Class of a big State University. 

The idea of the Junior College, so vigorously advo- 


cated by Bradford Academy and some other schools, 
has not been overlooked by Abbot Academy. 
Trustees and Faculty have carefully considered the 
matter but so far they have not been attracted by 
the organization and the methods of the Junior 
College. There is, however, a real problem to be met 
and this problem is being studied. The girl who 
finishes creditably a first-class high-school course 
and then completes two years of excellent work in 
advance of the high-school work should find it pos- 
sible to receive unquestioned credit for this work if 
she chooses to enter a State University or a technical 
school. It is hoped that Abbot Academy will soon 
find an answer to this problem. 

Changes have taken place in the work in Music by 
the introduction of a definite course leading up to a 
Music Certificate which gives the student visible 
credit for the regular work done. There is no at- 
tempt to introduce a music school, but simply to 
make it possible for a girl who has spent much time 
on music and has accomplished certain results in it 
to receive public recognition for this work in which 
she has passed difficult examinations, just as truly 
as for the work in other subjects which is recognized 
by her Academic or her College Preparatory diploma. 
Doubtless the number receiving this certificate will 
always be small but that does not affect the justice of 
giving it or lessen its value to the few who receive it. 

Not only the opportunities of music students, but 
the life of the entire school, have been greatly en- 
riched by the gift of a pipe organ ; a gift made only a 
few weeks after Miss Bailey became Principal. This 
organ, given in 19 12 by Dorothy Davis of North 


Andover and then, after a few years, again by her 
gift, greatly enlarged and magnified in power and 
beauty of tone, is known as the " Dorothy Davis 
Rimmer Organ." It fills the organ loft which was 
planned by Mr. Downs at the time of the erection of 
Davis Hall ; — the loft which he himself hoped to 
see filled by an organ before he should give up his 
work, a hope which could not be fulfilled. 

In School Government there have come the 
changes inevitable with the march of the years. 
The self-reporting system by which each girl re- 
ported on her own conduct each day was dropped by 
Miss McKeen during the last year of her life in the 
school, but no very definite method was substituted 
in place of it at that time. The development of 
Student Government in the colleges had an effect 
upon life in secondary schools, and finally in 191 1 a 
beginning was made looking toward the assumption 
of greater responsibility by the girls in all matters, 
by the establishment of a small Student Council. 
Under Miss Bailey this has been developed into an 
excellent organization and is a potent factor in main- 
taining school spirit and in controlling the life of the 
school in its various aspects. 

In these days, when girls as well as boys have an 
athletic programme for daily life, Abbot has de- 
veloped its own methods — those best suited to its 
needs. Regular physical examinations are given 
twice a year; sports are organized and every student 
is allowed the freedom of choice of a major sport 
consistent with her physical development; in these 
days when every young person drives an automobile 
when at home, walking is made attractive by a care- 


ful scheduling of the walks about Andover and offer- 
ing the prize of athletic points as a reward for ac- 
complishing a certain number in a definite period. 
The system of earning athletic points has before it 
the goal of final possible membership in the "A" 
Society and perhaps the winning of an "Honor A," 
which is gained by the summing up of all good 
qualities in school life. 

The abolishing of secret societies has been de- 
scribed elsewhere in this volume and also the estab- 
lishing of a permanent literary society, The Odeon. 
Gradually other societies have grown up according 
as interest in various lines has been developed in 
different years, until there are now several perma- 
nent groups each with its own special organization 
and each contributing every year to the interest and 
entertainment of the entire school. First came the 
Q.E.D. society interested in current history and 
politics; then the A.D.S., the dramatic society; 
Philomatheia, the group interested in Science; Les 
Beaux Arts, which studies art; and the JEolian 
Society, a group of girls interested in music. Each 
society has a Faculty counselor who may help with 
advice, but leaves the members free to follow their 
own lines of thought. 

The aims and methods of the religious life and 
teachings of the school do not seem to differ much 
from the days of Miss McKeen. The old custom of a 
weekly religious service for the entire school con- 
tinues, with addresses by the principal and by men 
and women who have a special gift for understand- 
ing and reaching the youth of to-day; men such 
as Dean Brown of Yale, Dr. Clarence Barbour of 


Rochester Theological Seminary, and Mr. Stack- 
pole from our own Board of Trustees. The school is 
organized into the Abbot Christian Association with 
its own staff of officers and committees; one com- 
mittee regularly takes the entire charge of their own 
special service Sunday evening ; the social committee 
is most useful in caring for the social life of the 
school ; and the charitable and philanthropic work of 
the school is ably carried on through the officers of 
the organization. The twentieth century does not 
show such a list of able women going to all parts of 
the world to work in missions as does the nineteenth 
century, but there is ample evidence that the modern 
Abbot girl has a conscience both to give of the 
abundance of her possessions and to do her part in 
ministering to a suffering world. 

The importance of the organization of the three 
departments just described, the Student Govern- 
ment, the Athletic and the Religious Associations, is 
indicated by the fact that the three presidents are 
now on a par with the Senior Class President and 
the four officers are honored equally by the school. 




Abbot Benefit, 53, 147 
Abbot Christian Association, 226 
"Abbot Christian Workers," 184 
" Abbot Circle, The," 191 
Abbot Clubs, 221 

Boston, 143, 150 

New York, 150 
Abbot Hall, 9, 28, 129, 139, 163- 

Abbot "Prom," 158 
Abbot, Mrs. William G., 96 
Academic Department, 222 
Agassiz Museum, 60 
Alden, John, 60, 65, 138, 139, 151 
Alumnae, 23, 108, 163, 189, 190 
Alumnae Advisory Committee, 

144, 220 
Alumnae Association, 6, 8, 26, 54, 

138, 142 
Alumnae Auxiliary Lecture Fund, 

Alumna Trustee, 221 
Andover Townsman, 6, 82, 88, 

Applebee, Miss (Coach), 178 
Art Gallery, John-Esther, 28, 71, 

129, 131, 160-63 
"A" Society, 225 
Ashton, Joseph N., 81, 87 
Athletic Association President, 

Atlanta Exposition, 168 

Bachelder, Mrs. Augustus E., 162 
Bacon, Mabel G., 67, 68, 200 
Bailey, Bertha, 4, 32, 93, 98, 107, 

113, 130, 205, 220, 223 
Bancroft, Dr. C. F. P., 121 
Bancroft, Frances M., 55 
Bancroft, Mary E., 4, 53 
Banjo Club, 197 
Barbour, Dr, Clarence, 226 

Barth, Carl, 85 
Bartlett, Fanny Gordon, 212 
Bartlett, Helen, 194 
Basket-ball, 173, 176 
Beal, Mary and Carrie, 185 
Beckley, Agnes, 185 
Bennett, Mabel Adams, 90 
Berry, Maria Gove, 212 
Bibliotheca Sacra, The, 101, 104 
Bicycle riding, 171, 172 
Bidwell, Minnie C, 193, 194 
Bigelow, Dorothy E., 178, 208 
Biscoe, Maurice B., 92 
Blakeslee, Martha, 192 
Blauvelt, Anne, 208 
Bodemeyer, Adelheid, 46 
Bosher, Mabel Ethelyn, 91 
Bradford Academy, 91, 175, 177, 

178, 179, 223 
Brent, Bishop, 78 
Brick House, 104 
" Broken Sixpence, The," 201 
Brooks, Phillips, 137 
Brown, Dean Charles R., 225 
Brown, Marion, 208 
Bumham, Ruth Thayer, 88 
Burr, Helen L., 96 
Burrage, Madeleine, 208 
Burton, Richard, 191 
Byers, Esther Smith, 160 

Campbell, Nellie, 63 
Carmichael, Helen, 1 88 
Carter, Rev. Clark, 187 
Cary, Ellen Emerson, 212 
Cecilia Club, 195 
Ceylon, 79 

Chadbourne, Elizabeth, 55, 56 
Chandler, Phoebe Abbot Ballard, 

24, 149 
Chapman, Grace, 191 
Chase, S. Edwin, 81 



Chickering, Rebekah, 4, 70, 173 

Christian Association President, 

Christmas Cove, 32 

Churchill, Prof. John Wesley, 6, 
7, 18,76, 106,118-23, 133.149, 

Churchill, Mary Donald, 132, 133 

Churchill, Mary Smith, 192 

Class Book, 190, 200 

Clinton, John, 210 

Coburn, Helen G. Smith, 143, 164 

Colby, Miller, 75 

Colleges, Albert Lea, 21; Ameri- 
can, Aintab, 134; Bryn Mawr, 
70; Colorado, 92; Kobe, 71; 
Medical of New York, 52; 
Mount Holyoke, 19, 55, 68, 69, 
74; Radcliffe, 55, 61, 68, 72; 
Smith, 53, 56, 67, 70, 72, 73; 
Vassar, 73; Wellesley, 54, 59, 
60, 61, 71; Wesleyan, 111., 21 

College Preparatory Department, 
22, 70, 221, 222 

Commons, The, 103 

Converse, Ethel Dean, 73 

Cornelius, 209 

Corot, 162 

Courant, The Abbot, 6, 11, 24, 
42, 60, 62, 63, 130, 149, 167, 
170, 173, 184, 186, 189-90, 193, 
195, 199, 200, 213 

Crawford, Dr. Lyndon S., 214 

Crawford, Olive Twichell, 192, 
195, 212-14 

Croquet, 175 

Davis, Charles H., 162, 165 
Davis, Emma Meacham, 153, 

185, 194 
Davis, Dorothy, 223 
Davis, George G., 140, 154, 157 
Davis, George L., 11, 154 
Davis Hall (old), 11, 37; (new), 

28, 35, 142 
Dawes, Anna L., 154, 215, 220 
Day, Dr. Charles O., 153 
Day, Melville C, 125 

Dearborn, Mr., 210 

Deeble, Elizabeth, 192 

Didier, 162 

Dole, Nathan Haskell, 85 

Dolmetsch, Mr. and Mrs., 88 

Domestic Science, 64 

Donald, Rev. Dr. E. Winchester, 

137, 150, 154 
Dougall, Lily, 217 
Dowd, Mrs. Augusta M., 95 
Dowd, Rachel A., 68 
Downs, Annie Sawyer, 6, 199 
Downs, Prof. Samuel Morse, 80- 

88, 154, 161, 224 
Dr. Brown House, 103 
Drake, Dorothy, 208 
Draper Dramatics, 106 
Draper Hall, 8, 12, 26, 28, 47, 94 
Draper Readings, 76, 119 
Draper, Irene Rowley, 24, 10^, 

112, 180, 207 
Draper, Warren Fales, 24, 78, 

101, 102-13, 115. 117. I4 8 » 152. 

166, 176 
Durfee, Evelyn Farnham, 76, 77, 

170, 173, 184, 187 

Eliot, Pres. Charles W. 
Erickson, Olga, 208 
Eyer, Marguerite, 202 


Farrar, Samuel, 99 

Field Day, 177, 179 

Field Hockey, 178 

Fitch, Dr. Albert Parker, 126-28, 

Flagg, Burton Sanderson, 4, 141 
Fletcher, Caroline R., 67 
Fletcher, Charles M., 75 
Fogg, Addie Isabel, 169 
Fordham, Mabel, 192 
Franck, C6sar (quartet), 87 
Franklin, Ruth B., 69 
Freeman, Archibald, 173 
French, Alice (" Octave Thanet ")» 

155, 215 
French, Grace, 201 
French, Isabella Graham, 59, 61 



Fuller, Anna, 216 

Fuller, Samuel Lester, 140 

Gay, Florence W., 72 

Gettysburg, 189 

Gilbert, Elizabeth Walker, 153 

Gillilan, Ruth, 208 

Glee Clubs, 90, 191, 200 

Golf, 174 

Gordon, Rev. George A., 140 

Graves, Prof. William, 59 

Graves, Sarah E., 96 

Gray, Prof. Asa, 60 

Greeley, Dr. Jane L., 44, 51, 52, 

109, 169 
Griggs, Edward Howard, 146, 191 
Gulick, Mrs., 186 
Gutterson, Constance, 185 
Gutterson, Edith L., 92, 201 
Gutterson, Emma W T ilder, 212 
Gutterson, Maud, 208 

Hall, Delight Walkly, 54 
Hamlin, Alice J., 54, 60, 61 
Hamlin, Clara H., 184, 193 
Harlow, Frances Kimball, 39, 

132, 133 
Hazel wood, Helen, 208 
Hegeman, Aletta, 187 
Heinrich, Max, 88 
Heitmtiller, Victoria, 46 
Hellmuth, Herr, 48 
Hillard, Mary Robbins, 169 
Hincks, Prof. Edward Y., 126, 154 
Hindman School, 186 
Hopkins, Carrie S., 193 
Hopkins, Maude, 169 
Howard, Gen. O. O., 46 
Howard, James, 46 
Howell, Laura, 201 
Howey, Martha M., 70, 71 
Hukill, Clara Jackson, 202 
Hutchison, Katharine, 69 

Infirmary, 33, 159 
Ingalls, Edith E., 52 

Jackson, Laura, 208 

Jackson, Susanna, 155 
James, Prof. William, 145, 191 
Jillson, Jeannie, 169, 192, 212 
Johnson, Arthur S., 136 
Jones, Kathleen, 92 
Junior College, 223 

Kalamazoo, 59 

Karr, Louie, 194 

Kelly, Mary E., 194 

Kelsey, Katherine R., 59, 60, 65, 

Kelsey, Mary Elizabeth, 96 
11 Ken il worth, Scenes from," 53 
Kimball, Angelina, 94, 209 
Kiniry, Louise, 186 
Kneisel Quartet, 87 
Knowles, Melita, 72 

14 Labyrinth, The," 195 
Ladybirch Island, 33 
Lawrence, Fanny Louise, 67, 68 
Lawrence, Gertrude, 191 
Lee, Clara Hamlin, 184, 193 
Library, 22, 39, 40, 91, 142 
Lobster, A Laboratory Study of, 

63, 190 

Long, Rev. William J., 57 
Longy Club, 87 

Loyalty Endowment Fund, 221 
Lyman, Susie W. S., 194 

McCay, Sarah Puffer, 192 
Macfarland, Mrs. Henry B. F. 

("Daisy Douglass"), 145, 155 
MacGregor, Alice Wentworth, 81, 

Mclntire, Persis, 208 
MacKnight, Dodge, 162 
McKeen Breakfast, 143 
McKeen, Alice F., 193 
McKeen Memorial Hall, 23, 27, 

64, 94, 108, 129, 131, 138, 142, 
143, 147-59, 163 

McKeen, Phebe, 50, 52, 155, 189, 

McKeen, Philena, 6-18, 24, 27, 

46, 58, 80, 94, 100, 107, 113, 



120, 124, I35, 142, 150, 155, 
166, I83, I89, 202, 209, 212, 225 

McLean, Philana, 96 
Mahn, Fred L., 85 
Marcial, Senorita, 186 
Marshall, Ethelyn, 184 
Mason Drawing Room, 164 
Mason, Mortimer B., 135 
Mason, Nellie M., 4, 58, 61, 65 
Meacham, Emma P., 153, 185, 

Means, Anne Middleton, 143, 

150, 153, 162, 164, 165 
Means, Emily A., 3, 20, 26-36, 42, 

63, 78, 94, 100, 113, 118, 136, 

141, 146, 150, 151, 153, 156, 

176, 186, 191, 201, 202, 216, 

Means, Mary McGregor, 143, 

150, 164 
Merriam, Alice W., 193, 194 
Merriam, Mary Frances, 151 
Merrill, Maria Stockbridge, 6, 

37-45, 48, 109, 132, 145, 146, 

185, 188, 217 
Merrill, Sarah Joy, 41 
Merrill Memorial Gates, 38, 40 
Merriman, Dr. Daniel, 32, 129- 

3i, 154. 155, 156 
Merriman, Mrs. Daniel, 33, 155 
Metcalf, Edith E., 71 
Mills, Edward Coe, 139 
Minott, Mrs. Mary E., 95 
Missionaries, 212 
Morgan, Mary, 191 
Morton, Judge Marcus, 140 
11 Mosaic, The," 195 
Munson, Maud A., 67 
Murray, Ruth, 208 
Music Certificate, 223 

Naber, Irma, 208 
Neighborhood House in N.Y., 

Neilson, Dr. William A., 146 
14 Nereids," 194 

Nettleton, Anna Tucker, 45, 148 
Newton, Walter, 48 

Northfield Conference, 187 
November Club, 17, 87 

"Octave Thanet," 155 
"Odeon The," 191, 201 
Ogden, Winifred, 202 
Organ, Dorothy Davis Rimmer, 

Osborne, H. Frances, 190 

" Paper, A Scrap of," 151 

Park, Agnes, 144 

Park, Prof. Edwards A., 6, 98- 

101, 117, 137 
Park, Mrs. E. A., 12, 100 
Parker, Esther, 202 
Parker, Katherine Lahm, 192 
Parmelee, Jennie B. (Ladd), 81 
Patrick, 209 

Patterson, Angelica S., 78, 79 
Patton, Frank O., 92 
Patton, Pauline Whittlesey, 43 
Payne, Harriet Lord, 73 
Pearson, Grace, 63 
Pease House, 104 
Pedrick, Catherine F., 169 
Perabo, Ernst, 84, 85 
Perry, Gladys, 208 
Pettee, Isabella Wilson, 194, 212 
Porter, Rev. Edward G., 129, 134 
Presidents, The Four School, 226 
Pretzsch, Schloss, 47 
Pyle, Howard, 201 

"Quartette, The," 193 
Queen's Birthday, The, 105 

Raymond, Annie Louise Cary, 40 
Recreation Room, Lighting Fire 

in, 206 
Reynolds, Robert D., 68 
Rhodes, Mabel, 201 
Richards, Anna, 201 
Riding School, 175 
Ripley, Alfred, 174 
Ripley, Col. George, 115, 174 
Ripley, Philip F., 67 
Rockwell, William W., 73 



Robin Hood Tales, 201 
Root, Charlotte L., 92 
Runner, Olive G., 67, 68 

Sanford, Marion, 208 
"Scalene Warblers, The," 193 
Scannell, Michael, 209, 210 
"Scenes from Kenilworth," 53, 

Schiefferdecker, Fraiilein, 46-49, 

Schools, Bancroft, 72; Boston 
Normal School of Gymnastics, 
179; Boston School of Oratory, 
76; Brearley, 72; Classical 
School in Rome, 68; Dana Hall, 
79; Katharine Branson School, 
71; Kawaiahao Sem., 92; Kent 
Place, 26; Lawrence Academy, 
21; Miss Emerson's, 53; Miss 
Head's, 92; New Haven Nor- 
mal School of Gymnastics, 75; 
Posse, 76; Punchard, 137; 
School of Pedagogy, 69; Span- 
ish, 186; St. Johnsbury Acad- 
emy, 19 
Schroeder, Alwin, 84 
Scotland District Sunday School, 

77, 184, 185 
Scudder, Doremus, 92 
Secret Societies, 191, 202-05 
Senior Class President, 226 
Shaler, Prof. Nathaniel, 65 
" Shari-Hot-Su, The Revenge of," 

Shawe, Laura E., 90 
Shipman, Rev. Frank R., 153, 

Silver Bay, 188 
Slack, Amy H. H., 187 
Slocum, Agnes E., 92 
Smith, Albert, 208 
Smith, George Ferguson, 139 
Smith Hall, 8, 44, 94, 209 
Smith, Mary Byers, 155 
Societies, Odeon, Q. E. D., A. D. 

S., Philomatheia, Les Beaux 

Arts, JEoViani, 225 

Spalding, Mary, 155 
Spear, Julia M., 169 
Sperry, Henrietta Learoyd, 132, 

Sphinx, The, 196 
Sports and Games, 169-82 
Stackpole, Rev. Markham W., 

4, 140, 226 
Stadium, 48 

Stanford, Jane Pearson, 212 
Stearns, Alfred E., 153, 175 
Steitz, Herr Dr., 48 
Stoddard, Lilian Northrop, 170 
Stone, Winthrop E., 47 
Stuart, Mary, 202 
Student Council, 224 
Student Government President, 

Student Volunteer Convention, 

185, 187 
Sunset Lodge, 16, 17, 18 
Swanberg, Gertrude, 208 
Sweeney, Louise, 202 
Sweeney, Mary, 84, 202 
Swift, Charlotte, 144 

Taylor, Prof. John Phelps and 

Mrs., 98, 124-28, 149 
Tenier, 163 
Tennis, 170 

Terrill, Bertha M., 69, 171 
"Theodora Cameron," 189 
Thompson, Mary A., 43 
Titcomb, Miriam, 73 
Todd, Mrs. Mary E., 95 
Towle, Mary Rutter, 72 
Trinity Church, 137, 150 
" Trio, The," 193 
Tryon, Ellen Isabel, 72 
Tuttle, Louise, 208 
Twichell, Olive, 192, 195, 212- 

Tyer, Catherine Buss, 213, 214 
Tyer, Horace H., 136, 149 
Tyler, Prof. John M., 146 

"Undines," 194 

Universities, Chicago, 69; Cor- 



nell, 54; Harvard, 134; Leipsic, 
25; Nebraska, 55; Oxford, 25; 
Vermont, 69; Wisconsin, 68 
Utter, Sarah Sanford, 74, 75 

Van Dyke, Dr. Henry, 146 

Van Horn, Edith, 208 

" Verona, Two Gentlemen of," 

Village Improvement Society, 17, 

Vose, Rev. Dr. James G., 116 
Vose, R. C. and N. M., 162 

Waldenses, 134 
Waldron, Dr., 187 
Wallace, Julia, 188 
Warren, Winifred, 192 
Washington, Booker T., 156 
Watson, Laura S., 3, 16, 19-25, 

27, 56, 61, 80, 91, 94, 124, 148, 

184, 202, 218 
Waverley Club, 198, 199 
Weber, Helen, 208 
" Wedding Trip, A," 49 
Whitcomb, Ella H., 193 
Wiggin, Kate Douglas, 216, 217 
Wilcox, Mrs. Emily R., 96 
Wilder, Emma S., 194, 212 
Williams, Cornelia, 192 
Wilson, Isabella, 194, 212 
Witek, Anton and Mme., 88 
Woodbury, Charles, 162 
Woodman, J. Edmund, 65 
World's Fair, Abbot at Chicago, 

World War, 49 
Wright, Frances, 202 

Young, Prof. Charles A., 116, 146